We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok view , ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's View

Captain's View
Poseidonis Avenue | Myrra Court 23, Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #263 of 445 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: phone number : 26 22 17 16 location is in Kato Paphos
wiltshire, uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ok view , ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we were temped in to this restaurant as we thought that upstairs would have a good view of the harbour. view was ok . 10% off food except the set menu. we had 4 do the set menus at €11.95 prawn cocktail, tomato soup for starters. then a gammon, two scampi, kebab, then not on set menu two garlic bread, a ribs €12.95 and a suckling pig €13.95 well it was average food, 5 x coke small glasses, and two bottles of water ,not a place to remember. would not return as think there are better places to eat = total €93 plus tip for 6, very slow trying to get the bill , finding somewhere good to eat on the sea front in paphos seems an impossible task. have also eaten in the pelican and I would say that was average to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    28
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good meze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely views, fish meze very good. Prices good as well. Asked for a non-smoking table, then a family came in and sat at table next to ours and started smoking. Waitress went up to them straight away and moved them far away from us. This we found to be a big achievement in Cyprus!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food and view are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went there twice. And food was always good. Right at the harbor, so it has a good view of it. There is an old guy downstairs welcoming guests. But it was painful experience there to wait to order and wait to get the bill. There is only one guy that is in charge of ordering food. And when it was busy, he was nowhere to find. We saw several tables impatient about it. Then, there are waiters running around. But when you need one, there is no one paying attention. But once they pay attention, they are very helpful and very nice. So, if you are patient enough, the food is worth a try. We went there one night and the "band" was there. Not quite suitable for a restaurant though. And not quite suitable for young people too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must if atmosphere and nice staff is high on your list of priorities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'd be lying if I said that the food was the best we sampled in Paphos but I have not had so much fun in a restaurant for years (if ever). The service was brilliant, even when when one of our teenage daughters spilled a full glass of cola and they didn't seem to mind that we and our friends were slow to choose our food. There was live entertainment in the form or a man with a keyboard and a lady singing and I clapped after every song because a) she could sing quite nicely and b) because it's polite. I then started clapping along to the quicker songs, much to the annoyance of other diners. The waitress (a beautiful, fun lady) joined in with us and asked if we would like to dance the "Zorba". I jokingly said "yes but only if you'll teach us". A few minutes later we noticed her moving lots of tables and chairs and before we knew it we were being taught the dance in front of all the other diners. I have never had so much fun in my life. Thanks to all at The Captain's View for a great, memorable night out, especially the waitress who got us on our feet!! We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Disappointed, avarage food, sloooooow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we went here it was for one main reason, their playarea. It was fairly big, fun and kept our kids occupied, which was good cause here we had to waaaaaait.

The food was very avarage. It wasnt bad, it wasnt good. It didnt leave an impression at all. Thinking back, I can hardly remember it. What I do remember is how we sat there waiting for service/dessert after our meal. And waited. And waited. Im not sure, but I even think they forgot about us? (We were two families seated a bit in the background, near the playarea, both as forgotten.) We even tried to wave at the waiters, no response. It took forever until we finally got some attention but never an apology or explanation if this was how they usually treat their customers or a unlucky exception.

How good is a restaurant with average food and mediocer service? Its a mediocer restaurant.
=(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's View also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Captain's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.