We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabor Restaurant

Gabor Restaurant
68 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
+357 26 965343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 425 restaurants in Paphos
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Been to Gabor for a meal this evening, chose the set menu, so wasn't expecting too much but have had an outastanding meal with lovely touches - appetisers before meal and liquers at the end at no extra charge. Plus a rose for the lady on the way out - can't fault this place, only wish we could go again but going home tomorrow!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    262
    52
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A classy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We took our Cypriot neighbours to Gabors and we all thought the food was superb with nice touches like the small offerings brought to the table while waiting for our main meal. Also the ladies were given a rosé as we left. This is definitely a good place to have some well cooked and beautifully presented food. The set menu at 18euros is excellent value for money. The only criticism on that evening was that the staff were not as attentive as usual or as friendly. Maybe this was due to them being very busy as all the tables were occupied, always a good sign,
We were also disappointed that were were not offered the traditional brandy or liqueur on the house with our coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglesey north wales
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“lovely place, nice food, bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a lovely meal here, food was really good, atmosphere was lovely and romantic, would def go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good service, avarage food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very nice atmosfere and friendly faces. We were there with a group of 4 adults and 2 teens, Menu is a typically French kitchen with Grenouilles and Escargot. But because of the fact taht the Grenouilles were frozen, me and my wife chose to take the 'advocado salad with orange'. The others took the escargot and the children share the Parmaham with melon. Our salad was a little dissapoiting as there was only a quarter of an avocado on our plate surrounded with 5 (or maybe 6) slices of orange. With a nice dressing I had to say, But all for together on 2 plates half an avocado and half a orange (probably less then 1 euro all together) we had to pay about 11 euro. Now doesn't the price normally for my, but this was not satisfying.
For the main course we ordered with the four of us the 'Pigeon with a honey/coriander sauce'. Does not sound heavy and because of the coriander we had idea that had to be a fresh sauce. But they didn't use corianderleaves in the sauce, but a lot of corianderseed. That taste a lot heavier and do not have the the fresh taste of corianderleaves. It was a dark and heavy sause, and next to that the pigeon was well done. My mother got problems of it with her stomach. Because of this we decided to skip the coffe and desert and asked for the bill.
Would I recommend this restaurant; not if you want to choose the mentioned dishes; but the 2 teens had a lovely meal with duck and sirloin steak. So up to you!
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A great winter restaurant, it has style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've been here twice both times in winter. I love it. Great menu and great service. Summer is likely to be good too but sitting inside has a special atmosphere. It's a bit special.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gabor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.