We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week in the sun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8104, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great week in the sun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have just returned from a week at the Laura Beach with my husband and 6 year old daughter. We booked fairly last minute and after reading some of the reviews leading up to our holiday I was more than a little concerned!!!nothing to worry about however!! Yes, this hotel is probably about 80% Russian but they didn't bother us in the slightest except from maybe their eating habits! They pile their plates as if there is no tomorrow and fill their tables with starters, main courses, desserts and piles of fruit all at the same time!! The hotel itself is lovely. We used the top pool which was really shallow and child safe and had a little swim up bar at the side. There is another pool up there which has a mini water park which was great for kids, again really safe as the water is only ankle deep. Never any problems getting sunbeds. The terrace outside Nero's bar is gorgeous, lovely and modern, great place to sit with a drink and watch the sunset. Our room was lovely, cleaned and towels changed every day, We didn't really watch the Entertainment, preferred to sit up on the terrace although my daughter always went to the mini disco which she absolutely loved. She also went to the kids club quite a few times and really enjoyed this too. Despite Brits being in the minority here she had plenty of friends to play with which was good as the British families got to know one another since there were so few of us. The Animation Team worked really hard, day and night, hats off to them in the 40 degree heat! The staff in the hotel were all lovely, nothing was too much trouble. We had a problem with our room on arrival and this was dealt with really quickly. Now for my one gripe........the food! The food was OK but not great. It was a bit hit and miss, sometimes better than others. Don't get me wrong you could always find something but we definately felt the selection could have been a bit better. We ate out a few nights for a change, twice at Sienna along the road, one night we went into Pahos and one night into Coral Bay. Nice desserts though and no complaints about the drinks!! All in all a great weeks holiday, really enjoyed it and could happily have stayed a bit longer!!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony as some rooms only have large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    179
    120
    54
    39
See reviews for
299
166
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

we have stayed here several times and we were very excited on returning. however very concerned about reports of the russians! however during our stay from the 3rd till 15th july we did encounter their rudeness, in ability to understand how a queue works etc, dont take it personally they are the same towards each other! and there were alot less towards the end of our stay.
now the hotel, has been refurbished, looks nice, spotlessly clean as were the rooms. our friends bathroom hadnt been refurbished however. beds comfy. we had a seaview room in the 3rd floor, the top floors seem to be mainly the only floors with balconies.
food not bad at all, as always we always eat out a few evenings, so hotel food fine with goodchoice every meal.
bar drinks again not a problem, good service and choice! staff lovely especially stavros and tatiana who have been there for years!
we didnt really see or join in the entertainment, what we did see in the evening was very basic, and with next to indoor swimming pool, with young kids wasnt ideal and drinks from plastic beakers didnt entice us back, so we were happy sitting upstairs outside!
the new kids water slides were fab, pools lovely and clean and spent many days round the pool till 7pm! and generally the pools are quiet from lunch time onwards.
if u want to venture out for a drink or bite to eat try costa rica bar opposite, costas and his family are very welcoming. food good especially their €4 kebab and he will value your custom. its an ideal place at night when the all inc has finished.!
im sure if you go to the laura beach you will have a good holiday, yes its not perfect but relax and you will enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I am at the Laura beach for one week. Terrified to come due to the bad reviews. Got here and the hotel is lovely! We have managed to eat the food at every sitting. All is fine. It is over-run with Russians/polish who can be rude as they do not speak any Engkish, but we are happy to keep ourselves to ourselves and enjoy the sunshine! There are 35 British guests this week and a bit of excitement when you actually meet up with them. The hotel is out of town, but you can use the bus, which is an experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got home 5th of July after spending two wks staying in the Laura beach.the hotel room was lovely the size was fine we a family room.I have to say the staff bend of backward to accommodate the r so helpful.the maid cleaned our room every day.I have to say Hotel is over run by Russian which did spoil our holiday just because they are rude.there was plenty of sun beds by the pools.the indoor pool was closed but u would want to use this anyway when u have 2 great outdoor pools in the sun.The cinema facilities where great there was I new move on each nite.there was loads of choice of food with a kids section.The hotel is a bit out the way but there is a great bus service that only cost 1euro or 3euro for an all day. I would defo go back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for booking your holidays with us!
We always take our guests' comments very seriously in order to imporve and offer our guests the best possible service.

