We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Basic Accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Royal Hotel & Casino

City Royal Hotel & Casino
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Royal Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
City Royal Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Kemal Asik Cad. | PO Box: 1077, Nicosia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Nicosia
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Location, Basic Accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in City Royal Hotel, Lefkosa, twice recently. It is in an extremely good location, about 15 minutes walk into the old city. Couldnt find a more convenient place, The hotel itself is good accommodation, although if the room is over the road, the traffic noise is loud during the night. The standard room is quite small and the bathroom is basic. The rooms are clean.
The breakfast on the top floor is very good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good points: very convenient location if coming from Ercan Airport; close to the centre, excellent breakfast. Wi- fi for free in the room.

Bad points: very dirty and dusty room. I cannot believe a hotel can smell as bad as this, it only takes willingness and a bit of effort to have a clean place. I don't know how anyone can say this is a four star hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

City Royal is one of two hotels available in the Turkish sector of Nicosia. The hotel is located 10 minutes from the center and about 100m from the bus station, from which we get to the airport and other parts of the island. The rooms are not large, air-conditioning and TV. Hotel boasts a swimming pool and a sun terrace but during our stay were closed. However, you can watch the views from the terrace restaurant on the top floor, where breakfast is served at buffet style.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I'm staying there now, and it's a perfectly nice place, slightly faded around the edges but very comfortable. Maybe the reason that previous reviewers have given a thumbs down to the service is that fewer people speak English in Northern Cyprus.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just average and a little outdated city hotel in the north part of Nicosia. the location is quite good but not excatly central in the city. About 15 min from Old City. The staff were generally quite polite but all of them firndly enough. The rooms are rather small and not very modern, however eveything was clean and comfy for 1 night stay. The breakfast service was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Due to a last minute business trip, I had to stay a night at the City Royal. I would give them 1 star, except that their front desk was very helpful in trying to help locate my colleague's lost luggage. However, for the hotel itself - awful, just awful. Unclean with smoke hanging in the air and unsavory characters loitering in the lobby, I just didn't feel safe at all and don't think I slept.

Pay a little more and stay at the Merit or cross the border and stay in Greek Cyprus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We only stayed for 1 night as we were flying out of Ercan airport, and this seemed to be the nearest, but I wish we had paid the extra and stayed at The Merit or driven to Kyrenia. The double room was very small. It was in definite need of a facelift. There was a hole in the wall that was filled in with paper! The tv was very old with very poor reception. The shower had very little water pressure, the best thing about the room was the fluffy towels and free slippers. The casino had seen better days and was a haze of smoke and it was quite difficult to get an alcoholic drink as the staff had trouble even understanding the request for a beer. We would not go again. I do not know how it has 4 stars. We paid 125TL and it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Royal Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Royal Hotel & Casino

Address: 19 Kemal Asik Cad. | PO Box: 1077, Nicosia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Royal Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your City Royal Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Royal Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.