We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Restaurant, Tasty traditional meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laona Restaurant

Laona Restaurant
6 Votsi Street, Paphos 8010, Cyprus
26937121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 427 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
“Great Family Restaurant, Tasty traditional meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really Friendly staff and tasty dishes! The place to go in Paphos if you want to try out traditional Cypriot meals! We definitely recommend the meze! We tried out the variety of starters as well as the pork chops cooked with wine, ofto, mousaka, gemista and octapus. Value for money as we only paid 4O euros including a bottle of wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    80
    18
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great find for Home cooked food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great family run restaurant. Went there without a booking, family of 6. We got there around 8.30 and were seated straight away. The waiter came and talked us through the menu and explained each dish. We had lamb, beef and chicken dishes, all tender and tasted wonderful. They even made slight changes for our young children. Fresh bread and lovely salads, all washed down with a nice carafe of Rosé. Complimentary syrupy desert to finish and good prices, much cheaper than the Pharos harbour area. A great find and worth a visit. Just remember it is only open in the evenings on Tuesday and Fridays. Open during the day all week.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous traditional Cypriot friendly family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

IThe meze is the best we have tasted in Cyprus! Laona's is a small very friendly family run restaurant in the old town, the food changes with the seasons and is all locally sourced. We have been eating there at least twice every holiday for the last 10 years and recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simple traditional and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

cific a small restaurant that hides the most beautiful traditional foods of Cyprus. their dishes are very tasty and good quantity. the atmosphere is very warm and friendly that gives you the feeling that you are home. the appearance of the restaurant is amazing and has very nice features of Cypriot culture. the staff are welcoming and warm & they try to do their best. I recommend the fish without saying that the other dishes are not perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely food. Service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and our two children found this by accident whilst looking for somewhere to stop during the day. We only wanted a light bite but wanted to try some of the food as it looked so lovely. We did ask to have a meze which we planned to share between us but was told it wasn't possible as it is for a minimum of 2 people. (Something most restaurants in cyprus also adhere to we found). So we asked if we could have a couple of dishes to share between us. They didn't seem to happy about this initially and tried to get us to order a dish each. we explained the children were not very hungry so they then begrudgingly obliged. We ordered meatballs, fish and salad between 4 of us. Food was delicious and plenty of it. We even got a complimentary piece of cake at the end. at the end of the meal all four of us were completely stuffed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laona Restaurant also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Laona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laona Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.