We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings - beware this is Lefkosa, not Nicosia. Strange rules.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dereboyu Street, Nicosia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Nicosia
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings - beware this is Lefkosa, not Nicosia. Strange rules.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The hotel is on the Turkish side of the island (Lefkosa). The Turkish side is still divided by a boarder post and is quite less developed than Cyprus. Crossing the boarder with a taxi is very difficult since most taxi drivers won't be allowed to enter Nicosia with their taxis. So you're dropped at the border and there it's "help yourself" (e.g. ask police to call a taxi which they'll eventually actually do).
If you don't speak Turkish it can be a trip into the unknown. Most at the reception speak decent English. Every other area though (and that includes Room Service Telephone, Security and Waiters) hardly speak any English. The most annoying rule is that they don't allow you to enter a bottle of water or any food into the hotel (if security catches it's confiscated). This includes some sweets as well. So when you pass the metal detector and have something in your pocket it's like smuggling...Feels more like a paid prison than a self proclaimed 5 star hotel.. To be fair their hotel food is decently priced and good (so is the breakfast). But if you stay a while you might get sick of their limited food options. Since the hotel is a bit in the outskirts a decent restaurant is a 10min walk beside waste bins, broken pavements etc.
The rooms are clean and decent size. TV program is apart from CNN only Turkish. Very strange again considering the wealth of English TV channels you get at any given 3 or 4 star hotel on the Cyprus side.
The Hotel has a Casino inside which attracts some shady guests (some of the women look professional..haven't seen any of their bags screened...).
The internet speed is decent and Internet is free. The wireless reception is depending on your room location though (in ours it vanishes often - a cable helps).
Cleaning clothes took 2 days and a inquiry call (which had to be translated first) before it got delivered..

Overall the people are actually very friendly and try their best - obviously within their limits. Seems they believe their market is Turkey and that's what they cater to (although I believe you get better 5 star's in Turkey with more relaxed rules).

I'm putting the overall rating to only 2 since I hope that someone from Golden Tulip management actually reads this. The customer is not king here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
4
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

stayed in this hotel about 5 or 6 times as the rooms are very nice and comfortable, features a very nice gym and sauna and a superb casino, but the check in was a hassle all the time. The staff is not well trained and they cannot find your online reservations.This happened to us in the first three times in a row, so we decided to call them before the check in to give them ample time to find our reservations so that we wouldn't keep waiting there for ages.Also, some rooms have very small windows and given that the windows cannot be opened, it gives you a claustrophobic feeling so we asked for rooms with large windows (corner rooms) but they always failed to provide us one.So instead of the check in staff learning the room numbers with large windows, we learned them and emailed them saying we want exactly this room or that room! Anyway, we used to put up with all that check in hassle as the hotel is very central and clean and well designed.But the last time was a total turn off for me: While I was in the shower, I opened my eyes and came face to face with 5 people (and one of them turns out to be the general manager) who then turned away giggling. Apparently they came in to fix the mirror! After that I received no apologies but a cup of sliced pineapple only!!! I left the hotel after our planned stay and I sure will never return! Oh, I also stayed there in April (like the previous reviewers) and the pool was closed although it was already summer in Cyprus (all other hotels had opened their pools by the start of April) and the website gave no warning,! Well, of course, noone apologized for that, either!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

this is a new hotel but is not acceptable that you can't open the window. i am allergic to air conditioning and I suffered too much due the presence of moquette in the bed room. staff is not well trained both in english and quality of service. swimmingpool is not working even if they sell as it it. I moved without any regrets. Prices are more expensive than in Europe. Rack price is 200 euro per night, but you can get a single for euro 60,00 per night. breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I stayed at the Golden Tulip for one night recently on a buisness trip. The hotel is very new, maybe 6 months or so and it is lovely. Grand lobby and beautiful bedrooms, the room is a good size with a huge, very comfortable bed and bedding. There is everything you need for a comfortable stay and more with a well equipped gym, spa and a fabulous outdoor pool, which sadly was not open when I was there in late April but will be in a week. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino

Address: Dereboyu Street, Nicosia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 139 rooms; 112 standart, 11 corner rooms, 15 suites and a king suite room. 2 Standart rooms are suited to disabled guests and 2 rooms are suited to the guest who suffer from allergy including pet, food and dust allergies. Golden Tulip Nicosia serves the world-famous brands' amenities in rooms like Molton Brown, Azzaro, Hermes ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.