We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Cyprus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Annabelle to your Saves list
The Annabelle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Cyprus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Cyprus (2 couples). We had a fab stay at the Annabelle, the staff are very friendly, efficient, and helpful...especially the pool staff who would happily move umbrellas and beds for you, get you drinks/food and they even helped an older lady who was in a wheelchair to get in the pool everyday. The hotel itself is clean, spacious and well run. The lobby bar is great with lots of good quality comfy sofas and chairs inside and out on the balcony with very attentive bar staff. Breakfast was included and had everything we could have wanted, again the staff here were very helpful. Hotel room was great, overlooking the pool area with sea views,lovely big bed and was serviced everyday by a super efficient friendly maid. The only criticism is I found the bath to be a tad small and I am not a large lady.
On arrival we were greeted by Agnes who checked us in sitting in the bar area with a glass of lemonade and cool towels which I thought was a nice touch, then she took us up to our rooms personally and made sure we were happy before leaving us to unpack.
As with a lot of hotels in Europe, you need to be up quite early to secure a pool lounger (8am) but the hotel were trying to alleviate the problem by getting more beds. We did not have any problems when we were there.
A really great hotel in the best position with the harbour a short stroll away and super friendly staff.
Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    306
    127
    45
    9
See reviews for
210
675
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Annabelle hotel in Paphos. We had a deluxe sea view room with a great view over the pool as well as the ocean view.

The room was light and spacious with a huge bed, sofa area. The bathroom was also large with a bath and a seperate shower cubible with a great shower pressure.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we found the staff to be very helpful and polite at all times. You cannot fault them.

The breakfast buffet was very good and constantly being replenished no matter what time.

During the week we visited the hotel was very busy and this was made obvious when you were trying to get a sunbed in the morning. By 8Am most of them had gone. The average age of the hotel during our stay would probably of been around 70. The pool staff however were very good and would always try and help you secure a sunbed. They have a rule if the sunbeds are unattended for more than 40 minutes you will lose them except over the lunch period when it is extended for 1 hours and 30 minutes. Saying that we spent a lot time in the sister hotel Almrya Hotel as they have an adult only pool area in the spa which had a great view out to the sea and you could always get sunbeds.

The food at both of the hotels we found to be very nice and not overpriced at all. Both hotels also do a great cocktail.

The spa at the Almrya was lovely and again not over priced. We made use of a few of the gym classes there, boot camp and the running club which were also very good.

Paphos is a cute area. We tried a few restaurants in the town however we found the best food to be at the Annabelle and Almrya. There was a nice cocktail bar just on the corner of the beach which again does great cocktails and the food there was very nice. eemed very popular with the locals. We found it too be really cheap too.

I would say that the Annabelle and Alamyra Hotel may not be the place for you if you have walking difficulties as they are quite a few steps. They are lifts however and you can get to the promenade from the front of the hotel but it may just take you a little while.Speaking to a few other guests who did have walking difficulties they found if a little stressful.

All in all we had a really lovely relaxing week and I would definately recommend both the properties to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have returned from a 10 night stay at the Annabelle. We travelled as two couples booking through Thomsons A la Carte brochure. Poor start to holiday thanks to Thomson. As we had shown all four passengers on one booking we encountered a problem with the taxi transfer. Thomsons staff at the airport demanded €15 as the taxi could not take four passengers and four cases. Apparently they could not apply any logic to the situation. Refused to pay and eventually a suitable taxi was provided. We managed to head off the problem for the return transfer thanks to the Thomsons rep in resort. Apparently this is a common occurrence with taxi transfers and one that Thomsons do not appear to have got a grip of. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted and shown around the hotel and to our rooms. The rooms 322 and 323 were facing a footpath and the Annabelle's sister hotel. From the small balcony there was a glimpse of the sea. Despite some reviews being critical of this side of the hotel regarding noise, we experienced no such problems. The rooms were spotless and well serviced throughout our stay. Air conditioning was a little noisy but was available 24 hours which was a bonus. A room safe was available at no charge, again a bonus compared to other hotels. The service provided by reception, restaurant staff, bar staff and pool staff was indeed worthy of a 5 star rating. The pool was lovely and we encounterd no problems with getting 4 sunbeds although some guests were reserving them with towels with no real regard for others. The evening entertainment was good especially a show at the 'grotto'. One disappointment was afternoon tea. This was expensive however we took this on the day of our anniversary, a Sunday. The menu showed, finger sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and assorted pastries with tea. The tea was delivered and we were asked to choose our scones etc. there were no sandwiches and the only response was, 'we don't do sandwiches on a Sunday'. This was a rare lapse of the hotels 5 star rating. Food, breakfast and evening meal was excellent both in terms of quality and choice. The hotels location was good and we enjoyed evening strolls along the harbour front. Drinks at the hotel were a little pricey but you can easily escape to a local bar. We regularly had pre dinner drinks at the bar opposite the hotel, the "Nest Cafe Bar". We hired a car for three days using a local car hire company "Paphos Car Hire". Rates were good and the car nearly new. In summary we had an excellent holiday and could find little to criticise with regard to the hotel. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again, it would be my preferred choice. I would probably explore using a different tour operator though. Thompson's had the final say with a delayed return flight due to 'crewing difficulties'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from a week in The Annabelle, the service from entering the hotel to the time we left was excellent. We had a nice tour of the hotel and got to pick our room. On Check-in we were given a nice glass of refreshing lemon drink :-)

