We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing break from impersonal resorts, Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Asty Hotel to your Saves list
Asty Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prigkipos Karolou 12 | Agios Dometios, Nicosia 1300, Cyprus   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
complimentary
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nicosia
Oslo
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Refreshing break from impersonal resorts, Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a very pleasant familiy hotel in a residential area west of the old town. There isn't much to say about the hotel itself: the rooms feel a bit old, but they are clean and refurbished. It's not 5 stars but there are some nice to have commodities like a large gym with table tennis, and a mini golf on the roof. Breakfast buffet is forgettable, but they offer nice and fresh english breakfast. Cold beverages, fruits and puddings in the fridge are always available if you need a snack anytime (even after checkout!).

The main quality of this hotel is its genuine service. Staff is very friendly and will do their best to help you, give some advice and make yourself feel like home.  Location is not the best as you'll need to walk a good 20min on a rather boring road to reach the old town. But it's no big deal since they have complimentary bikes and very efficient shuttle service to wherever you need to go. Even if you have a car you can just leave it at the parking and enjoy being driven to the museum, old Nicosia etc. If I come back to Nicosia, I'll stay at Asty again, even if I usually like luxury hotels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael a, Manager at Asty Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
34 reviews IN 19 CITES well you must have good experience

THANK YOU

REGARDS

MICHAEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    83
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
105
41
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Asty Hotel. Our host Michael was a generous and warm man who made us very welcome. We were driven into the city and could have been picked up any time but chose to walk back. His kitchen was open for snacks and drinks 24 hours which was fantastic. Breakfast was freshly cooked for each patron and a wonderful meal to begin the day. Our room was spacious and comfortable with everything we needed and quiet, which was great when we were not far out of the city centre. I couldn't recommend The Asty highly enough, especially for such a reasonable price, and I would give it 4 stars.
Carol and Michael Morgan, Australia.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael a, Manager at Asty Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
its good to see reviews from the other side of the world

be sure we are going to continue the good work

REGARDS
MICHAEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you have got nobody in Nicosia, don't worry! The manager and staff of this hotel will become your family members during your stay. They will even support you after you have checked out in order to travel to other cities in Cyprus. People at Asty are very kind, friendly and helpful. They offer you lots of free useful services there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael a, Manager at Asty Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
yes all of us at the ASTY we try very hard to make all guests to feel at home

that is why we say ASTY THE FAMILY HOTEL OF NICOSIA

BEST WISHES

MICHAEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brizzle, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Asty for three night during a trip round Cyprus in October (on which we stayed in 5 different hotels), and this hotel was easily the best.

We were greeted with enthusiasm and obvious pride by the proprietors on arrival. They offered us a (free) drink, showed us the dining room, and encouraged to help ourselves, at any time, to drinks, fruit, rice puddings, and other goodies from the fridge. Then they told us we could help ourselves to drinks - whenever we liked - from the small but well stocked and unmanned bar!! Our eyes just about fell out of our heads, as offering this to two Scots is asking for bankruptcy. I presume it's just an off-season thing, but this would be worth clarifying.

The freebies just kept coming. Free Wifi (albeit slow) in all rooms. Free use of bikes to explore the city. Need to go somewhere? We'll drive you there in the hotel taxi, free. Minigolf on the roof of the third floor, free. Free computer room, gym equipment, on and on and on.

We were given a map, had the main sites plotted, and an itinerary suggested, some of which we accepted and some of which we ignored.

We were given "the colour room". It was large, vibrantly decorated (see photos), and spotlessly clean, with en suite, powerful shower, minibar, safe, balcony, air-con & ceiling fan, and a flat-screen TV with a few English channels.

A bus from the main bus station in Nicosia will take you to the hotel (no. 172 if memory serves), but ask the driver to tell you when to get out. However, if the hotel taxi is free, they will come and pick you up free of charge. Note that this isn't always the case - sometimes they'll be on other jobs and it may take a while for them to get around to you. If your in a rush, ask them to phone a cab.

Breakfast is a Cypriot buffet (various cheeses, cold meat, toast, fruit, olives, and cooked eggs) which was never in danger of running out. Can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there.

The only, very minor quibbles I could think of: 1) The hotel is a bit out of the way. However, between busses and the hotel taxi it's not hard to get to the centre - either will take about 10 minutes 2) The Wifi is slow - don't bother trying to download a movie 3) no hair-drier or iron, though there was an ironing board. I have no doubt that they would have provided these had we asked, and anyway, who needs to iron on holiday?!

As an extra tip - the shop across the road is an outstanding delicatessen, well worth a look. The only nearby restaurant, however (turn right out the hotel and walk 5 minutes) - is a disappointment and should be avoided.

In summary, the hotel had all you'd expect from a budget hotel in the UK, but I have never experienced so many add-ons and such enthusiasm from a hotel in the UK (or anywhere else). If I'm ever in Nicosia again, I'll be back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael a, Manager at Asty Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
thank you very much for taking some of your time to wright A so long review

regards

MICHAEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff are great! Always friendly, always smiling. Free coffee/tea and small snacks all day long! Free bicycle loan and free minibus into the city. Book with confidence - this hotel is clean and comfortable, has crazy golf on the roof, games and gym in the basement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael a, Manager at Asty Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
thank you for your review about our FRIENDLY hotel as you say. I can assure you that we will continue to make all our customers feel like you REGARDS MICHAEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you like to feel at home when you are travelling and want to have a real old time hotel then this is the place for you. The rooms are fine, with television and air conditioning and with shower and toilet facilities.

But the speciallty of this hotel is the open house feeling. the dining room is open all the time. Two big refrigerators with fruit, juices, water and light dairy are for the use of the travellers. There is a small sport room with ping pong and a walking machine for those who have time.

There is a comfortable lounge and the porch is open for those who want to sit outside.

The usual clients are business people and there is a free shuttle from the hotel to the other parts of the city.

If you come to Nicosia for business or pleasure this is the place for you.

Aliya Kedem, Rehovot Israel
2/10/2012

Room Tip: Choose a room that is in the inside court so it is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael a, Manager at Asty Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
as you say " home away from home " yes that is what we try to do the familly hotel of NICOSIA

regards

MICHAEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Asty Hotel for 8 days at the end of August. During our stay there we were very impressed with the hospitality of the proprietor,,the cleanliness of the hotel and all the facilities on offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was very good with a large variety and choice of hot and cold food. There was access to free hot and cold drinks fruit, desserts, yogurts etc 24hours a day.We hired a car but there was a free shuttle available to take you into town.It was excellent value for money and we would recommend the hotel with confidence. We intend to go back next time we visit Cyprus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael a, Manager at Asty Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am very glad that we had the chance to accommodate you and your family in the family hotel of NICOSIA and manged to satisfy all your needs REGARDS MICHAEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asty Hotel

Address: Prigkipos Karolou 12 | Agios Dometios, Nicosia 1300, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#2 Business Hotel in Nicosia
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Asty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Asty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asty Hotel Nicosia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.