We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laona Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laona Restaurant

Laona Restaurant
6 Votsi Street, Paphos 8010, Cyprus
26937121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 433 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Krakow, Poland
1 review
“Laona Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Delicious local food, hidden away in a shaded corner, behin another restaurant, close to the tourist market. Highly reccommended at a very reasonable price. The perfect place for lunch :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    75
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“friendly staff and very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant whilst trying to find one from our guide book. It turned out the other one has closed. The menu was not extensive but the staff took time to explain each dish and they all sounded good. The food was lovely - very nicely cooked and very reasonable too. Next time we will know where to find it.Good value for money but very tasty too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We've been visiting here for the past ten years and it has been consistently fabulous I think we have sampled the dishes at least once. Great family run restaurant and the refurbishment really adds to the experience. Tasty traditional Cypriot food served with charm. Just wish we stayed a bit nearer to be able to try it in the evening for a meze. I struggle to look past the slow cooked roast beef which has been cooked in the oven with tomatoes and potatoes and just melts in your mouth. My husband loves the homemade meatballs or the rabbit stiffado and friends consistently choose the baked fish. We visit at least once 3 times a year and look forward to a revisit in September.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
“Great Family Restaurant, Tasty traditional meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really Friendly staff and tasty dishes! The place to go in Paphos if you want to try out traditional Cypriot meals! We definitely recommend the meze! We tried out the variety of starters as well as the pork chops cooked with wine, ofto, mousaka, gemista and octapus. Value for money as we only paid 4O euros including a bottle of wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great find for Home cooked food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great family run restaurant. Went there without a booking, family of 6. We got there around 8.30 and were seated straight away. The waiter came and talked us through the menu and explained each dish. We had lamb, beef and chicken dishes, all tender and tasted wonderful. They even made slight changes for our young children. Fresh bread and lovely salads, all washed down with a nice carafe of Rosé. Complimentary syrupy desert to finish and good prices, much cheaper than the Pharos harbour area. A great find and worth a visit. Just remember it is only open in the evenings on Tuesday and Fridays. Open during the day all week.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laona Restaurant also viewed

Letymvou, Paphos District
Letymvou, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Laona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laona Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.