We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relief- a Cypriot gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laona Restaurant

Laona Restaurant
6 Votsi Street, Paphos 8010, Cyprus
26937121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 432 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a relief- a Cypriot gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were so pleased to discover Laona on our holiday in Paphos. We were trying hard to get away from the commercial tourist driven ambience of Kato Paphos and struck gold when we found Laona. Home cooked authentic Cypriot food, friendly service and the best value for money we experienced in our whole two weeks. Can't recommend it enough! In the end we visted Laona 3 times during our 2 week stay in Cyprus!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    75
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Been meaning to go here for years ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a superb restaurant in side street off Makarios Avenue in Paphos (in the old town), with tables outside in the street as well as indoor dining. It is open at lunchtime, and now on Tuesday and Friday evenings, so at last we have been able to eat there. We were not disappointed, the atmosphere, food and service were first class and very reasonably priced.
They offer a wide range of traditional dishes, either as a meze where you choose a selection of main dishes, or individually. We opted for the latter, and had rabbit stifado and beef stifado, both were excellent.
Parking close by, ask for directions when booking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Hidden Gem .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Second visit to this restaurant .It is fan tas tic .Authentic food served under the stars by lovely genuine cypriot family what could be better.The food is amazing and is great value a wonderful family run taverna .Laona opens at lunchtime and tuesday and friday evening.You need to book but this can be easily done via e mail.The staff are so friendly and welcoming.A totally charming and happy place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

In a small side street of Kato Paphos is Laona Restaurant. Family run the food is scrumptious and the real thing. Hadn't been for a while so went with a friend and we were not disappointed. The Menu is varied and caters for everyone from meat eaters to vegetarians. A visit here always has you feeling happy you stopped by, the welcome is friendly and warm. The menu and how dishes are cooked are all part of the experience and mouth wateringly tantalising!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eating in Paphos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Laona Restaurant tucked away in small side road off Makarios Avenue in Paphos is an excellent choice for lunch or dinner. It is a family run taverna. The food is freshly cooked and a superb choice is always available. The family are very welcoming it is a pleasure to have lunch there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laona Restaurant also viewed

Letymvou, Paphos District
Letymvou, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Laona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laona Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.