We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and a Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Chinese Restaurant

Imperial Chinese Restaurant
18 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 432 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Service and a Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Busy restaurant had to wait 5 mins for a table due to this which was no problem, served within 10 minutes and had a lovely meal in a cracking setting, only complaint and it is a small one, they welcomed all there friends warmly but strangers were treated a bit coldly not much banter with the staff but as far as the food was concerned absolutely superb.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    58
    17
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“well worth a visit or two!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My daughter loves Chinese so we went on our second night in Paphos. The aromatic duck was incredible - the best I've had outside the UK. The staff were superb, attentive and friendly. The dim sum wasn't as you would expect in the UK , so I would avoid that but all in all an excellent Chinese. We had a lovely evening in superb surroundings with great service. On our last night it was agreed we would go again. As they opened the door for us the waiter remembered that we had visited earlier in the week and the service and the food was just as good. There are other Chinese restaurants in Paphos but I would recommend that you try this one. The value is excellent as is the food and you will be cool in their air conditioning!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paphos mafia”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well the restaurant visually looks stunning but unfortunately that’s where the good points end. We have just had the most terrible dining experience ever. Firstly our bottle of local wine had bits floating in it so the waitress took my wife’s glass away and poured her another from the same bottle???. The food was very average but my daughter found a black hair in her meal and brought it to the attention of the waiter who did not apologise and took it away, my daughter had eaten just one mouth full? No offer to replace the dish etc. The level of service was for a Chinese was remarkably slow and no attempt was made to replace our bad bottle of wine, also the small candles that keep the food warm were not lit causing the meals to become very cold very quickly in the fridge like air conditioned room. So finally an attempt of an apology did finally come but by this time we were past it and just wanted to leave. However when the bill came they had not removed any thing?? i asked to see the manager to explain and that when things went from bad to worse. He said that they could not be held accountable for an hair getting into the food as it could have come from us?? at this stage i indicated that the waiter had taken back a fully plate of food and after 30mins no attempt had been made to replace it and i saw no reason why i should be charged for that or a bottle of wine that was obviously corked. HE NOW THREATENED TO CALL THE POLICE AND HIS MINDERS GATHERED ROUND MY DAUGHTER AND I SAYING WE WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO LEAVE UNTIL WE HAD PAID IN FULL, So we were made to pay for what was the most appalling dining experience and customer service experience ever!!! We have travelled world wide and visited 26 capital cities and had mostly excellent dining experiences and never felt the need to write a negative review but this restaurant deserves it after what we have just gone though. I hope the management take notice and start treating there customers with some respect.
We dined at other Chinese restaurants in Paphos and they were all second to none. I recommend that you avoid this restaurant for the reasons given above!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Found this by accident - got off at the wrong bus stop! It's up a side street away from the main stretch of restaurants on the harbour, but worth the 5 minute walk.

The decor was beautiful and and the food was excellent. It is great value for money as the prices were similar to those of a takeout chinese at home.

Only problem was that there were a lot of steps to get in, as it is on the second floor. Not sure if there was a lift but if so this wasn't clearly posted.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gornalwood, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average Chinese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my family regulary visit this chinese when were out in Paphos! Were out in Paphos a few times a year and always visit this during our stay! We always thought it was a lovely place to eat! average decor friendly staff and excellent food and service! we went this month during our stay and have to say we were quite dissapointed with everything! we always used to recieved good service things like free prawn crackers . free puddings and always asked if we wanted water at the table but this time we felt asif we had to ask for everything and ended up not reciving what we wanted! The staff were quite miserable and had poor communication towards there customers although one chinese guy was great bringing the food and actually told us what it was he was bringing! also the person who served us keep trying to change what we wanted and tried mixing things but after this we ended up with something none of us on the table really wanted! overall the food is great cannot knock it in anyway it was quick and tasted great! They tend to get very busy especially after around 8pm so booking a table may be best! i hope there service is improved by the time we go back again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Imperial Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.