We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laona Restaurant

Laona Restaurant
6 Votsi Street, Paphos 8010, Cyprus
26937121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 432 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Traditional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Have been going to this restaurant for many years, we have an apartment which we use at least twice a year. The restaurant has got bigger over the years but the food has remained excellent . Chris and his wife and son-in law are always welcoming, looking forward to October when we are going again.

Jane and Bill Walker

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    75
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a slightly chaotic start where our booked table had been mistakenly been given away and we had to wait sometime for a table to become available all was forgiven with the first bite.

We went for the meze which was a selection of starters and mains (only €15 per head), which across the board were packed with totally unbelievable levels of great flavour putting all the other significantly more expensive meals we had in the shade.

Restaurant is only open Tues and Fri for dinner and was packed to really need to book and provides a welcome break from the standard tourist bars / restaurants down in Kato Paphos.

Also a really cool bar next door for afters!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, traditional Cypriot food and excellent value for money. The menu is on a board which is read out and described to you in detail. Nice atmosphere and the service is also excellent.
The restaurant and toilets were very clean. Would definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
1 review
“Five stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This taverna is a must for anyone visiting Paphos. Lovely traditional food, attentive staff, a regular eating venue for us and friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“real Cypriot dishes not tourist tosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

we love this place for lunch, a mooch around old town , the market and then into Laona for a leisurely lunch.. an ever changing menu of local home cooked Cypriot dishes , not just souvlaki, pork chop of Kleftiko off tourist menus but selected dishes such as baked vegetable dishes , fish dishes, lamb and peas , too much to explain .. just go.. .. its a gem .. if you are unsure what a dish is the staff explain it ,
you can not visit Paphos old town and not eat here.. it would be a missed opportunity .

looking forward to our next visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laona Restaurant also viewed

Letymvou, Paphos District
Letymvou, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Laona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laona Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.