We try very hard to keep a balance of different nationalities in the hotel which at the moment consists of 1/3 Russian market, 1/3 English market and the rest a blend of Belgian, Dutch, German and Polish.

As hoteliers we need to serve and accommodate all guests at the best of our ability regardless of nationality and cultural particularities.

We have made huge efforts to upgrade the hotel with the renovations that took place last winter and all bedrooms, restaurants, common areas, teenager's club, children's club and cinema.

We also accommodate an expat community group that has lectures and a huge variety of workshops on quiliting, photography, cinema and also games which are offered for free to our english speaking guests.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After winning a compitition my prize was a week for two at the laura beach paphos. I thought great, But after reading that the hotel was not right near the town and reading some reviews I thought if I was paying for this it may not of been my choice.

But all I thought was all wrong. The weeks coming up too our hoilday we read the reviews that building work was going on as they had refurbished the hotel over the winter months ready for summer, With lots of people complain it still was not ready.

But when we arrived we could not be more wrong, It was very clean with a nice entrance on arrival with very helpful reception staff who checked us all in very quckily, and asked the porter Victor too help us with our bags too our room. When we arrived in the room it was all new beds, Fridge, Flat screen TV, and a nice sea view balcony, Only building work we saw was in the morning the site next door had a few builders and trucks on it as they are building a childrens playground , but even if you stayed in the hotel next door you will have the same few.

The only other thing was there are ment too be three resturants but only the one was open as they were finshing off the work too one of them and the other only opens from july, But too day before we left all the building work in the hotel from what we could tell was over and the other resturant had opened for snacks and lunch why the other was for dinner.

In the daytime by the pool you had great bar staff and entertainment staff always making sure was lots for you too do and in the eveing too. Lots of people have said there is alot of russians in the hotel, which is true and we too found they were set in there ways but that was that just had too put up with it would not say all were rude.

The food was a right mixture and some dishes just made for the russians as we were told we went in the busy hoilday period for russians so the food menu was set round them but during july and august told cater more for english, But I still got too eat my english fry up in the morning and chicken nuggets or burger and chips for eveing if not like exploring other foods.

There was a good varitey of drinks and a great little shop in the hotel , bt for little bits like sweets and crisps we found quite expensive and walked 5 mins down the road where we found a great little supermarket at half the price.

The bus stop into Paphos was right out side and the buses came every 10 mins so my worry of being far away was nothing too worring about you were by the harbour and town centre in 10 mins , or the other way is coral bay which is a great place too which i would say go and see, had some great resturants , bars and a wonderful beach.

All in all I loved my time here and would return for sure, Paphos is a great place with lots too do.

Room Tip: Go for the seaview rooms as we were talikng too a couple of people there who said most of the land v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprotels, Public Relations Manager at Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for staying at our Hotel and also for the lovely review!!
We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Enjoy the rest of the summer

The Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

i stayed here for ten days during june and i was very disappointed with this hotel. its not a 4 star hotel, ive stayed in better 2 star hotels and im very surprised thomas cook are advertising this hotel.
The rooms are small and basic with a small balcony. the towels are hard, the tv only has 6 or 7 channels, the bathrooms are poor and the air con might as well not exisit and all in all the rooms are no where near a 4 star standard.
The food is HORRIFIC!!!!! we had to eat out every night, everyone says you'll always find something to eat but the point is i shouldnt just have to make do with something to eat the food should be of a high enough standard to give me a choice of dishes.
The russians are the most digusting, ignornant, arrogant people i have ever met in my life. They have no manners and no clue at how to queue and be respectful to those around them.
the hotels entertainment catered for the russians, the bingo is called in russian and the songs at the kids entertainment is also russian - what about your english guests???
if your thinking of booking this hotel then think again. If u want a four star holiday choose a different hotel and stay well clear of this one. i love cyprus but this place would put anyone off returning.
all the pictures they have up look nothing like the hotel, its basically in the middle of no where and you have to walk an hour to get to paphos or get the bus which takes about 15mins.
people work hard all year round to pay for there holiday and this place is just a waste of money. i dont know where they got there four stars from but this hotel is a 2 star and thats being kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for booking your holidays with us!
We always take our guests' comments very seriously in order to imporve and offer our guests the best possible service.
We are very disappointed that your holidays at our hotel did not meet your standards.

