We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vieja - CLOSED

Casa Vieja
3 Archangelos Michail, Nicosia, Cyprus
357-22-673371
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Spanish atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went there for tapas and drinks. There was live spanish music from 2 guys with a guitar, and it felt like we had dinner somewhere in Spain. Very attentive service, the waiter kindly explained everything we asked him! Do not miss the homemade sangria!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ireally think that the Paella could be better, our almost had no seafood and had only two small shrimp, I was pretty disappointed since it was our first time at the restaurant and I expected something better, but the service was very good and the atmosphere nice.Are you going back?No

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason X, Owner at Casa Vieja, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Brenda C,

Thanks for coming to our restaurant and for taking the time to write this review. We value all customer feedback and your comments will be highlighted and discussed in our next staff meeting. We regret that your visit to Casa Vieja did not meet your expectations. We always try our best to offer the best possible combination of quality, value and service, but occasionally we might slip up. We're happy to see that at least as far as service and atmosphere we got it right. We would urge you to give us another chance to serve you. We would also appreciate if you could let us know next time you are in and there's a jug of sangria waiting for you and your table, on us.

From the team at Casa Vieja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice spanish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

been there only once. The food was very nice. Far from the taste in Spain though. The service was very good. Great atmosphere. Quite high prices but I will go again as I liked it afterall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best tapas and paella in Cyprus!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Best tapas and paella in Cyprus!! Awesome chorizo and cheese croquettes, excellent paella valenciana and their sangria is the perfect accompaniment :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason X, Owner at Casa Vieja, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful comments! We hope to welcome you at our restaurant again soon!

From the Casa Vieja team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average is the best word that describes it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The food was very oily, it was quite tasty but too much oil. The atmosphere was okay. I ate there with a friend and after the meal my friend was sick, puking and stuff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason X, Owner at Casa Vieja, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Maria18x,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always try to improve ourselves, therefore we value all customer feedback, whether positive or negative. You mention that you visited us back in January 2013. We would like to encourage you to try us again, as we have made some changes to our menu, which we feel offers a great selection of quality food at very decent prices. We have also recently renovated our back garden, which is definitely worth a visit!

We were very surprised to see your comments regarding your friend's experience. We would like to assure you that our restaurant maintains a very strict hygiene and cleanliness program. In fact, Casa Vieja is one of the few restaurants in Cyprus to have a full HACCP certificate, which reflects our high standards.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again!

From the team at Casa Vieja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Vieja also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.