We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Amathus Avenue, Limassol 4060, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 60 hotels in Limassol
WALES
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I attended this hotel in July 2008 along with my boyfriend for a one-week stay.....I now wish we had booked two weeks! (Sorry for the late review!). One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. This should be five star, the hotel is stunning and I would love to go here again.

Location/Hotel:
This hotel is situated in Amathus with beautiful scenery and is quiet but not too secluded if you want a relaxing hoilday destination. You can walk to the local restaurants which is around a 10minute walk alongside the road (there was no pavement when we visited but that may have changed), alternatively you can take a short taxi ride. There are pleanty of restaurants to choose from including Cypriot restaurants (trying a meze (Greek/Cypriot version of tapas) is a must!) or you can try the Japanese; Russian;Italian; fish or brasserie restaurants. There are also a few bars/pubs around the area too.

There is also a bus stop on the main road opposite the hotel (which is accessed via the underpass) where you can take a bus/taxi to the town of Limassol (around 15-20minutes on the bus). Due to Cyprus having a large British base, there are a large number of shops which are British Debenhams, Topshop, Marks&Spencer etc) which we didn't go to as we went away to get away from the UK.

The views are gorgeous, the farm land to the rear of the hotel and the amazing blue sea views. The hotel is next to a main road but you can't hear or see the road from hotel. The hotel is also surrounded by holiday villas/apartments which do not look out of place and are fitting with the local landscape.

Although Limassol town is close, if you want to discover the island it would definately be a good idea to hire a car and drive around the sites and local history of the island or equally you can just relax in the hotel next to the pool in the basking heat with a cocktail.

The great thing about this hotel that it's a Thomsons Gold hotel which means that it is catered for couples and they do not take bookings for under 16's which means no children at the hotel - therefore it is peaceful! The hotel is probably more expensive
than your usual hotel but you really do get what you pay for, it was well worth paying that little bit more, there is a calmand relaxed atmosphere with mainly British guests. We are in our mid 20's and we did find that the majority of the guests were over 50, but we didn't mind that as this is not the kind of place you go if you like your clubbing/pubs, this is a more relaxed and luxurious holiday where you just lie back and just read/swim.

The Thomsons holiday Reps were very friendly and helpful and the welcome meeting was very informative. There is night-time entertainment (which wasn't really to our taste due to our age, but we didn't mind as we just went for walks and sipped wine).

Swimming Pools:
There are two outdoor swimming pools at the hotel. One is a lap pool for those who want to serious laps. There is also another pool for a dip to cool down, this pool has differing depths or you can lounge around in the poolside jacuzzi. There is also a
poolside bar with friendly staff where you can order soft drinks/cocktails/beers/ice-creams.

Things to do:
I would recommend the wine tasting class which is run once a week by the poolside by the entertainment staff. Here you get to taste the local wines (white, red and rose) and get a first hand class on how to recognise good quality wines and how to appreciate wines. There is also a cocktails tasting event once a week daytime too.

There is the opportunity to take lovely walks along the beach in either direction or swim in the sea or equally you can relax and watch the world go by on the verander in the outdoor beach bar with a cool drink and panoramic views of the coast and countryside.

If you're young at heart you can visit the local water park in Limassol with its lazy river and tall water slides suitable for all ages which was a great day.

Once a week the hotel hold a gala evening which I highly recommend. The food was amazing and all guests sit at large tables of 8-10 at the poolside and enjoy the wine;champagne and gorgeous food and canapes and company. There was a photographer who took professional photos of everyone which you could purchase at the end of the night. It is recommended that you dress smartly for this occassion (a dress;skirt; smart trousers and smart top/shirt and shoes - taking into consideration that it is still very warm in the evenings so you do not have to wear a full suit/tie).


