We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor, don't go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Episkopiana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Episkopiana Hotel to your Saves list
Episkopiana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kremmastis Rd | PO Box 51413, Episkopi, Limassol 3505, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very poor, don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I have been to Cyprus many times, on this visit we needed to be near to Erimi for a funeral. The closest hotel of any note seemed to be the 4 star Episkopiana Hotel. Our decision to book into this establishment resulted in the worst experience I've ever encountered while in hotel accommodation abroad. I should have realised our mistake immediately when we saw what met us at reception. There was an aged gentleman dressed in a leather biker jacket (later to me named 'Hostel' man by my wife from the horror movie). To say that English was his second language would only be a guess! He checked us in and told us that we would have to pay fully in advance, we later found out why. His customer service was questionable to say the least. When issuing our big metal key he pointed behind me and said "first floor"! The elevator was certainly an experience I don't wish to repeat. The doors resembled a guillotine and you were lucky to make it to the right floor with all your limbs intact. We passed a tray of food and drink which was left outside a room and was still there the next day. The large metal key had to be inserted into a metal box to operate the very meager lighting in the room we were allocated. The patio doors wouldn't open, the whole room and corridor smelt like somebody had died in them. The twin beds were draped with a very old fashioned covers which didn't look like they'd been cleaned in quite a while. The pillows stank of cigarette smoke and the overall decor was very institutional. The worst part though was the bathroom, the fittings were very old and the bath and shower were extremely mouldy and covered with scale. The towells were very hard from constant laundering, we very quickly decided that we weren't prepared to stay in a dump like this but unfortunately we had arrived too late at night to go elsewhere. We took our lives in our hands and travelled back down the elevator to inform 'hostel man' of our decision. He agreed and told us that we would be able to get a refund when the manager arrived the next morning. We spent the night here, against our better judgement. But when we woke the next day covered in mosquito bites from an infestation in the room I wish we'd slept in the car!! The rest of the hotel is staffed by elderley ladies & gentlemen, we ordered breakfast from one of them even though there was no menu and we received a pitiful plate of bacon and eggs. The tea bags were supplied with a pot of cold water. Wi-fi.......no chance. The pro's are that you will have plenty of room in the car park and no queue at reception. I don't know how The Episkopiana Hotel managed to achieve and maintain a 4 Star rating, I wouldn't give it one star! We eventually got a refund and left for decent accommodation, The Aquarius Beach Hotel in Limassol.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petros G, Manager at Episkopiana Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
In principle I would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel. Our thanks to an existing customer who observe and report to us such comments and on the other our incredibly dismayed when the comments were not so flattering.

I have read very carefully everything you have mentioned and I am confident that you will read and understand the few that I have to mention. I personally consider your room and especially the world of bathroom and toilet. The toilet as the bathroom have been renovated recently. Certainly because of much use can in some twists, angles, creating stone as you have mentioned and this maid, who happened to clean your room not noticed. Primary concern is our cleanliness of the rooms, especially the restrooms. Has received written today my observation and my last warning regarding issues cleanliness of the rooms and toilets specially.

Regarding the sheets and linens generally the rooms you know very well, because it seems man visited several hotels in the past, that washed from external companies and happens sometimes the employee not noticed any dirt or tiny hairs that need more specialized cleaning to dislodge from the sheets.
Temperatures but washable linen and generally all the linen room is so high that it is not possible any germs to survive.
The fact that you found a dirty milk jug in the attribute entirely coincidental here but there is no chance of any germs it washed at very high temperatures close to 70 degrees Celsius.
The previous day we had a great reception out of the pool and unfortunately had many breaks from the participants. The next day intensively cleaned the pool area but as you will understand, and it is very difficult to impossible to locate some tiny pieces of glass.

Not to weary you further I would like to apologize for everything that you have mentioned and assure you that were isolated occasionally unfortunately happened to you during the three-day stay at the hotel.

I invite you anytime to visit us again and I am surely that you will find on your own the correctness of what I've said.

Sincerely
Peter Gregoriou
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
13
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I went expecting the worst but I have to admit for what I payed which was a fraction of other hotels at this time of year it was great. The service was friendly and the food and accommodation was ok. I stayed at another similar priced hotel in Limmasol the month before and it was awful compared to here. If budget counts then you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here from the 11th September for 2 weeks. The hotel was quite and does not offer any entertainment but there are at least 5 different pubs in the villiage, there is a nice family run bar across the road that is really friendly and makes great crepes. If you want to walk a little further there is a bar on the main road about 400 metres away plus other bars in the village square.

