We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luke warm -not quite 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cyprus

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cyprus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cyprus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Archbishop Makarios III Avenue, Nicosia 1516, Cyprus   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Nicosia
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
1,094 helpful votes 1,094 helpful votes
“Luke warm -not quite 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Firstly an explanation of why we went to the Hilton. We tried to book a package tour of North and South Cyprus, but the tour company without reason cancelled the January departure. We decided to do the tour independently using Expedia for the travel/hotel package, which was just ONE QUARTER the cost of the package trip.
We flew to Larnaka from Gatwick,and took the Shuttle Bus (8 euros pp) to Nicosia. The Shuttle bus stops outside the city. IT IS NOT WALKABLE IN THE DARK- so we took a taxi (7 euros) to the Hilton.
The following were 5 star:
a) Reception -Andreas very helpful and later arranged an excellent taxi trip to North Cyprus- Kyrenia & Bellapais
b) Our room -King Hilton Guestroom on 7th.floor overlooking pool -clean, well-stocked, very comfortable bed.
c) Facilities
d)Sumptuous layout
e) Extremely helpful cashier Phediasc who in true spirit of customer care sorted out a problem with our bill- he is an asset to hotel.
So what reduces its star rating in our opinion:
1. Breakfast at 20.5 euros is expensive. This can be reduced by buying breakfast vouchers to 15 euros- but BEWARE if you buy these you are expected to have breakfast every day. We had breakfast the first day but the hot food was ONLY LUKE WARM-not pleasant. We drew this to the attention of the restaurant staff and to reception. We did not return.
2.The hotel is 2 km outside the city. All other 5 star hotels in such a situation provide a free shuttle bus to/from the city. This Hilton does not, possibly because a lot of their clients have cars, can afford the 7-10 euro taxi fare, or if thrifty take the 1 euro bus ride- OK in week but very sparce at weekends (Buses 116,158,160 go to main bus station at Solomonos Square).
Use the INTERCITY buses from here -very cheap- buy ONE DAY ticket = return. We used them for trips to Limassol, Pathos and Larnaka. Buses were on time and comfortable.

Room Tip: King Hilton Guestoom -7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your most constructive and detailed review, which is much appreciated.

We were pleased to see that the Front Desk team was able to be of assistance to you and that your stay was predominantly to your satisfaction.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, however, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible compared to the local market and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.

Kindly be assured that counteractive measures will be taken wherever feasible in improving our services and amenities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    147
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
21
54
26
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 3 night stay over new years 2012/13 Over all no complaints servivce great , room great, Amazing choice for breakfast. Leisure club fantastic. The only grizzle which I know is a little selfish, is that all the leisure club was closed on January 1st. I know this is a holiday , however for such a expensive hotel with guests obviously just staying for a few days wishing to make the most of the facilities I do feel it should have been open .

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We were pleased to see that our services and amenities met your high expectations and that your stay with us was most enjoyable .

The Health Club is open 363 days of the year, closing completely on Christmas Day and New Year's Day only, which unfortunately coincided with your visit.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive review which we appreciate and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant stay here over the New Year. Hotel position is quite a walk into the Main Shopping area and Old Town Nicosia, and not alot going on directly outside the hotel, Taxis into town are around 10 euros, although there is a bus service going up Archbishop Makarios III Avenue costing a euro.

Hotel very nice, in keeping with the Hilton standard. Executive lounge had adequate space and good selection of hot and cold snacks.

Breakfast was very good as always as was the service.

Would have been nice to have been able to relax by the outside pool on the occasional days it was warm enough, but loungers and chairs were unavailable there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review which is appreciated.

We were pleased to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and our services and amenties met your high expectations.

Should a sun lounger be required during the winter period when the outdoor pool area is not in use, this can be organised upon request, to our Health Club Manager.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The photos of this hotel do not do it justice! It is updated and modern, and the service is great. The front desk gave us a free upgrade and access to the executive lounge, which was very nice. The breakfast was exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We were extremely glad to see that your stay with us met your expectations and that you had a very enjoyable visit.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your most favourable review which is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The staff and the rooms are excellent! Shower had very little water pressure. Incidentals (coffee, food, etc..) are very expensive (5.50eu for espresso and 15eu for a ham & cheese sandwich, 15eu/day for wifi in your room?). The service, cleanliness, and beds are top notch!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review of our hotel which we do appreciate.

Our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, although we do try to keep them as competitive as possible and in line with other 5* hotels on the island. For your information, free WIFI is now accessible in all our public spaces and food & beverage outlets.

