We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Themis House

Themis House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Themis House to your Saves list
Themis House
5, Platonos str | Strovolos, Nicosia 2040 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Nicosia B&B and Inns
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very nice place, well kept and the lady there was very friendly. The room was spacious, and it had an almost traditional feel, although not quite. On the downside, it is in Lemithou, which although is a picturesque village with beautiful scenery, there is not much to do around there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Themis is a small appartment style hotel. We stayed in room 8 (one of the rooms of the top floor). The room was fairly small but well maintained. The balcony had a nice view of the valley. Our friends stayed in room 1 on the next floor down- their room was much darker and lacked the nice views but was classed as a better room? The room had a fan but no air-con. This was fine in September but might be hot in peak summer.
The location is peaceful and perfect for exploring the Troodos.
The pool was clean and very freshing-remember it is much cooler up in the hills.
We took our own food for the night as there are very limited local facilities and we didnt want to drive again that day.The kitchenette in the room was quite adequate.
Breakfast was good basic Cyprus fare, plenty of food and handmade jams although we did have to ask for more bread several times. I think they might have struggled more if busy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are lighter, have a balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had an excellent stay here. The room was very welcoming and smartly done. A nice kitchenette, comfortable bed and a balcony with an amazing view. Sitting on the balcony with a cool drink and enjoying the sunset alone made this place worth the visit.

The owners are helpful and friendly. They provide information about the area, sell drinks and ice cream. Note that for any other shoppings or food, you need to visit the next village, because the Lemithou village doesn't offer anything along these lines. The availability of a car is therefore much recommended.

Purely for hiking spots, Troodos (village?) is probably a more convenient place to stay because a lot of hiking routes are close by that area. If visiting monasteries and interesting villages is also on your list, then Themis house is however just fine. We ourselves came from Polis on the west coast and visited Cedar Valley along the way. Kykkos Monastery would be another excellent spot along that route.

September was an excellent time to be here. The mountains were still quite warm in the sunshine but during the nights the temperature was pleasant to be outside and to sleep in.

The price is just fine for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Lovely place to stay, with great views. Very welcoming owners and staff. Lunch made by the mother very traditional. Amazing bunches of grapes hanging from a very old grapevine. We thought €50 was good compared to other accommodation in Troodos. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balcony if you prefer a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent three nights at Themis House as part of a nine night trip to Cyprus, birdwatching and walking.

We found Themis House easily approaching Lemithou from Prodomos. We received a very warm welcome on arrival with free coffees, and had a choice of two studio rooms on the upper level. The rooms are clean though rather small and lacking charm, and come with a small kitchenette and shower within a bath. Our bath had some very noticeable holes in the bottom!

The views out of the small balcony are stunning though the village does not have the ‘grandeur’ the leaflet for Themis House would have you believe. Indeed, the photographs in the leaflet were either taken some time ago or have been ‘airbrushed’ as the overall feel of the Themis House is now rather ‘tired’. The small pool has also seen much better days.

The free wifi worked well in the main reception area, less well on our balcony and not at all in our room (no doubt the thick brick walls were responsible for blocking the signal).

We paid 50 Euros as a couple for each night which did not include breakfast (5 Euros per person extra). Our accommodation in Cyprus both before and after Themis House was less than half this cost including breakfast; but you are staying in the Troodos Mountains where accommodation has a premium price.

If you want a very quiet locality with no tourist amenities, and excellent walking and birdwatching potential (Troodos is 10kms away and Platres 15kms), then Themis House is ideal. The nearest restaurant is just over 3km at Prodomos where we regretted opting for the self-service buffet which was virtually cold.

Overall, the tired look of the place, small rooms and high price paid is reflected in our two-star rating overall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We were welcomed from the car by the proprietors, they helped us to our room with our luggage. The room was clean and the views were stunning. Breakfast was amazing served on the balcony with the beautiful views over the valley.

Room Tip: Enter from Prodomos to find the hotel easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We booked a triple room for two nights at this hotel 8 months before our trip based on the one photo of the room they had on their website. The photo showed a light, airy room with a modern-looking kitchenette. Another reason why we chose this hotel was because it offered a triple room. Our understanding is when it says 'triple', that means there are THREE proper beds in it and not two plus a foldable bed. Furthermore, the listing said 'Beds:3' and usually, when they put in an extra third bed, it is usually listed as 'Beds:2+1'. About 2 months before our holiday, we received an email from the managing organisation asking if we were prepared to move to another hotel as they would like to accommodate a group there and needed more rooms. I wrote back and said we had booked so many months in advance and wanted to keep the reservation (I wanted to have the triple room and a pool) and whether they could solve the problem somehow without moving us. I never got a reply.

On our arrival in Cyprus, I called the hotel to reconfirm the reservation and was told that they were holding our reservation. On arrival at the hotel, two Filipina staff who couldn't really speak English, showed us 3 dark, double rooms on the ground floor and told us there were no other rooms left. All the rooms on the upper floor (which were shown in the photos on the hotel website) were taken by a group. They would put in a 'camp bed' for our daughter. Two of the rooms shown to us were so tight, there was no way a third bed could be squeezed in so we opted for the last room which was facing the road and did not have the nice, mountain view we had hoped to get. When the camp bed was put up, my daughter sat on it and sank right down to the floor! That night, the 3 of us squeezed onto the double bed to sleep.

The hotel was built some years ago and probably the photos were also taken then! The paint was peeling off in some places and the door to our room would NOT close! We had to leave it open all the time except when we decided to go out when my husband had to force the lock close with all his might. The only window to the room was a full length window which meant that if we were to open it at night, someone could walk right in so we kept it closed all the time. Also the camp bed had to be placed in front of this 'window' and if we wanted it open at any time, we had to move the whole bed. That meant that there was no air and no light in the room except for artificial light. Considering that it was August with 38 degrees Celsius during the day, it was stifling in the room. Luckily, we were given a giant fan. The toilet did not flush properly and we had to do it many times before everything went down. The pool was not clean at all. Not sure if it was dirtied by the group in-house or if it is always like this.

Other than that, the room was actually clean (altho the decor, peeling paint and choice of linen did not give it this impression). The personel were generally friendly and accommodating and tried to solve our problems and make us comfortable but we just couldn't - we felt bad about this because they genuinely wanted to do something and even offered to give us two rooms without any extra charge. I spoke to the manager and he said there was a mistake in the listing and that there were no triple rooms. However, later I saw that the room next to ours had 4 full-sized beds in it and that the rooms upstairs looked closer to what we saw on the internet.

We were so miserable, we cancelled our second night and had to forfeit our deposit. We were disappointed that despite booking so far in advance, they just gave us a second rate room without informing us.

We had breakfast at the hotel the next morning before leaving because the kitchenette wasn't inviting enough for me to dare to prepare our own breakfast. It was cheap. A whole spread of all sorts of things for €5 a person. Of course, the quality was poor but they did their best and there was lots to eat. The thing I thought most funny or perhaps 'unique' was when my husband ordered coffee for breakfast. A pot of hot water was brought to the table and a jar of instant coffee. I was asked into the kitchen to make scrambled eggs for my daughter because they didn't know what it was. Thought it accommodating instead of just saying they can't make it.

I would say that this hotel rates around 2 star. It is a local, village hotel and perhaps, more ideal for locals and travellers who do not expect international standards. The hotel is listed under the Cyprus Agrotourism company. If they want to do this and please international travellers, I think they have to do a little bit more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Themis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Themis House

Address: 5, Platonos str | Strovolos, Nicosia 2040 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Themis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Themis House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.