Our room was lovely - we upgraded to a private plunge pool (room 14) so there was no mad scramble for a sunbed (we heard daily complaints about this over breakfast). Room was spotlessly clean and made up in the morning, and on the turn down service each evening, all towels were replenished again.

The location of The Annabelle is brilliant - only a short walk to the harbour (out and left) and again a short walk to other bars and restaraunts (out and right). An even shorter route if you leave the hotel via the Mediterraneo bar.

We ate breakfast in the hotel - an exellent buffet with English Back Bacon. We had a few evening meals in the buffet and again everything was lovely, no complaints.

We didn't drink in the hotel (I would say it's a little expensive, but typical of a 5* hotel lobby bar), plenty of places outside within a very short stroll.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Returned last Sunday from a week here.
On arrival we were met by Emanuel who took us to our room - Emanuel was our first staff contact
and we must thank him for his concierge skills. We were in room 164 with garden view and sea view to the side and very happy we were there.
Yes the rooms are a little retro but everything was spotless - and worked! More than we can say for some supposedly upmarket establishments visited. And everthing was kept spotless.
The outside little patio has a lovely view across the lake with short cut to the restaurants.
We were half board and both breakfast and dinner buffets were first class - good replenishment rather than pile-em high.seen elsewhere. Had all meals but one outside - wonderful! Also a first I should mention - poached eggs in the morning!.
I must mention in particular Laurentiu and side-kick George - but all staff were very attentive and polite - a tribute to Manager George.
We missed out on the poolside sunbed scramble preferring the lawned area outside the Mediterraneo bar down below - the sunbeds there should be upgraded I think to the better padded poolside versions. The pool was a wonderful relief to the 28C sunshine. Thanks also to Nikos in the Mediterraneo bar - Mr Memory Man!

All in all a fantastic holiday - we shall return!

4.5 stars a better rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

the rooms are clean tidy and functional. staff are all extremely helpful and cant do enough for you. food is excellent with plenty of choice, thoroughly recommended. the hotel is currently full which is why some people are complaining about lack of sunbeds, but if people didnt leave beds unused with towels on there would not be a problem.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the Almyra are quiet but dont have much of a view they have small terraces at gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week in this Hotel to celebrate my birthday with friends, excellent hotel all round, rooms, food, pools and service.The gardens are excellent and well maintained as was evident by the number of weddings held at the hotel with the gardens as the back drop.
Any body looking for a hotel in Paphos area for a wedding, the Annabelle will be hard to beat.
Hotel located in excellent position too
If any complaint at all ( as mentioned in previous reports) it was the problem of finding a vacant sunbed and sunshade especially in the morning as these seem to be 'occupied' by towels laid by invisible people in the early hours of the morning despite the hotel having a 40 minute rule that if a sun bed is unoccupied for that time the towels will be removed (which they weren't as as far as we could see) from mid afternoon the sunbeds became more available so leave your bathing till then.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Family Hotel in Paphos
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Annabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.