We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter sun seekers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliveto Restaurant

Oliveto Restaurant
96, Tombs of the Kings Avenue | opposite Venus Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus
+357 26 220099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 425 restaurants in Paphos
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: French, Greek, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winter sun seekers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Staying as self catering guests at our hotel we celebrated the fact The Oliveto restaurant was a 5 minutes walk away.
We returned 4 times to The Oliveto because we had such an excellent time on our 1st visit.
They have a great menu and the food was fabulous along with the service. Staff were very friendly and helpful so the whole experience was very enjoyable. We will definitely re visit next year

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    86
    54
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff - wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You will not get indegestion here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having read the reviews, we decided to give it a go. First of all, the ambience and food (when it arrived) were good - even though two of the main course orders were for stone grill at table - they all came ready grilled by the chef.

However, to wait for over fifty minutes between starters and main course was totally unacceptable. It was only when we were about to pay for what we had eaten and leave did the trolley with our meals on appear.

We did not get any apologies forthcoming from manager or staff without us asking why the long delay. We can only assume that the staff in the kitchen the night we were there were not coping very well. To add insult to injury my second glass of wine never turned up!

This service was in complete contrast to two other restaurant/taverns we used whilst in Paphos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not your everyday Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Don't miss the opportunity if you can to dine in this Excellent restaurant , it is well worth it , and don't go for the 'steak on the stone ' entertaining as it may be the quality of the chef's food is far superior .
We had a very rewarding meal ,the portions were generous , choice of menu is extensive , something to suit everyone , the staff are warm , friendly and the restaurant itself stylish and inviting.
(we actually had to cancel our first reservation due to unforeseen circumstances , but were welcomed back with the warmth & embrace of an old friend )
If in Paphos again I would return time and time again .
Thankyou we had a lovely time with great food and conversation with the proprietors , hope to see you again .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Amazing experience hat superb night! Excelend service with amazing and friendly staff. Food presentation fabulous and good size portions! Amazing scenery. Wow what a night!!! Thank you all

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“classy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This restaurant looked good from the outside so we decided to go in and I'm glad we did. The food and service were both excellent and we really enjoyed our evening. We had a complimentary appetiser and bread, both were lovely and the bread came with 3 different butters. My boyfriend had the soup to start which he said was very good. I has the pork chop (stone grill) and my boyfriend had the belly pork. My main course was lovely and it was a fun idea to cook it on the stone grill. If you don't want to do it yourself the chef will do it for you and the restaurant staff made sure that we knew there was no pressure to choose that option. My boyfriends pork was amazing and a really large portion. We both has ice cream for dessert which was also delicious . The staff were extremely friendly and attentive, they made us feel very important. The décor and crockery are very classy and expensive looking which makes the whole experience very special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliveto Restaurant also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Oliveto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliveto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.