The food at the hotel is not too bad but could do with more local dishes, you have a choice on the buffet everynight that includes, salads, soup, pasta, fish, chicken and pork. If there is a function on there is usually a bit more choice, I would say it is best to go down early for your food as it can get a little cold if you leave it too late.
There is a great restaurant about 500metres away that offers local dishes, we had 2 starters, 2 mains, a large salad, pitta breads and 2 beers for 21 euros. which I think is not bad.

When we stayed there were not many other guests so some days we had the pool to ourselves, which was great as we wanted a quite holiday without lots of kids around, this place is more for adults looking for a relaxing time that those who want to party every night. Yes you do get weddings and parties but it is a hotel afterall. You sometimes get football teams stopping over for a night when they are playing in the area but the ones that stopped when we were there were no trouble at all.

We hired a car for 3 days which was about 150 euros inc petrol, this was much cheaper than going on trips with the travel company. You are within easy reach of Pafos, Limasol and the Troodos Mountains and driving is easy as they are on the same side of the road as the UK.
You will be lucky to see a rep if you travel with Olympic as they think it is more "convienent" for Us?? to phone them if we want them.

The beach is about 4k away and I would not advise the walk on a hot day, the bus does drop you down to the beach and will pick you up later, just make sure you all want to come back at the same time as they only pick up once. Ladys mile beach is nice but you will need to go by car.

If you want a party holiday with lots of noise and clubs DO NOT GO HERE, but if you want somewhere to relax and chill this is the type of place that would suit you, as long as you do not mind the occasional football team or wedding.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

first impression very nice ,staff frienly and quite helpful but shuttle bus to beach doesnt run often enough if we missed it wehad to stay at hotel or get a bus to limassol.the first two days in the restaurant were ok as quite a few so it was as adverised `buffet meals` but from third day we had to choose from a menu the service was like faulty towers no one could understand english or didnt want to we had to walk half an hour to find a pub as they only had bottled bear and no spirits.luckily we made friends with two sisters so the four of us walked together to the pub.I wouldnt recommend the hotel as it is too far from anywhere a car is definately needed. it was supposed to have been a short walk to the beach but i think it would have taken us about two or three hours to walk there. it is one we will always remember only because of the friends we made

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

having just returned from a holiday at the episkopiana Hotel i feel i have to write about my experience. Food was deplorable, room needed updating, bath and basin falling apart. towels very hard from constant laundering. Football team staying there hogging the pool area , been told Russian footballers train there in the Autumn, more suited for that customer than your average holidaymaker.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

There have been a lot of bad reviews regarding the Episkopiana Hotel, but it wasn't that bad at all.
We did go during May and it was very, very quiet. In fact the first 3 days we were the only guests. It was nice to be spoilt but seemed at times that it was too quiet. By the end of the 2 weeks the hotel was still quiet with a family arriving soon after us and they have been coming for the last 4 years.
We found the hotel clean, our room which overlooked the pool, was kept clean, we had clean towels every day, the beds were changed often.
Some of the decor maybe could be updated a little, but decor is to ones own taste.
The floors in the rooms and corridors were of marble (not carpet) and therefore easy to keep clean, which it was.
The little staff they had were helpful and friendly, especially Simona, from Lithuania, the receptionist. She was especially a very nice and helpful person.
If there has to be any faults then the fact that when the hotel had a wedding laid on the hotel (and that didn'nt bother us) didn't apologise for the lateness of the hour when it finished. We had to complain about the noise, especially as we didn't get to sleep until 2.45 in the morning. I think an apology was in order and we didn't get one.
Also, because we were so few, we were served our meals from the a la carte menu and not buffet style. So cannot comment on that. But what we had was too much and there was a lot of waste. Chips with everything. Perhaps their menus need updating every week and needs to have more Cypiot meals not just catering for the English. We may have been a little at fault by not asking for alternatives. The food was cooked very nicely and what we did have was enjoyable (even if we ate too much).
Drinks are expensive in the hotel, buy at the supermarket and drink in the room. Or go to a taverna in the evening and drink there.
On the whole although very quiet (out of there season) very nice place to stay, but not really for children. Ideal for couples who want peace and quiet. Car a must.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is an absolute disaster, unfriendly staff, our rooms haven't been cleaned for two days, smelly carpets on the corridors with plenty of trays with food left overs, elevator not working the receptionist told us to take it in our own risk, bad quality of breakfast, no way to print, you have to pay 25 euros per week for internet access in your room, not hot water just a little warm,too far away from limassol you pay 30 euros taxi

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Episkopiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episkopiana Hotel

Address: Kremmastis Rd | PO Box 51413, Episkopi, Limassol 3505, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Episkopiana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Episkopiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episkopiana Hotel Limassol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Episkopiana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.