We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cyprus

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cyprus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cyprus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Archbishop Makarios III Avenue, Nicosia 1516, Cyprus   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €121
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Nicosia
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Well placed hotel with all you would expect from this chain. Decent room and decent breakfast and the staff are good. Plenty of parking and well placed to get out of Nicosia if you have hired a car. Even by Nicosia standards though it is expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We were happy to see that the amenities and services provided met with your high expectations and that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, however, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible compared to the local market and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review which is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    145
    46
    14
    4
See reviews for
21
54
26
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked King Club lounge access for three nights off season. Room was full of an incinerator smell.
Although extremely tired after a snow delay at LHR. We had to move rooms during the night. During that move the corridors were full of the smelt smell. Eventual room was number 561 on the end overlooking the tennis courts. A little better.

Exec lounge was poor. Never staffed. No breakfast option there. One bottle of red wine left at 6pm with nibbles and not topped up. Never enough glasses, cups, t bags etc etc. afternoon treats and evening capes were presented under cling film and then left to run out dry out. No service or staff assistance for concierge or even just conversation!

Main breakfast team were highlight. Good food , fresh juices and great staff.

Pool area was clean, although you would have to ask for a lounger or chair and towel. It was all stored cleared away. No water on even to wash you hands outside toilets.signs saying not to use Poole etc.

No one offered to get luggage on departure, not until transfer car was there and a tip could be had.

We would not choose the hotel again. There is nothing around or close to hotel so bus and taxi needed to get into town.

Nicosia was quite run down you had to really research for the culture.

Easily accessible to North side, just need ID.

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms onto road. Yes noise is an issue but...Incinerater use is horrendous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review which we all appreciate.

We were sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, however, please rest assured that counteractive measures will be taken wherever feasible, in order to improve our amenities and the quality of services provided, as our ultimate aim is to have happy and satisfied guests. Your feedback has been circulated to our Director of Operations and our Food & Beverage Co-ordinator in regards to the Executive Lounge Operation, for their direct attention.

Our Front Desk Manager has also been advised regarding the porter service not being to your satisfaction.

With reference to the smell, this was possibly due to maintenance/painting works that were being undertaken at the time and the odour pervaded through to the rooms. There are no incinerators in the hotel or on the hotel grounds. Nevertheless, we were pleased to see that you were reallocated to another room.

The outdoor pool and area are closed during the winter season as you rightly state; the sun loungers, chairs etc. are stored away for safe-keeping and for protection against the weather, however, had you requested a sun lounger from the Hiltonia Club, they would have been happy to organise this for you, weather permitting.

We were happy to see that you enjoyed your breakfast and found our team members to be of assistance.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

A nice, bright and pleasant hotel with everything the business traveller could need.

Service was generally good although trying to check in three guests at once did lack the personal touch!

My main complaint was the food with some limited choices on a Sunday evening. Menu seemed to focus on fries with everything. Had a Sunday evening meal including baked cheese and a lunch including grilled Halloumi but in both cases the cheese was cold! Did talk to the restaurant manager about this but only got a shrug or the offer of more (cold?) cheese.

Breakfast was good - particularly liked the juicing machine and the guarantee of very fresh orange juice!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive review which is much appreciated.

We were sorry to see that our Fontana Restaurant did not meet your expectations with regard to lunch and dinner. Your valuable comments have been passed on to our Executive Chef and our Food & Beverage Co-ordinator, for their direct attention.

Nevertheless, we were pleased to see that breakfast and especially the fresh orange juice were to your liking, as well as your stay with us, being to your general satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hilton Cyprus, upon your return, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Here on business for only one night only. Welcoming reception staff, good standard of room and lots of facilities. Dinner buffet was enjoyable and reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and keen to help. Good all round hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your encouraging review which is appreciated.

We were very pleased to see that you were made to feel at home and that our services and amenities met your high expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although Nicosia has limited option about hotel accommodation Hilton remains the best option for business or vacation trips. Great environment, great service, luxury spaces many options for everybody..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback which we sincerely appreciate.

