We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for what it offers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cyprus

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cyprus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cyprus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Archbishop Makarios III Avenue, Nicosia 1516, Cyprus   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €121
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Nicosia
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what it offers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is easy to find in Nicosia, right in the beginning of the city. The check-in was good, fast and the employees were adorable and very smart. It was very pleasant to speak portuguese with the receptionist. Congratulations!! But I think the rooms need a urgent reform. The room is very old fashioned and not so comfortable. It was just for one night but I was disappointed with the Hilton Brand and its quality in Cyprus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us your constructive feedback.

The hotel was upgraded in many key areas and completed in January 2011, with the rooms undergoing a general refreshment only, due to budget restrictions. Kindly be assured that the Management’s aim is to upgrade the amenities and services offered to guests wherever possible, although the prevailing financial challenges being faced in Cyprus, are

We were happy to see that you found the hotel in a good location and that the service offered upon check-in was to your high satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    143
    45
    14
    4
See reviews for
20
54
26
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I visited the Hilton Cyprus during a medical conference. It's a huge hotel with a pool and a bug lobby. In general the staff is kind and helpful, the premises are clean and luxurious and the pool is quite big for your swimming adventures!
The breakfast area (as well as the restaurant and coffee shop) are sufficient with good food but many of the waiters don't know well english nor greek.... The rooms are good but old. The window frame was quite old and didn't keep the sounds away from the highway while closed. The wifi is not free in the rooms -and quite expensive- and the view from the rooms is not nice. I had a pool view room, but except the pool, it was viewing also the terraces of the low level premises of the hotel, which the hotel should have cover with grass or flowers or even tiles to avoid that ugly sight.
The parking lot and the entrance of the hotel needs fixing also. It was swarming with cars and one of them was parked literally on the nice roundabout infront of the main entrance creating an ugly and frustrating image.
The hotel also should advise and check the taxi drivers coming there. I used one taxi and he didn't give me any receipt nor used the taxi meter and left me 300 m away from the point that asked him to leave me. I informed the hotel and except the general advise, didn't seem eager to look into that matter.
The shops inside the hotel were nice and luxurious. The distance from the city center is aprox. 2km and you need to take a bus or a taxi especialy in the hot summer months.
Overall experience was good and if the hotel decides to rennovate its self certainly it would be one of the best...

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive and detailed review, which is much appreciated.

The hotel was upgraded in many key areas and completed in January 2011, with the rooms undergoing a general refreshment only as funds available were understandably, limited.

With reference to the Internet service available, the guest room Internet is a standard benefit (free of charge) for Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members staying at all Hilton Worldwide properties and our prices for 1 and 2 hour use, have been reduced from 1st April. Also WiFi Internet is available for everyone free of charge, in all our public areas, for up to 8 hours duration.

All non-Cypriot staff are in the process of learning Greek, so as to resolve any communication difficulties.

We have raised the issue with our on-site taxi owners to speak with their drivers to ensure that any such incidents do not reoccur, however, on occasion other cabbies dropping off guests, are not adverse to picking up waiting fares, who are not part of the on-site taxi crews.

Nevertheless, we were happy to see that you found your stay with us to your general satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a old hotel need major upgrading, its more like a business hotel than 4 star hotel, a hotel with just a coffee house with limited menu and a small lounge is more for market way back 20 years, not today.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review which is much appreciated.

The hotel was upgraded in many key areas for the majority of 2010 and was completed in January 2011. Regretfully there is always a limit to funds available and the present financial crisis that Cyprus, is now facing, is detrimental to any new projects being undertaken at present.

Please be assured that the Management’s intention is to continue improving the product and to strive in attaining all our guest’s complete satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Cyprus Hilton is situated in the heart of Nicosia which is very good if you are traveling on business. The hotel staff are very friendly and are willing to assist you.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The gym and health center could do with a 'face lift' however. Breakfast and the food is of good quality.

The Hilton is a traditional hotel in the center of town and is good for business or family trips to Nicosia either for work or shopping in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review which is much appreciated.

Upgrade of the Health Club, is in plan for some time in the future although, funds are nowadays extremely limited and especially so, since the Troika mandate.

Nevertheless, we were glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the majority of our services and amenities, to your high satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Hilton Cyprus is located some 5-10 min. drive from the city center, along the main road coming in from Larnaca airport. hence in the direct vicinity of the hotel there are not many sights, restaurants or shops. That said, there are not many quality hotels in the city center. But the hotel is nice: good rooms, swimming pool etc. The rooms are slightly tired but clean. The food in the restaurants is tasty but not the special quality you might expect in this level of hotel. The price of hotels in Nicosia is surprisingly high and the Hilton is no exception, but you can find good deals online sometimes.
The biggest downside of the hotel is the ridiculously expensive price for internet access in the room, although it is free in the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us your constructive feedback, which is much appreciated.

The hotel was upgraded in many key areas which was completed in January 2011, with the rooms undergoing a general refreshment, for as you can appreciate, there is always a limit to the funds available.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe generally, however, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible compared to the local market and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.

