We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidonia Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Poseidonia Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amathus Area | B1, Limassol 3502, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“perfect location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A welcoming place perfect for your meditarrean getaway. Love the place but the room is slighly needing a retouch as its been kind of dull and sad in appearance though its clean everyday. The restaurant is really good serving lots of option daily from cold cuts to hot meal so much to choose from. Mind you they are all in buffet style eat all you can, only water isnt included so you need to purchased your drinks everytime you go for your meal . Buffet breakfast is served at the lower ground floor with all variety of healthy food perfect after your skin dipping at the hotel swimming pool. The hotel is just a few steps from the beach and we have enjoyed our stay. I miss the early moring walk along the sea side and having an early morning dip with the azure waters of Limassol beach. So glorious watching the sunshine to sunset...what a perfect place to be.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back perfect location overlooking the meditarrean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    37
    18
    24
See reviews for
64
67
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a week All Inclusive. My first visit to Cyprus and would definitely stay at this hotel again but not necessarily on my next visit as I would like to try Paphos next time. We had a good deal through Teletext and the holiday was certainly worth the money for the time of year.

The Poseidonia Beach (probably equivalent to our 3*) is in a good location with the main road at the front and the beach at the back. Definitely worth spending a little extra to get a sea view (apparently the road side is very noisey) although it can take a while getting used to the sound of the sea (even at the 5th floor level). Our sea view room was of a good size with twin beds and 2 chairs/coffee table plus dressing table. Plenty of wardrobe space, asked for extra hangers which we received the next day plus a bath plug. Bathroom of a good size and quality. A few shower gels/shampoo/soap supplied. Shower very good and plenty of very hot water. Had to pay extra for the hairdryer. There are sockets but the room literature asks that your own appliances are not used re safety. The beds were comfortable although quite hard and I've had worst pillows. The room was tidied and new towels put in daily.

The balcony (with 2 plastic chairs and a table) was of a good size and useful when the westerly wind was too cold to sit out in. I used the hotel gym which was small but had enough equipment for a quick work-out. The swimming pool is excellent and was covered during winter so with some sun outside it was definitely useable although cold when first getting into it. As the season gets busier then more activities will be organised and the timetable looks full for the week. There is a sunbed area around the pool on the terrace and the rest is amongst the grass/garden area. The trees will be a welcome shade in the summer. There is a very long promenade which is heavily used by walkers/joggers early morning/late afternoon then strollers during the day. Limmosol is stretched over many miles along the sea and not very deep inland. The Limmosol beaches are excellent with a lot of sand and a small amount of shingle at the water's edge. Some areas have rocky areas that break up the beaches infrequently. The sea is lovely and although cold at first I did manage to join many others and go for a swim (2nd March) which was a bonus.

Breakfast and Lunch were buffet style served in a garden restaurant. Both meals had plenty of choice, both hot and cold food. Dinner was served in a different, large room again buffet style and plenty of choice. Each night was of a different theme (Greek, Italian, etc) and some nights were better than others but all was very nice. At 7.45pm we missed out on some lasagne and they didn't make another tray of it so that was disappointing. Most people went in from 7.00 to 8.00 and you certainly wouldn't want to leave it much later to get the full choice. There was always plenty of salad choices (mainly the same each day) and the hot food wasn't necessarily very hot but it was cooked well and tasted OK. You would probably get a little tired of it all towards the end of 2 weeks. The food was not of our 4* standard but not worthy of any complaints - you get what you pay for.

All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and very pleasant. There is a nice bar and all the AI drinks were better than we've had in other countries (AI). The usual soft drinks, beer, wine, spirits and 4 cocktails were included. There is wifi but it costs 4.5euro for 30mins so quite expensive. There are plenty of bars/cafes in Limmosol with free wifi. The two lifts were fast and efficient.