We were happy to see that all our services and amenties met your high expectations and that you had a most enjoyable stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE&CYPRUS
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
1,457 helpful votes 1,457 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I spent 3 amazing nights at the Hilton on a business trip and I was here again in 2011. Even though it is an old Hotel, it has never -Not even for once lost its high standards and goals. It continuous to be the perfect meeting point for the business clientele, and for the last 45 consecutive years it stands as a symbol of exclusivity and a luxurious landmark in the City of Nicosia.

As always I read reviews before I make any booking and I found it the 2nd most popular –but this of course does not mean much because popularity does not go with quality or luxury. You see, there are times when budget hotels with less stars are more popular to tourists for one or another reason. Anyway, the Hilton won a 2013 Traveller’s Choice Award in the category of Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Cyprus and this is a fact!!

I won’t exaggerate writing that I was spoiled and pampered again like the previous time I was here because it is indeed a hotel that spoils and pampers its guests.

STAFF: They are all exceptional and very attentive. I need to write though about Maria the Housekeeping supervisor who deserves a special mention. When she saw me desperate and disappointed that I did not have a bathing suite along and for 3 days I would miss Jacuzzi and the interior pool in minutes she came up with a solution. She was unceasingly friendly and helpful on other times as well when I needed her.
Elena Oltu –housekeeper who was decorating my room! There was a different surprise from her even late in the afternoons when she would drop by again for more! Her amazing decorating creations were better than any other I had seen for years. But of course there was Mrs. Christina Spyrou and Sophie, the other ladies who were just as good and always polite. Stelios, the mini bar attendant always discreet when he knocked on the door to ask if I needed anything from the mini bar. In all, I felt like home with their unparalleled level of excellent service.

ROOM: This time I had the executive room #361, overlooking the road. The double-glazed windows keep the traffic noise away. The guest is made welcome by a note on the flat TV –a nice gesture! Spacious like all rooms of the executive wing and spotlessly clean, which for me is factor #1. The executive suites have a minimalistic style and a touch of luxury. How can it be otherwise ….soft relaxing clours, a huge very comfortable bed with cushions on, beautifully designed curtains matching with the carpet and walls, a huge desk something missing many times from other business hotels. The businessman can work out here in comfort and eloquent silence in the amazing ambience of his room. Functional amenities for demanding guests!
Coffee/tea facilities, fresh flowers in the room and bathroom, safe, mini bar, iron board, robe and slippers are provided.
Remember to have the chain behind the door just in case somebody accidentally comes in. Sometimes you might not hear the knock and the staff thinks that nobody is in and they gate-crash inside.

The Nicosia Hilton knows well how to pamper its guests with some VIP courtesies upon arrival and throughout the stay. It is something a pleasant surprise each day.
I had a big bowl of seasonal fruit, sweet Cypriot delicacies, snacks, mineral water and wine. If this is not a real treat and pampering, then what!!

BATHROOM: Tiled walls and floor with a marbled sink. Spacious/spotlessly clean/magnifying mirror and ample of nicely scented towels for hands/face and body.
The water pressure in the shower is not what I expected especially when I came from a hotel where water had a strong pressure but of course I can understand it. You see this is due to the Eco friendly sustainability initiatives ….it would be actually nice to see other hotels practicing these measures also.
I loved the new toiletries which are by far better than the ones the Hilton had for years. They are the Peter Thomas Roth from the Mega-rich collection. I found them simply amazing and they smell like fresh tangerines! The body wash gel contains green and yellow micro beads with vitamins. Indeed a treat to guests!

BREAKFAST: The first meal of the day (American) at the Fontana Restaurant is sumptuous! It is breakfast for a diverse group of members as well as guests, so there is everything for everyone enough to fill you up till dinner -a paradise of cereals and dry fruit. There is a choice of home-made bread/cakes/rolls/croissant/muffing/jam/marmalade and honey, and omelettes. There is of course so much more. Be sure to taste the Chef’s homemade muffins –they are huge and of excellent taste. Breakfast is under the supervision of professional staff one of which is Christina who is supervising the restaurant in the morning. I found her alert and impeccable.

