We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Governor's Beach, Limassol 3728, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 60 hotels in Limassol
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Despite a great location, a nice bedroom and good food, we were very disappointed to have to endure loud music until 2h30am on a saturday evening. we had come to rest, we left tired after a 4 hours sleep night. It's a shame. When we talked to the manager he would at least let the customers know he said he didn't care because he makes 40.000 EUR out of a wedding celebration. Thank you very much Mr. George.

Room Tip: all roms have a sea view. Maybe avoid rooms just above the main outdoor dining area, you might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Booked to stay based on a recommendation. However, different people have different standards. The good, the bad and the ugly opinion follows.

In spite of negative reviews seen before arriving here is what I think.

Good First.
The food is excellent and you will be hard pressed to find better in the region and the prices are fair. Service is excellent and the staff are all very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.

The rooms have been updated but they are not 5 Star but if you overlook the bits which are not pristine it does represent great value as a place to stay.

This is a very popular eating place for locals especially at weekends and they also swim here as it has one of the best beaches nearby.

You will need a car as this place is somewhat isolated so you can venture out and eat in nearby towns such as Zygi - Try Santa Elena behind Captains Table (15 minutes by car) or Lisa's Bistro, at Grand Resort & St Raphael just outside Limassol (5-10 minutes if using A1 Motorway)

We stayed outside main season so the beach was not overcrowded and on some weekdays we almost had the whole place to ourselves.

The water is warm enough to swim in all year round and not at all deep you would have to go out a very long way before you cannot stand.

The loungers are free and mainly on the hotels own lawn which leads directly on to the beach.

A selection of taverns are adjacent but frankly as the food is good why go elsewhere unless you want a change of location.

Remember what it costs to stay and call the overall shabby chic and just enjoy the place.

The Bad
Well the beach is not the usual golden coloured sand and is more of a muddy colour. Flies are a nuisance.

The Ugly
The views of the Power Station may not be to everybody's liking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great (and cheap!) beachside hotel, large rooms with sea view (just) balconies.
Huge lawn with trees and lots of umbrella leading down to a long and narrow public beach.
The food was just fantastic, and there are a row of at least 6-8 resturants along the beach. The hotel is fairly isolated from any villages, towns shops etc and a car is a must, unless you're just going to lie in the sun.
Be aware tho that the 'public' can use the lawn and facilities of the hotel and on weeknds and public holiday it is mental, additionally as it was the last couple of days of school term we had at least 50 school kids appear in the hotel function suite.
All in all it was a great break.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My wife and I have lived in Cyprus for some years, and had visited the restaurant here several times, mainly because we know and like the owner Sofronis (Melani's son). We were heading to the airport and thought to stay at this hotel to break the journey. The hotel is right on the seashore, and fully in the epicentre of Governors Beach. Sofronis was his usual affable self, our room was on the top floor with an gigantic balcony facing the sea. Although the bed was large and very comfortable, we were concerned about being able to sleep, because the extractor fan from the kitchen blew hot, strong and noisy just 16ft from the slider window to our room. When I tried to enquire of the possibility of another room, a staff member contacted the main office yet informed me that there was not really any other choice. Unfortunately her attitude was less than pleasant. We decided to 'tough it out' although my wife did not sleep at all well. The place itself is a little different from the run of the mill concrete block structures that predominate, and could on first appearance be considered as enchanting. At first we looked at all the good points, yet gradually the lesser points held sway. The place was not very clean, the old fat smell from the kitchen was not nice, the kettle was worn, split around the lid and green with some mould, the beds and pillows had rubber sheets under the cotton covers, the bathroom window frame was rotten along the bottom edge, the grounds were not at all tidy with old doors and ladders and discarded electrical wiring thrown down just anywhere and cats wander around the eating areas at will - but this is Cyprus and some attitudes are hard to change it would seem. All this may not matter to some travellers, yet there was a cockroach on the floor in the morning, albeit a dead one, and when I went to pay the bill the staff member supposedly in charge of admin, was truly less than pleasant. No encouragement to come again, no hope that our stay was enjoyable, just a barely hidden sneer. Sofronis's wife is from German speaking Switzerland and so many of the staff are German (as are many of the guests) I just wish he would teach his staff to show a little of the pleasantness of his own personality. Unfortunately and sadly at 75 Euro per double room, there has to be better than this!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

We were staying in Protaras, and our friends were staying in Limassol so we decided to meet them at Governors Beach for a day. I found this hotel via the internet and was surprised to see the rooms were only £15 cy per person bed and breakfast, so we decided to stay overnight. I am very glad we did!
The room was fabulous, just renovated with everything you could want including fridge, kettle, satellite TV etc and the most beautiful view over the quiet beach and sea. Governors Beach is just a little way out of Limassol, but you could be in a different world - Limassol is big and noisy, with no charm, but Governors Beach is an oasis of peace.
The food at this hotel is FANTASTIC and the portions are huge. the breakfast was amazing, eaten in the outdoor dining area overlooking the sea.
I would like to keep it a secret, but felt they deserved a good review! Hope to return in 2007.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel

Address: Governor's Beach, Limassol 3728, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 hotels in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.