We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you paid for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sylva Hotel

Sylva Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sylva Hotel to your Saves list
Sylva Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Griva Digeni Street 124, Limassol 3101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You get what you paid for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It has been two years since me and my friend were a customers in this hotel.
Back then we stayed there for 2 months. It costed as 550 euros a month.Why we stayed there? because it was safe place.we had acces to the kitchen which is placed on the 1st. floor opposite to lift. also the hotel is placed next door to great local bakary and a super market, not forget to mention that there is a taxi depot just opposite to the hotel. In secret I can tell you that there is an easy acces to the roof so you can enjoy nice landskape. The swimming pool looks nice from the roof,also water is clean and it is deep.Due our long stay we had a chance to see for ourselves how a day in this hotel looks like. We got to know the staff better and it turned out that the owner is an old Polish grumpy and greedy guy. he used to be more manish but I think it is because of age. The owner pays the staff about 250 euros a month thats like 10 euros a day for a day or night shift. The handy man is called Roman if I remember correctly and avoid him as much as you can.Just another old grumpy guy. If you skip the owner and open ur self to the receptionist u will meet Shiva [ Indian guy ] and the young boy from Latvia - he is a boxer and his lives in Cyprus with his family.Also there are some people who are being living there for years - very nice people , some of them are Cypriots some not. Forgot to mention another 2 things: if you follow the road up and turn righ and follow the road for 20 mins walk you will find Carrefour hipermarket and a casino. Also there is a free wi fi but only on the 1st and ground floor. Cheap place not worth to spend a penny for food served by them but located very very well. Been there seen this :) All the best and familiarise ur self with those on reception - good people.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

i paid like 42 euros for double bed, a bit expensive if you consider that was not clean enough but still had an aircondition inside and a tv which was not working. anw is in a great area in limassol near see and almost in city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ok if you just want a bed to sleap in for the night in a central location in Limassol then the Sylva is perfect for you, I paud 30 euros per night for a double room, yes the furniture is like somethig out of a 1970's blue movie but apart from that it does the job ! i would recommend this establishment purely based on value for money .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

After reading some v neg reviews, it was with apprehension that I booked the Sylva.
I have stayed one night and here for 3 more.
Shiva and Sam on reception and breakfast - happy helpful friendly.
had 15 min chat about world economy and old Cyprus with gent who turned out to be the owner - normal approachable sound fellow.
solo in double room on 5th floor for 37 euros p.n.
large, every basic thing you could need (except kettle). clean. efficient air con.
breakfast - cheap cheese and processed meat but lovely fresh tomatoes and peppers. tea (I asked for sliced lemon too - no prob.). toast and jam. Sam asked did I want more and happily did more toast.
old-fashioned and lacks pzazz but suits me fine and at the price I am more than happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I'd like to clear up a few points on The Sylva.
I stayed there for 2 nights on 11 and 12 May 20012 with my friend.I found the three staff who dealt with me(a male Sri Lankan and an Indian receptionist and a Russian cook/waitress)friendly and helpful.However there was a noticeable lack of management presence.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and all the facilitıes worked.After all it's only a 2 star hotel and we got what we expected for what we paid ie.£23 a night each in a double room.
The location was ideally close to sea front and town centre
.However it's location as described on the map as being close to The Municipal Zoo was extremely inaccurate as the actual part of the road it was situated on was 2 kilometers away.It's an extremely long confusing road as it suddenly turns right without indication.

Overall we found it very satisfactory and offer this comment in contrast to the negative comments already made on this site.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quitest and overlook garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

dimly lit and not the cleanest place i've been but the price was the lowest i could find. the room was good size, the bathroom was ok so really what do you want for 30 euro per night?
you have a 24 hour shop right next to it, it's fairly central and not far from the beach either.
obviously it could do much better with more cleaning and brighter lights but then it wouldn't be so cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Before going to Limassol make sure u had made a booking in a decent hotel coz u may end up like us...forced to stay in a very sad and dirty hotel with only one staff to attend your needs. also the owners son from the reception is not really that helpful and doesnt speak english well. the room got some funny smell and the toilet keeps leaking so i was disturbed overnight.

Room Tip: Try to get a better hotel than staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sylva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylva Hotel

Address: Griva Digeni Street 124, Limassol 3101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sylva Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sylva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.