DINING: The Fontana interior is fabulous creating a warm and pleasant ambience. Besides the wide variety of traditional and international buffets, it offers the a la carte menu where guests can choose out of a variety of Signature dishes that suite all tastes. The Chef of the Cuisine Mr. Georgiou is very talented with several awards in his record. There is something for everyone, from the Hilton’s classics to vegetarian dishes, nutrient salads and different other health options.
I had the Sea Bass from the a la carte menu –it was cooked to perfection and the portion was huge and very tasty! There are amazing salads to accompany meals and if I had to give just one word for dessert….I would say “heavenly” !! Of course there is Christos, the Food & Beverage Co-ordinator who is the appropriate person to recommend the matching wine or drink to accompany your dish.

EXECUTIVE LOUNGE: Guests with rooms on the Executive floor have access to this lounge. Beautifully decorated with fitted carpets, comfortable sofas, -serves like a library, a study/work room as it provides 2 or 3 laptops as well. It provides coffee/tea facilities, cool drinks, some wine, snacks and nibbles. There are tables for dining, and guests are able to bring additional persons to this lounge if they wish, whereby they then have the option to be charged 25 euros p.p., which allows their guest(s) unlimited food and beverage or if preferable, to be charged on a consumption basis. Of course don’t expect a full menu, mostly snacks and three or four kinds of dessert.

SPA: The Spa is great here at the Hilton -Excellent facilities, personal attention, in hands of expert consultants. Ask to see the list of therapies and choose the one that suits you out of the body and face treatments. A basic 60 min mineral face treatment costs 75 euros, with the most expensive –the Anti-Aging 90 min for 110.
The classic back massage is the cheapest (30 min) for 50 euros, with the most expensive –the International Thai Massage (90 min) for 120 euros.
Guests who stay in the hotel can use the Jacuzzi, Steam bath and Sauna without paying any extras. I

Wi Fi: Internet is free in all public areas and food beverage outlets, but guests can have access in their rooms under a small charge although I found it kind of slow to be honest.
The cost is 15 euros for 24 hours and 45 euros for 72.
It is free though and it has become a standard benefit for the HHonors Gold and Diamond members staying at all Hilton worldwide properties.

LOCATION: It is a hotel geared predominantly to the business clientele making it an ideal meeting point, with just 15 minutes’ walk to Nicosia’s highest points.

Transport: Buses 116, 158, 160 can get you to the main bus station -at Solono’s Square for just a euro. Buses are scarce during weekends though!
Use the Intercity (green) buses if you wish to get as far as Larnaca, Limassol or Paphos. There is a bus stop approximately 100 metres from the hotel on the right.
If you are fit, it is a matter of 15 minute walk to the City centre otherwise take a taxi for 6 euros. Find them behind the parking lot.

PLACES OF INTEREST: The Cyprus Archaeological Museum should come first on your list of priorities.
This time I visited the Folk Museum and I found it very interesting. A visit to Makarios Cultural Foundation, Laiki Yitonia and the House of Hadjigeorgakis Kornesios are also highly recommended. Finally get to the Old city -Ledra Street is full of retail Shops, Café bars, Restaurants and Malls, making it so it an interesting area to go for a walk.

LEDRA’S CROSSING POINTt: If you wish to pass through the opposite side –the Turkish side, you can have access through Ledra’s passing point. By all means it is a passing point and not a boarder because boarders divide countries. Cyprus is a country on its whole, with its northern part being occupied by the Turkish troops since 1974 with the Turkish invasion. Be sure to have your passports along. The situation is sad here, and I am sure there is not much that would keep you on the Turkish side. Go for it if you want to, just to say that you did.

