We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Oasis, Great Location & Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Classic Hotel to your Saves list
The Classic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Rigenis street, Nicosia 1513, Cyprus   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Nicosia
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding Oasis, Great Location & Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Classic Hotel was an outstanding oasis in Nicosia. We had room #227, which was extremely comfortable, clean and quiet with a lovely renovated marble bath. After a busy day of touring, it was so nice to return to the room, freshen up and then enjoy a happy hour in the garden courtyard with wine from the hotel’s wine bar. The location was superb for walking to Nicosia’s sights and eating in nice restaurants. What makes the restaurant extra special is the exceptional service of the hotel’s staff that did so much to help us have an excellent stay. Whether it was offering complimentary sandwiches upon arrival, two computers for internet access, making dinner recommendations and reservations, and a late check out on our last day, the staff was so accommodating. Glen Markidou, the reservations officer, is to be commended because she was great with email correspondence and assisting us with changes in our reservation. Without a doubt, I would recommend the Classic Hotel to any traveler.
Tips: We had a day trip to St. Hilarion Castle and Bellapais on the north side using Bellapais Taxi. I would highly recommend this day trip. I would not recommend Zanetto’s nor Pyxida Fish Tavern, but would go with the hotel’s staff recommendations instead.

Room Tip: Room #227 was a perfect room - quiet and with a lovely marble bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxoutis, General Manager at The Classic Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are vey happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. This is a great compliment. Thank you also for your nice comments about our staff, our Restaurant the food, and our facilities in general. Your review is truely motivating. It was a great pleasure having you with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Loizos Maxoutis
General Manager
The Classic Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    105
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
72
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shatin Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would summarize that this lodge is the best full service hotel for guests in Nicosia. The classic has the lowest rates so we chose it as being the best and we were not disappointed. You take a big chance paying a low price at a lodge for a first time - and you never really know what you are going to get for a room but ours was luxury. We were in town for three days and getting married at town hall. Three other couples had horror stories and told us we were lucky that we found a good hotel - so i recommended the Classic to them and now to you. You don't have to complain to get a good room or good service - they shower it on you when you walk in the door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel defines a boutique hotel. Not a huge intl chain but personalized and a staff that is friendly and always ready to assist and provide information. They are in a great location - walking distance to most sites in the city - and a 2 minute walk from the main bus station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Classic Hotel is well located in the old part of Nicosia, and is within walking distance of many interesting buildings and museums. It's also not far from the border between the Greek and Turkish parts of the city. The room we had was comfortable and generally well appointed. Its only deficiency was the smallness of the bathroom, and especially, of the shower, which was so narrow and awkwardly shaped that neither of us could achieve a comfortable shower (as we are both slim people, 100 and 140 lbs, respectively, this is a point worth recording). It seemed that in this case, the bathroom had been added as an afterthought to make the room ensuite, as no rational architect would have designed such an arrangement. Friends who were staying at the same hotel at the same time had reasonably large and commodious bathrooms--so if you make a booking at the Classic Hotel, be sure to specify that you want an adequately sized bathroom and shower. In general, the interior layout of the hotel is a bit odd, with staircases going off in various directions from the same level, and it was confusing for the first day or so, until we at least figured out the most convenient route from our room to the lobby and to the rooms of our friends. The hotel staff are extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. When we mentioned--speaking to our friends, who had met us in the hotel lobby--that our checked baggage hadn't arrived with us, so we were lacking toiletries, etc., the young lady behind the desk presented us with toothbrushes and other necessary items (for which there was no charge). The staff are also fluent in English and tolerant of our efforts to speak Greek. The hotel provides a fine breakfast buffet, including, in addition to the usual items, a variety of fresh and dried fruit. Our room was reasonably priced at 110 euro per night (breakfast included). However, we were charged 2 euro for a 1.5-litre bottle of water that was available at the little shop around the corner for 35 cents.

Room Tip: See comment about bathroom in review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Clean, comfortable, with attentive service. The business centre could be located somewhere more spacious and discreet so people who need to work from a laptop could fit in without having annoying children on youtube creating a mess. I also feel this hotel could put a guide to using the aircon in the room booklet - it is centrally controlled from reception.

Room Tip: Inland view is quieter - 106. It comes with a small patio but the view from this is ugly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent, most frienly and helpfull service. Great breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I travelled to Nicosia on my way from Paphos to North Cyprus and stayed at the Classic Hotel for one night. I was very well impressed with this hotel.
Staff at reception was friendly and helped me in understanding what were the highlights of the city I could see in my limited time. I was lucky that it was sunday and I could park my car right in front of the hotel door (in working days you are only allowed one hour parking in that street but there are 2 public parks nearby).
My room was huge and decoration extremely tastefull. Bathroom was the downside, I had only seen such a small space in a boat, but shower was ok.
Breakfast was quite good too.
In overall it was an excellent value for money. I have stayed in lots of 4 star hotels that were less confortable than this small charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Hotel

Address: 94 Rigenis street, Nicosia 1513, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#3 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Classic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something has changed within the walls of Nicosia City!The Classic hotel has now a brand new face! After a full renovation, the well known Nicosia hotel has now re-opened its doors and it is ready to satisfy even the most exquisite desires.Its modern exterior blends cordially with its historic surrounding environment, offering a new note of interest in the inner walls area of the capital.Its ideal location, just a few minutes distance from the archaeological museum, embassies, public services, the famous Ledra street and the City Hall, has made the Classic hotel very popular amongst the visitors of Nicosia.Our 57 hotel rooms have been specially transformed and are fully equipped to offer our guests a new, true comfort and pleasant experience.The newly renovated Classic hotel is now ready to welcome all guests and visitors for endless moments of pleasure.For a short tour, more information and reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us where our dedicated staff are ready to assist you at any moment.We appreciate your preference to our hotel and we assure you that we sincerely want to provide you with the quality service you deserve and expect from THE CLASSIC HOTEL.The Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Nicosia
Nicosia Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.