Hotel Food:
I have no bad comments to say about the food and its service in the hotel - there is a large choice to cater for all tastes (salads, soup, vegetarian, hot meals, cold meals, buffet, breads, amazing desserts, fish+seafood, meat etc) and you can eat
as much or as little as you like. The restaurant is dressed immaculately like a five star hotel and the waiting staff are so friendly and will do anything to help you (Dean - a British waiter was especially accommodating). All the staff are English
speaking as well as other languages and are all to pleased to help out. I know you're paying for the hotel, but if you take a short walk down the road...which a lot of peopple didn't bother doing then you will find a host of lovely restaurants (discussed later) so you don't get bored of constant hotel food. Going on holiday is about embrassing traditional foods and getting to know the locals.

There is a great cocktail bar on the verander in the hotel where the views were amazing and the cocktail staff were so friendly.The cocktails were the best I've ever tasted and such a good variety. When we booked the hotel we booked Half-board but when
we arrived at the hotel we were given the option to upgrade to All Inclusive for £80 each (for one week). By the time we hadordered a few Coke's, juices and waters (during the day by the poolside) and one bottle of wine for dinner the money started to add up so it made more sense and was cheaper to upgrade to All Inclusive than to stay half-board. We are not big drinkers butthis is worth doing as you haven't got the niggling issue of how much you owe at the end of the holiday and you can drink what you like without worrying about the price. We found that Europe was more expensive than any other area we've been and since the recession it would make more financial sense as the price of drinks/food etc have gone up in europe.


Rooms:
I found the bedroom to be more than adequate for whaqt we needed. Before booking we had the choice to choose a sea-view which we did and I'm glad we did this as the rooms on the other side of the hotel have no view (aprat from gardens). This was well worth the extra few pounds to pay. We didn't book one but there were superior rooms which had hot tubs on the sea-facing balconies which we would have booked if there were any left - they sell out quickly, a bit of luxury. The bed in our room was very comfortable and the room also provided a safety deposit box (locally charged), Air conditioning, balcony, nice bathroom.

If you have a late flight the management will provide you with a bedroom to freshen up/change before your departure when asked which we found very useful as we had a nightime flight.


Summary:
All in all we both loved this hotel and this should definately be upgraded to a five star hotel with its swirling stair-case and chandaliers, comfy sofas on the terrace and lobby, the amazing views from the rooms and hotel, the food, the service, everything.
The staff at this hotel are so friendly that we couldn't believe it (from the cleaners; porters; managers; waiting staff; cocktail waitresses etc).

I do not have one bad thing to say about this hotel and this place is a must and a hidden gem which I have recommended to everyone and I would love to go back here one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    289
    95
    16
    17
See reviews for
64
881
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My title explains all really. Yes this is a Thomson Gold Hotel, so yes you should expect a more older range of guests at the Atantica Bay Hotel but this hotel also deals with weddings and wedding partys will have a range of different ages so all guests must understand that when a party of 18 people in ages from 17 to 80 year olds will be quite loud! The first night we arrived here we was told off for making too much noise on the outside seating area at 5 past 12 at night even though the bar stays open till 12am! thoughout our stay we was told off as we recieved complaints from the older guests. this hotel will be ideal for Thomson Gold lovers but should stop dealing with weddings as these two groups will clash. Hotel lovely no complaints what so ever, staff excellent!!! One small point nothing to do outside hotel quite far from any shops, bars etc. All Inclusive a must as drinks very, very expensive about 7euros per drink!!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticaBayHotel, Atlantica Bay Management at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2009
Thank you for your comments. As a Thomson Gold hotel, we are well known as a relaxing hotel with a quiet atmosphere, upgraded entertainment and geared to adults. We are also proud to be a popular hotel for Wedding in Paradise parties, which we host successfully, while maintaining high standards for all of our guests. Once again thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