With reference to water pressure in the shower, this is due to the Eco friendly sustainability initiatives that we have in place throughout the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There`s hotels and there`s this place , well it really is perfect as the staff,surroundings,food everything is just fantastic ..The breakfasts here are out of this world all complimented by friendly and helpfull staff.We stayed here 2011 mid summer only for one night due to a holiday company making a hash of our flight home so they put us up here but to be honest after just one night here we didn`t want to go home anyway lol as this Hilton in Nicosia ticked all the boxes and we would stay here again as a full holiday without fail.Well done all the staff here for doing such a great job and keep up the good work...Thank you...Laurence & Rosanne from Ludlow ( shropshire )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We were very pleased to see that your return visit to our hotel met your expectations completely
on all levels and that your stay with us was extremely enjoyable.

Thank you for taking the time to post your most constructive and sincere review of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the hotel in a king size room. The room are of a high standard. the hotel also provides shower robes, tea & coffee, huge variety of personal use such as shower gels, face wash soaps etc.. Room was always spotless. Breakfast provides huge variety of items which were very nice.. staff asked us also if we wanted any omelettes or fried egg, anything that you could immagine the staff make their best to satisfy your needs. Also a big well done goes to the front desk staff which were amazing with their service and helped us a lot. They helped us a lot in planning our stay there. They recommended where to go and called us taxis and arranged transport for us.

Things we didn't like were that wi-fi was expensive to pay, stuff from mini bar was also a bit expensive and some tv movies part.

But on the whole our stay there was an excellent choice.

(Dec27-31)

Room Tip: Anyone who wants to visit and travel and explore the place no need to fuss on executives. a simple k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We were very pleased to see that the services and amenities provided during your honeymoon were to your high level of expectation and that you were especially satisfied with the care and attention show to you by our team members.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, although we do try to keep them as competitive as possible and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.

Your constructive comments are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, upon your return to the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cyprus

Address: Archbishop Makarios III Avenue, Nicosia 1516, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#4 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cyprus 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Cyprus is the only 5 star hotel in Nicosia and counts over 45 years of experience. Location: Just 45km/30 minutes from Larnaca International Airport and only 15 minutes walking distance from the city centre, shopping and entertainment areas; conveniently located next to the business district. Accommodation & Room Types: There are 294 rooms available out of which 19 are suites and 76 Executive rooms. Hilton Guest Rooms: All Hilton guest rooms are non – smoking and feature a working desk, direct-dial telephone line, Internet and wireless connection, TV and Pay-TV, hairdryer, mini bar, electronic lock system, individually controlled air-conditioning, smoke detectors, sprinklers, private balcony,safe deposit boxes, bathrobe and slippers, magnifying mirror and tea & coffee making facilities. Executive Rooms: All Executive rooms, which are 20% larger than the Hilton guest rooms, are fully equipped and decorated to the highest standard, enabling you to unwind in comfort after a hard day, or to continue working effectively from your room. Guests staying in the Executive Wing can enjoy complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. The Executive Lounge allows you to lounge in an elegant environment where breakfast, hot drinks and cold refreshments, cocktails and canapés are served free of charge throughout the day. International newspapers and magazines and a comfortable satellite TV corner make the Lounge a real “home away from home”.Accessible rooms are also available. Services & Features: Guest facilities and services also include a Business Centre, shopping gallery with a hairdresser & barbershop, bookshop, bank, taxi and car rental services and free car park facilities. Free WiFi is available in all public spaces of the hotel.The hotel also offers various meeting rooms and facilities that can accommodate either a small meeting or a conference for up to 720 delegates. The Hiltonia Health Club features a fitness centre with outdoor and indoor swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, a squash court, and Spa area with steam bath, Jacuzzi, Sauna and beauty centre, which allows you to pamper yourself with a massage and spa treatments. Dining & Entertainment: The Fontana restaurant is available for all-day dining. Enjoy our Hilton Breakfast, in the morning, and for lunch or dinner choose from a wide variety of traditional or international buffet or the a la carte menu. If you are seeking a comfortable and friendly atmosphere, the Paddock Bar invites you, after a hard day’s work, to enjoy cocktails and drinks by ordering your favourites. The Lobby Lounge of the hotel allows you to lounge in a relaxing atmosphere and invites you to enjoy aromatic coffees and delicious dessert or even a light snack including Hilton Classic meals. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily on weekdays. Enjoy refreshing cocktails and tempting snacks at the seasonal Pergola Grill & Bar, situated next to the outdoor swimming pool. At night time Pergola transforms into a magnificent restaurant offering a tempting a la carte menu with a wide selection of grilled dishes, delicious steaks and the finest wines and spirits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Cyprus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cyprus Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Hotel Cyprus
Hilton Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Nicosia
Nicosia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cyprus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.