The walk into Central Limmosol takes over an hour along the main road so the local bus (any trip for 1euro) was definitely worth using. You can get a day ticket for 3euro and jump on/off at any time. The end of the line goes to a large shopping mall with all the usual eateries/M&S/fashion shops. The bus station is at the main port and from here we got the bus to Paphos (5euro return) which took approx 45minutes (at Paphos you then have to get another bus (816) down to Phaphos harbour). A visit to the Old Town in Limmosol is worth doing with lots of different shops to browse. Currently a lot of building work is happening along the front to create a long promenade to the Old Port - I think this will be ready during this year and well vastly improve the centre of Limmosol.

Room Tip: Sea view, higher the better (6 floors in total)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Poseidonia Beach Hotel. We arrived during the evening and were welcomed warmly. We had booked a seaview room which was on the 5th floor. The room was adequate and fairly comfortable. We asked for more coat hangers which were bought the next day as was a bath plug which we also requested. It was lovely to hear the sound of the sea and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony which was sheltered from the cool westerly wind which was blowing a few days.

The food was fairly good, it was what was expected, certainly not 5* but there was something for all tastes....however it could have been kept a little hotter. There were themed evenings, we were disappointed on the Italian evening that only one tray of lasagne had been prepared which was sadly depleted by the time we arrived at 7.30pm....food was not replaced as readily as I've seen in other hotels.

We stayed All Inclusive and felt we had value for money. The drinks were fine and there was a choice of cocktails. The animation girl tried her best but it was a very quiet time of year and not enough people to take part in any events. Evenings were very low key, there was some entertainment but not many guests attended or joined in really.

We found the location of the hotel good to get out and about around the area. The buses run regularly into Limassol and from the bus station on the harbour we caught another bus to Paphos. The bus service was cheap, easy and reliable. It was also safe to walk around.

My only complaint was the internet....I paid 4 euro 50 for half an hour on the internet but only really had 10 minutes as the computer froze for the rest of the time. I was told it was not the hotel's fault if the internet was slow, which I appreciated, but there was no offer to give me an extra few minutes....which was disappointing. I did hear other complaints about the cost of the wifi and the internet.

All in all though, it was a lovely holiday, we had great weather for the time of year and I would consider returning to the hotel

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room or you will hear traffic all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at Posiedonia in Nov 2012, forgot to take our booking form ! No problem, staff helpful & polite ! My father had a fall & they were great ! Rooms a little dated but clean & cleaned daily. Book a sea view as Mountain view is at rear & overlooks a noisy road, + sea view is great & you can sleep listening to the waves [ so relaxing !] Food is buffet & can get a little cool / dry if you're not on the ball, but we never struggled to have a good meal with plenty of choice & worked out the best times to dine. Great position for sea, beach, restaurants, bars etc but not noisy [on sea view] + a great beach path for miles of walking in front of hotel. Good value for money, we're there again in April !! Cant wait !

Room Tip: Book sea view, noisy at the rear [mountain view]
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is as honest a review as I can give on the Poseidonia Beach Hotel. Having read all the Tripadvisor views before booking, some were good and some were bad. We have just returned from 10 days in Cyprus at the Poseidonia. I am ex-Royal Air Force having spent 3 years living in Limassol. we have been back 16 times in the last 20 years.
The hotel is rated 4 star, it is definitely not, except for it's position on the beach. We paid extra (£38) for a 'Seaview' room, well worth it, we were up on the 4th floor, giving us uninterrupted views of the sea, both East and West.

The Breakfast was superb, if you could not find something in what was on offer, then there is something wrong with you. The evening meals were a bit boring, but most hotels in Cyprus are the same. Seating in the lounge area was a bit dated, but they had been good in their day. The glass display above the bar could have done with a clean, it was all dusty.

The room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was immaculate. Tea and Coffee was NOT available in the rooms, we took our own and a kettle from Morrison's (£5). Entertainment was provided in the evening, nothing special, but it was provided. There was a TV in the room (with all lines on it), however it was watchable, the BBC world service. We found the staff at the hotel very pleasant and most helpful.