just returned from atlantica bay, hotel first class, the staff are all very friendly , quite a few english staff working here. Because we went out of season several of the facilities were not available to us, (beach bar, pool bar etc.) The beds and pillows are very hard , but if you ask at reception they will try to provide you with softer ones.
The food was slightly repetative, salad bar very poor. You must opt for the al a carte on your stay the food and service was excellent, this is included once with your holiday. Pool towels are provided, so this saves on lugagge. If you havent already booked take the all inclusive package from thomson, because once you get to the hotel its more expensive, 17 euros a day each for drinks or 23 euros for extra snacks and drinks. Well worth it just for the drinks as the hotel prices are very expensive £8. for a vodka and coke.
Nice walkway all along the beachfront , but be warned there is nothing else there to do .
Entertainment staff Carl & Laura made our holiday as the weather was so bad (only 2 days sunshine in a week) so we joined in all the fun, brilliant couple. I would advise anyone under the age of 50 to give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Atlantica Bay. The hotel is excellent, and we cannot fault the staff and their customer service. Brits could learn a lot from their example - take note! If you have any problems go and see Maria the Public Relations Manager - she is excellent, passionate about the hotel and about you having a wonderful holiday. She will address any problems immediately and ensure that you are well looked after. The hotel itself is stunning and, contrary to other reviews we did not see any examples of the hotel being "tired." We upgraded to a sea view room which had breathtaking views of the sea and the pool area - which is beautiful and well worth the little extra as is upgrading to the all inclusive package as drinks are expensive - this, as other reviews have said is definitely the best option.

The hotel is in a quiet location but then from our experience good quality hotels often are. Limassol is accessible by the no. 30 bus which stops just outside the hotel and is a pleasant ride along the sea front. The weather wasn't great but then you can't always expect settled weather unless travelling further afield - especially in March!

The cleanliness of the hotel is excellent. The standard of maid service second to none, as is the service of bar staff and waiters, which brings us to the food!

The Restaurant itself is very elegant with classy surroundings, excellent service and attentive staff. The food that is on offer is in itself well presented, of a good quality, hot and constantly replenished. However, having worked for Thomson for over 10 years as, among other things a Thomson Gold Team Leader, the food in the Atlantica Bay is in no way Gold Standard. True, there is a carvery every evening with a different roast, which is one of the criteria for a Gold Hotel Menu, but why stuff chicken with prunes or with spinach and riccotta cheese? This is hardly the staple diet of any British Sunday table. There were far too many dishes swimming in sauces which tasted the same - have they not heard of a good steak or of preparing the dishes without the sauce - leaving the sauce on the side to be added if desired? Don't get me wrong I have lived and worked overseas for 20 years and would wake up in a cold sweat if hotels of this quality served up egg and chips - if you want that sort of diet - stay at home and go to Blackpool. However a Gold Hotel should give guests options and while there was a varied choice in each menu - there were few options.

In spite of this small complaint - we would still highly recommend the hotel and would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticaBayHotel, MANAGEMENT at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2009
Good day. Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As an award winning Gold Hotel for the last 10 years we take pride in all of our services especially our food. We have managed to maintain high standards proven by the excellent comments and scores we receive from our guests. Our menu is international in order to cater to all of our guests of all nationalities. For this reason we have varied dishes for all tastes from International to local cuisine such as grilled, stuffed, with sauces and carvery and all types of meat, fish etc to satisfy all of our valued guests. We thank you once again for your comments and hope to host you once again in one of our hotels.

Kind regards,
Atlantica Bay Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We travelled to the Atlantica Bay in a party of 4 in the hope of some spring sunshine. We were disappointed as we had several days of rain and even on dry days it was so windy that it felt positively cold, especially out by the lovely swimming pool which we were sad not to have been able to enjoy! Other people we spoke to did say it was uncharacteristically cold for March. The hotel is generally clean and well-presented with a light spacious reception area and bar. We upgraded to a superior sea-view room which was worth the money with fruit, mineral water and a bottle of wine on our arrival, although I have to say I have never slept on such an uncomfortable bed in my life! This was to the extent that it disturbed our sleep! Rooms were clean, although I did see the colour of the water the maid was cleaning the floor with which was slightly alarming! Restaurant was buffet style which is not really our thing - we tend to favour smaller hotels with a la carte dining - but the food was generally good. We had a voucher to eat in the a la carte restaurant which was fantastic - food and service were wonderful and this opportunity is highly recommended. Drinks are expensive, but so are the drinks and all-inclusive packages offered by the hotel - you would need to pack away some food and drinks to make these worthwhile. Location remote, as we already knew, so they have a captive audience in terms of drinks etc.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