With reference to the Internet service available, the guest room Internet is a standard benefit (free of charge) for Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members staying at all Hilton Worldwide properties and our prices for 1 and 2 hour use, have as of 1st April, been reduced. As you mention, WiFi Internet is available for everyone free of charge, in all our public areas, for up to 8 hours duration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very spacious rooms, mine was overlooking the pool area, interior a bit outdated. Hotel staff is very helpful, friendly and nice.The gym was a bit disappointing, it is an "public" health club and machines were old and often it was quite crowded. The sauna/swimming pool is functional but don't expect anything fancy. The food in the restaurant was decent, but the overall atmosphere in the restaurant was a bit lacking.. Breakfast buffet is large and includes healthy options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback which is very much appreciated.

Your review has been shared with all the Department Heads concerned and please be assured that the Management's intention, is to continue improving the product and striving to gain our guests' satisfaction.

We were, nevertheless, pleased to see that the accommodation provided was to your satisfaction and that our Team Members were able to meet your high expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was a first stay in Cyprus. We are Hilton Honors Club members so are familiar with the chain. This is a well run hotel; we were most impressed by the very friendly and helpful service, from the people at the front desk to the personnel in the Executive Lounge. The bedding was very comfortable; fluffy pillows that you can sink into. Sound insulation for the room, however, was dissappointing (we could hear the high volume of the tv next door). The food was standard fare for a hotel of this caliber; nothing exceptional. The healthclub was clean and the separate mens and womens jacuzi and sauna facilties were great. i recommend taking a class (I did pilates) even if you don't understand a word of Greek - it's an experience! If you want to go to the healthclub and the indoor pool in your bathrobe, ask for a room at that side of the building (be aware though that this side does not offer a great view so ask for a room that faces the outdoor pool). Overall, this is a very nice hotel for a business trip - what you would expect from a higher-end Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the elevator - you can hear the bell. Ask for room on the side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review of our hotel, which is much appreciated.

We were pleased to see that your overall stay with us was generally to your high satisfaction and that our team members were friendly and helpful, which assisted in making your stay with us an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cyprus

Address: Archbishop Makarios III Avenue, Nicosia 1516, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#4 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cyprus 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Cyprus is the only 5 star hotel in Nicosia and counts over 45 years of experience. Location: Just 45km/30 minutes from Larnaca International Airport and only 15 minutes walking distance from the city centre, shopping and entertainment areas; conveniently located next to the business district. Accommodation & Room Types: There are 294 rooms available out of which 19 are suites and 76 Executive rooms. Hilton Guest Rooms: All Hilton guest rooms are non – smoking and feature a working desk, direct-dial telephone line, Internet and wireless connection, TV and Pay-TV, hairdryer, mini bar, electronic lock system, individually controlled air-conditioning, smoke detectors, sprinklers, private balcony,safe deposit boxes, bathrobe and slippers, magnifying mirror and tea & coffee making facilities. Executive Rooms: All Executive rooms, which are 20% larger than the Hilton guest rooms, are fully equipped and decorated to the highest standard, enabling you to unwind in comfort after a hard day, or to continue working effectively from your room. Guests staying in the Executive Wing can enjoy complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. The Executive Lounge allows you to lounge in an elegant environment where breakfast, hot drinks and cold refreshments, cocktails and canapés are served free of charge throughout the day. International newspapers and magazines and a comfortable satellite TV corner make the Lounge a real “home away from home”.Accessible rooms are also available. Services & Features: Guest facilities and services also include a Business Centre, shopping gallery with a hairdresser & barbershop, bookshop, bank, taxi and car rental services and free car park facilities. Free WiFi is available in all public spaces of the hotel.The hotel also offers various meeting rooms and facilities that can accommodate either a small meeting or a conference for up to 720 delegates. The Hiltonia Health Club features a fitness centre with outdoor and indoor swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, a squash court, and Spa area with steam bath, Jacuzzi, Sauna and beauty centre, which allows you to pamper yourself with a massage and spa treatments. Dining & Entertainment: The Fontana restaurant is available for all-day dining. Enjoy our Hilton Breakfast, in the morning, and for lunch or dinner choose from a wide variety of traditional or international buffet or the a la carte menu. If you are seeking a comfortable and friendly atmosphere, the Paddock Bar invites you, after a hard day’s work, to enjoy cocktails and drinks by ordering your favourites. The Lobby Lounge of the hotel allows you to lounge in a relaxing atmosphere and invites you to enjoy aromatic coffees and delicious dessert or even a light snack including Hilton Classic meals. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily on weekdays. Enjoy refreshing cocktails and tempting snacks at the seasonal Pergola Grill & Bar, situated next to the outdoor swimming pool. At night time Pergola transforms into a magnificent restaurant offering a tempting a la carte menu with a wide selection of grilled dishes, delicious steaks and the finest wines and spirits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Cyprus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cyprus Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Hotel Cyprus
Hilton Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Nicosia
Nicosia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cyprus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.