We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food disappointing overall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Koi
58 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Kato, Cyprus
26813456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 425 restaurants in Paphos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
hertford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average food disappointing overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the outside this restaurant looks very nice and labelled as a Thai and sushi, but the food didn't seem very authentic. We visited in March which is down season and were the only people in the restaurant which isn't a problem. When we ordered the food the waiter and chef both left the restaurant and came back with a bag which was obviously our food, not sure where it had come from! We ordered chicken satay for starter which was over fried with too much oil and served with what looked and tasted like peanut butter. The main of Thai green chicken curry tasted very average and more like a microwave dinner than authentic Thai. I had prawns in oyster sauce which was ok but too much soy sauce was used so was over salty. Noodles again tasted like packet noodles. The whole meal was very poor and definately not authentic Thai. I would definately not order Sushi from a restaurant like this as not sure where it will come from. Very disappointing meal for the price

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    35
    19
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dear Trip Advisor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent a huge amount of time in January writing a review about this restaurant - the experience was a very unpleasant one. I have just seen that my review has been taken down without any message as to why (this after it had been approved and posted on the site). I have since spent an hour tryong to find a way to contact someone at Trip Advisor to see why - this seems to be the only way I can contact you - as a new Trip Advisor customer this is VERY annoying.

Could somebody please come back to me to let me know why my review has been taken down.

Thanks

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moskow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very good restaurant and the staff speak in Russian wich was very helpfull also the service was great just the owner look very strange and not friendly at all.Usually everywhere we go in Cyprus locals are extremly friendly and always give you after dinner something complimentary but this gay doesn`t care about his regulars costumers,apart from this everything is Excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Thai restaurant in Paphos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My housband and I were visiting Cyprus from London and were craving spicy Thai.This place is incredible!We`ve had a lot of thai before it`s our its our tipe of cusine and this plase was very good.We had the pad thai,spring rolls and for dessert chocolate fondant recemendet by the waiter.Everithing was so delicious .A must try for anyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Attrctive ambience but averge food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The restaurant is well decorated and gives a good impression. Unfortunately the food is average and far too salty. The miso soup was quite poor. A pity as the staff re friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.