From the moment you walk into the Atlantica Bay Hotel the staff are outstanding (so friendly and welcoming). We had the all inclusive package and the staff constantly checked if you required another drink in the lobby and the restaurant, leaving you feeling really cared for. The rooms' furniture was a little tired as were the sunloungers, the pool bar wasn't open (out of season) and a few pieces of crockery had chips and the table cloth a huge coffee spill for our breakfast room service - these are small things which really just go to show that we are needing to pick for faults. We had a superior room with a sea view which was great - the balcony was very private and it was peaceful in the room. This is a relatively quiet hotel and is a little out of the way. We enjoyed some of the evening entertainment - blues, soul singers etc some very talented artists and some less so. The hotel guests were mostly older than us and although this is not what we are used to, we enjoyed the relaxed comfortable atmosphere this provided. Everyone was friendly and as it is mostly couples if you want to be left alone you will be. I would recommend getting the drinks or all inclusive packages when you arrive at the resort as you can then purchase it for just a few days. The buffets were great with plenty of variety for each meal. We particularly enjoyed the snack menu which you could have out of buffet times during the afternoon and eat outside near to the pool. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider returning ( just like so many people we met - some have being going here for over 12 years!)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

OK, so this hotel is a little on the tired side but what it lacks in lush surroundings, it makes up for in everything else. I would definitely suggest an upgrade to all inclusive as talking to everyone you get a much better deal.

Book a sea view room as they are building a complex of new houses on the mountain side of the hotel and the building starts at 7am and is extremely noisy!

If you like to get into town at night, hire a car. You can take the No.30 bus into Limasol for €1.50 each way but it's a good 20 minute ride and busses stop running at 18.30. You will have to haggle with taxi drivers. There is a really lovely seafront promenade walk all the way if you like a hike or just to take a stroll on.

Don't expect much from the gym, the equipment definitely needs upgrading...if it works at all!

And if you happen to have a breezy week as we did - then be prepared not to find anywhere out of the wind as there are no sheltered areas outside and the battering can be relentless.

OK, so that's the negatives out of the way. Positives are that if you are after a relaxing, do nothing holiday, and can get a good deal at this resort, then go for it. The hotel staff are lovely. Everyone works so hard to make your stay enjoyable. The food and restaurant was fantasic. if anyone moans there is not enough choice each meal then I can only assume they are exceptionally fussy eaters! Try and arrive for Gala Night, on a Tuesday evening and see the effort they go to.

We were lucky enough to have Sarah and Liam as our Entertainment Hosts for the week and whilst we didn't join in with anything (our choice), the laughter was evident and Sarah was an absolute natural - such a gem. Jinx provide the evening entertainment and Kelly is adorable, sweet and very funny. There is something different each night - it's a bit like Britains Got Talent at times but you have to take it light heartedly as intended.

Room facilities are OK. Hairdryer in room, fridge and safe (extra charge) and tea /coffee making if on all inclusive. Fresh towels daily, pool towel and toiletries in bathroom daily.

Little pleasures like home baked biscuits with each cup of coffee ordered and nibbles served with cocktails in the evenings just made all the difference.

Hotel pool was too cold to use but looked lovely as were the gardens that we just coming into bloom. Oh and I can't not mention the resident cat. Such a cute little thing, living off scraps but welcomed by all the visitors and not a nuisence at all.

Get a good deal, and give it a go. Nothing to lose.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Address: Amathus Avenue, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#9 Family Hotel in Limassol
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantica Bay Hotel to your Saves list