So to conclude, if you want 5* facilities and quality, then you had better book into the "Amathus Beach Hotel" or the "Four Seasons Hotel". If you want the service, then you will pay for it, those hotels are TWICE the price, plus you will pay £10 for a bottle of coke and £5.00 for a small beer. The views are the identical, the Poseidonia Hotel is great value for the price charged, you won't be disappointed. I am classed by my friends as a 'Perfectionist', and I have to say I would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: A "Seaview" room is a MUST, I'm surprised they let any rooms on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A tired, tatty hotel that is definitely past its best. Shame really as the location is actually very nice indeed but unfortunately, the hotel is dated and not the cleanest. Sure all the bits that can be seen are clean but lie in the bath and you can certainly see were the cleaners haven't bothered cleaning yet the bathrooms have very recently been refurbished to a good quality.

Be warned, the hotel has cut corners by charging for just about as much as they can such as wifi, the spa, jacuzzi etc. and the prices are not cheap. The pool was covered because it's winter yet it is only heated to 22 degrees! Far too cold for me.

We got a cheap weekend deal on this hotel so no big complaints but had we paid out full price, I would not have been happy. First thing I noticed about our twin bedded room is that there were stains on the walls next to the bed!! Unpacking, I noticed only 8 cheap metal coat hangers were available. There was no hotel information in our room or bible (not that we're religious but this is the usual for all hotels) When we asked at reception for some hotel information booklets, they said they didn't do this so we explained that they did because our friends have some in their room? We had no idea what was available at the hotel or what times or if payment was needed.

There was no plug in the bath, another oversight....erm.....no, our friends plugs were all missing too so obviously it was the hotel scrimping by stopping guests from using the bath and making them use the shower. No tea making facilities which seems common in Cyprus so we took our own. The room was cold so we eventually managed to work out how to adjust the thermostate but I decided to put a blanket on the thin bedlinen but the blankets were covered in stains!

We had a connecting door in the room which worried me when the Russian guests kept trying to open it. Tried to have a siesta in the afternoon but the hotel was too noisey with cleaners and as we were overlooking the road, motorbike exhausts kept me awake which is only to be expected during the day so my advice would be if you're a siesta type person, pick a sea view room.

Breakfast on the first morning was a little limited yet on the second morning, there appearted to a lot more choice and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Dinner, on the other hand, was not the best. Buffet self service yet despite dinner being served till 10pm, when we arrived at 8pm the first night, some of the trays were empty and remained so. 2nd night, the choice was slightly better as it was International Cuisine night yet again at 8.30pm some trays were empty and remained so again. I decided to start with soup which was brown tomato....awful. The food was always greasy and luke warm. However, the puddings and cakes were quite nice so no complaints there.

In all, I would say that the hotel is cutting corners to save money but at their loss because we would not go back and will book for somewhere else when we next visit Limassol which is not far from where we live.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hi,
We have just returned from a weeks stay hb at the poseidonia which was ok.
There are lots of positives, on the beach, car parking, helpful and pleasant staff but and it's a huge but the food was never hot or even warm. The meals could have been nice but they never were.
I'm not a fussy eater and don't particularly enjoy boiling hot drinks/food but I do expect meals to be warm.
This practise which appeared to be a conscious decision is disappointing and letting the hotel and Cyprotel group down. The metal trays were carried out to be placed in the buffet island using their bare hands, no gloves/towels.

Room Tip: Sea view are worth every penny of the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poseidonia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidonia Beach Hotel

Address: Amathus Area | B1, Limassol 3502, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Poseidonia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is now under new management as it is now being run by its Owners. It is an upscale hotel located in a prime location in Limassol Bay, between the areas of Yermasoyia and Amathus. The hotel is set amidst stunning landscaped gardens which offer an idyllic retreat for a relaxing getaway in Cyprus and offers its guests have the choice of having Bed & Breakfast, Half Board or All Inclusive. Most importantly, the Poseidonia Beach Hotel tells the story of the legacy of Poseidon - the God of the Sea - it is imbedded in every room, hallway and restaurant. The new Management of the hotel cares about its guests stories' as much as its own and aims to create an experience in which both stories are combined and transformed into lasting memories.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Poseidonia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidonia Beach
Poseidonia Beach Limassol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidonia Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.