We do not understand though, how it is possible to consider the room small as it is the 4* standards 24 sq meters and have been fully renovated with modern furntiure. Ou new TVs are now 32 inches flat screen and bedspreads, curtains, hairdryers, phones, mini fridges and safe depost boxes are brand new!!

As for the food, we have an international menu with a 14 day rotation which includes: chicken; pork and fish every day together with rice and potatoe dishes, a variety of local dishes and a huge salad bar. We understand that food has to do with personal taste and we do appreciate your comments.

Regarding the entertainment, it is in no way Russian as whatever we have to anounce we do so in various languages. The films we show in the cinema are english speaking and the live shows we have in the hotel are Cypriot.

We try very hard to keep a balance of different nationalities in the hotel which at the moment consists of 1/3 Russian market, 1/3 English market and the rest a blend of Belgian, Dutch, German and Polish.

As hoteliers we need to serve and accommodate all guests at the best of our ability regardless of nationality and cultural particularities.

We have made huge efforts to upgrade the hotel with the renovations that took place last winter and all bedrooms, restaurants, common areas, teenager's club, children's club and cinema.

We also accommodate an expat community group that has lectures and a huge variety of workshops on quiliting, photography, cinema and also games which are offered for free to our english speaking guests.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just back from a 10 day holiday. The Hotel itself is very nice, and all the staff are very helpfull and pleasant. Our flight was delayed and didnt get into the hotel until 4am in the morning, received a very warm welcome even at that time of morning was informed that some salad had been plated up for us and we were welcome to help ourselves to Tea / Coffee or Juices from the Dining room if we wished.

Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. The Pool areas are nice with plenty sun beds. There is some minor work still being done around the hotel but this didnt spoil our holiday at all. The food isnt great, although there is always a selection of Salad and various hot dishes, but to be honest the hot meals were more or less the same each day. Plenty fruit but be warned the Russians like their Melon so you have to be quick.

There is a lot of Russians staying in this hotel, and I agree with others that they are the most arrogant people I have evey meet, they definately need to be taught some manners.

The hotel is approximately 1 hours walk into Paphos, or about 10mins on the bus. Cyprus is a lovely island but If I go back I would go to the other end as the beaches at Protarus are much nicer and they dont seem to have been invaded by the Russians as yet.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony make sure and request one when you book as not all rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for booking your holidays with us!
We always take our guests' comments very seriously in order to imporve and offer our guests the best possible service.

Regarding the food variety, we have a 14 day rotation. Nevertheless we appreciate your comments and we will try to improve it as much as possible.

We try very hard to keep a balance of different nationalities in the hotel which at the moment consists of 1/3 Russian market, 1/3 English market and the rest a blend of Belgian, Dutch, German and Polish.

As hoteliers we need to serve and accommodate all guests at the best of our ability regardless of nationality and cultural particularities.

We have made huge efforts to upgrade the hotel with the renovations that took place last winter and all bedrooms, restaurants, common areas, teenager's club, children's club and cinema.

We also accommodate an expat community group that has lectures and a huge variety of workshops on quiliting, photography, cinema and also games which are offered for free to our english speaking guests.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel

Address: Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8104, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#16 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of the Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel, an oasis of tranquility and relaxation on the South coast of Cyprus, in Paphos. The Hotel is situated on the sea front of Paphos, a few kilometers from Paphos city center and is privileged to share close proximity to the finest locations and treasures of the island such as the famous Tombs of the Kings, an Ancient Archaeological Heritage site. The Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel is one of the few Paphos hotels with a west-facing outlook that provides guests with a sublime view of blazing indescribable sunsets. Amongst several other Paphos Hotels, Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel in Paphos, is a leading Hotel which can meet the needs of all travelers--families, couples and business people. During the winter period 12/13 the hotel has gone through major renovations in the public areas and guests' rooms and the latest addition of 2014 our full size splash water park which is one of the biggest water park situated within a hotel's ground. Moreover, all restaurants and bars have been renovated giving them a modern look with frameless windows for the amazing views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprotel Laura Beach Paphos
Laura Beach Hotel Paphos
Hotel Cyprotel Laura Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.