CONCLUSION: In all after my 3 night stay here I believe it justly ranks first on the charts. Check for early booking and enjoy some amazing discounts.
I can’t wait to be back. Thank you guys you are all wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and constructive appraisal of our hotel, which is always much appreciated.

We were happpy to see that your stay with us was a most enjoyable one and that our amenities and services met and also surpassed your expectations on a number of occasions. It is always a pleasure hearing that our guests are pampered and made to feel so at home by our team members, who are happy to be of assistance.

Thank you once again, for your genuine review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hilton is not well located for a tourist maybe because of its distance to the city center, but its ideally located in case of a business trip. Spacious and very clean rooms with whatever necessary and a very nice indoor restaurant. Extremely polite staff and really helpful. The main drawback in my case is that i had to pay for the wifi in my room which is necessary for my trip. I find it inappropriate for such a hotel nowadays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking to time to post your constructive review which we all appreciate.

The guest room Internet is a standard benefit (free of charge) for HHonors Gold and Diamond members staying at all Hilton Worldwide properties, details of which can be found on our website.

Nevertheless, we were happy to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that our services met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cyprus

Address: Archbishop Makarios III Avenue, Nicosia 1516, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#4 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cyprus 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Cyprus is the only 5 star hotel in Nicosia and counts over 45 years of experience. Location: Just 45km/30 minutes from Larnaca International Airport and only 15 minutes walking distance from the city centre, shopping and entertainment areas; conveniently located next to the business district. Accommodation & Room Types: There are 294 rooms available out of which 19 are suites and 76 Executive rooms. Hilton Guest Rooms: All Hilton guest rooms are non – smoking and feature a working desk, direct-dial telephone line, Internet and wireless connection, TV and Pay-TV, hairdryer, mini bar, electronic lock system, individually controlled air-conditioning, smoke detectors, sprinklers, private balcony,safe deposit boxes, bathrobe and slippers, magnifying mirror and tea & coffee making facilities. Executive Rooms: All Executive rooms, which are 20% larger than the Hilton guest rooms, are fully equipped and decorated to the highest standard, enabling you to unwind in comfort after a hard day, or to continue working effectively from your room. Guests staying in the Executive Wing can enjoy complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. The Executive Lounge allows you to lounge in an elegant environment where breakfast, hot drinks and cold refreshments, cocktails and canapés are served free of charge throughout the day. International newspapers and magazines and a comfortable satellite TV corner make the Lounge a real “home away from home”.Accessible rooms are also available. Services & Features: Guest facilities and services also include a Business Centre, shopping gallery with a hairdresser & barbershop, bookshop, bank, taxi and car rental services and free car park facilities. Free WiFi is available in all public spaces of the hotel.The hotel also offers various meeting rooms and facilities that can accommodate either a small meeting or a conference for up to 720 delegates. The Hiltonia Health Club features a fitness centre with outdoor and indoor swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, a squash court, and Spa area with steam bath, Jacuzzi, Sauna and beauty centre, which allows you to pamper yourself with a massage and spa treatments. Dining & Entertainment: The Fontana restaurant is available for all-day dining. Enjoy our Hilton Breakfast, in the morning, and for lunch or dinner choose from a wide variety of traditional or international buffet or the a la carte menu. If you are seeking a comfortable and friendly atmosphere, the Paddock Bar invites you, after a hard day’s work, to enjoy cocktails and drinks by ordering your favourites. The Lobby Lounge of the hotel allows you to lounge in a relaxing atmosphere and invites you to enjoy aromatic coffees and delicious dessert or even a light snack including Hilton Classic meals. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily on weekdays. Enjoy refreshing cocktails and tempting snacks at the seasonal Pergola Grill & Bar, situated next to the outdoor swimming pool. At night time Pergola transforms into a magnificent restaurant offering a tempting a la carte menu with a wide selection of grilled dishes, delicious steaks and the finest wines and spirits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Cyprus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cyprus Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Hotel Cyprus
Hilton Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Nicosia
Nicosia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cyprus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.