We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long wait.........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Delhi Palace - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Delhi Palace
28 Poseidonos Ave., Paphos, Cyprus
26938932
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A long wait.........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were shown to our seats and asked what drinks we would like without being offered a menu to see what was on offer. After 20 minutes, we pointed out that we had not been given a menu, the waiter did not way which way was up. After ordering the food this took a further 40 minutes. The portions were not overly generous and in once instance barely cooked, which we left. The waiter merely shrugged his shoulders when we pointed this out to him, not sure whether he couldn't understand or just couldn't care. It would appear as though this restaurant is unable to deliver a satisfactory service when it is busy. Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Best meal we have had so far in paphos, the curry was fantastic and the service excellent and very attentive. One of the best Indian restaurants we have ever been to. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertsfordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Really nice food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Best Indian we found in Paphos. Full menu and great quality of food. My wife found it a bit on the spicy side however but that's more personal taste. Staff were really friendly and helpful and service is efficient. Tiny niggle, parathas weren't up to much but naans were perfect. The look of the restaurant is fine but it's on a busy main road with screaming traffic going by. You can eat inside if the noise bothers you or out on the covered terrace if not. Third year we've visited and great every time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Nicely situated and easy to get to, this well presented restaurant serves a mean curry. The service and price was good. Would I go again, absolutely yes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Finding the words to describe the food in this restaurant is very hard indeed. It truly is the most wonderful Indian Restaurant that I have ever been fortunate enough to dine in.
The restaurant itself is stylish and well laid out. The menu is interesting and varied.
Every single dish was delicious and meticulously prepared. We spoke at length to the waitress and learnt about the chef and how he trained as well as how they source ingredients and acquire recipes. Even the chutney is made by the chef's wife at their home.
We ate here twice during the week of our holiday and have to say that we shall be straight back to it the next time we are in Paphos.
The food is not expensive, especially for the standard.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Delhi Palace also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Delhi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.