We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill Restaurant (Anemomilos)

The Windmill Restaurant (Anemomilos)
19,Paphias Aphrodites street,Kato Paphos | Opposite Agia Kiriaki Church(St. Pauls Pillar), Paphos 8041, Cyprus
0035726933518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 428 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Greek, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Windmill is a family run restaurant owned from Chris Kathitziotes and his family for more than 30 years. The restaurant offers a large selection of Cypriot and International food. It is also specialised in Meze.Availlable for wedding receptions and other parties. Reasonable prices.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great food in relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Tried here twice during our stay and enjoyed the food both times. On our first visit we had the swordfish in a pepper sauce which was excellent, it came with vegetables. The meal is served warm rather than piping hot.

We had a starter of tzatziki, probably the best I've ever had, however you are given a bowl of bread and a dish of lentils with rice ( not charged for either) so you may not need a starter. The desserts are also very good.

Prices similar to other restaurants and service very relaxed. They allow plenty of time between each course.

After asking for the bill you are brought a gift, first time it was a bunch of grapes and a homemade liqueur and the second a slice of lemon cake.

We'll worth finding, in a quiet area on road near St Paul's Pillar.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    91
    41
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited the Windmill 4 times during our 2 week stay in Paphos. The food is consistently good, tasty and fresh. Service is always excellent and the family are so friendly and make you feel very welcome. The set menus are good value money. This was our second year in Paphos and this is definitely one of our favourite restaurants there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“again top marks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

another great meal at windmills,every time its top notch food,with a warm welcome,but dont expect fast food as its made for you ,its not macdonalds

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a lovely family run cypriot restaurant.The food is really fresh local produce well cooked.The staff are lovely i mentioned how we enjoyed a particular dish and nancy kindly e mailed me the recipe which is one passed down from her mother.Will revisit next time we are in paphos-would reccommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

If you want traditional Cypriat food this is the place to go. Very popular so suggest you book first in busy period. Every time we go there is wedding party there. Its a bit out of the way but well worth searching out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Restaurant (Anemomilos) also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to The Windmill Restaurant (Anemomilos)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill Restaurant (Anemomilos), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.