We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumped by Thomson” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Miramare Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantica Miramare Beach to your Saves list
Atlantica Miramare Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Amerikanas St., Limassol 4060, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Beverley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dumped by Thomson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A week before departure to the Atlantica Bay hotel we were told that the Hotel was closing and we could have an upgrade to the Miramare. The Miramare turned out to to be a 3Star quality not a 5T as indicated by Thomson. This hotel is not a patch on the quality of the Atlantica Bay and it is a bit rough if you venture out to the surrounding streets and alleyways. Alun/Steve, Janis (Peter) and Arnie were brilliant in the bar. Andrea was first class plus, plus, plus she was brilliant and without these staff the holiday would have been an absolute catastrophe. She called my partner crazy Liz and I hope she is keeping up the keep fit as demonstrated. I can see where the problem with another review was with the Turkey and Tinsel club they were arriving as we left and we could see that there would be problems there. Smoking in the only bar was quite oppressive and became even more so when someone decided to chain smoke cigars all and every evening, there is smoking and there is smoking and this was excessive and ignorant. The atmosphere was a bit old and drab with the oldies looking down on the laughter of those having fun. We certainly made a good time with those who were making the best of a bad job and met some very nice people. All I would say is don't trust Thomson to pick your accommodation for you they dumped us here but like anything else you have to make the best of it. I have submitted a review to Thomson but they have not put it on their web site I wonder Why!!! We were looking forward to the Magician but he never turned up!!! To sum up we had fun on our 10day stay it was due to the people not to the hotel or Thomson.

Room Tip: The Annex where we were is OK but you have to go outside to get to the Main Block which could be unc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    162
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
106
288
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked to stay at the Atlantica Bay Hotel (as did the majority of guests we spoke to during our stay) yet 10 days before departure we were told the Atlantica Bay was closing and that we were being 'upgraded' to this hotel ....certainly NOT a 5T grade hotel, more like 3+ which was the Atlantica chains decision not Thomson (we are told) Check in was slow to say the least and the hotel is ideal this time of year for the over 70's. We feel like we have been treated like 2nd class guests in favour of the 'Turkey & tinsel club' who are ex-pats on their Xmas doo for 3 nights and who received preferential treatment over us mere 'holiday makers' who paid a damn sight more to be here than they did. Not only were they rude at the bar to the overworked staff barking their drink orders, over us waiting patiently, they also got better treatment at lunch with their wine and water on the table whilst we had to order per glass (all inclusive ... Hmmmm?) we would not come here out of season as there is nothing to do and everything is closed. Out of 3 bars only 1 was open which was fine until 200 pensioners turned up! 1 of the 2 restaurants was opened when the turkey & tinsel club turned up as they completely took over the existing restaurant (which was pretty crap in the first place!) but why not open another bar as well so we could all get served? The staff are great with a special mention to Alun (Alun,Alun,Alun,Steve,Steve!) Yiannis (Peter) I guess we should be grateful for the invasion as it made us spend our last 3 nights out of the hotel in the old town as we could not take it any longer. We have to say go and visit, there are many lovely traditional restaurants and bars and if you cannot face another evening of 'plinky plonk' entertainment or pensioners at a disco then it is a worthwhile 1.50 euro bus ride each to visit - well worth it to maintain your sanity ...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coverack, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at Atlantica Miramare Beach Hotel Limassol.
This was our 2nd time here and it was even better than before. On arrival we were greeted with a cold towel and a glass of Champagne (very welcome). We requested room 346 (stayed in this room before) but as it was previously booked we were given room 446. All I can say is FANTASTIC!!! The room was spotlessly clean with Wine, water and a bowl of fruit. There was no kettle but a request at reception and it was put in the room while we had dinner. Thank you. Linen was changed daily.
The food was delicious and plentiful at breakfast and dinner.
The bar staff were extremely friendly and some even remembered us from our previous stay which given the number of guests is amazing. Special mentions to Yiannis, Alex and Tasos you all made our evenings a bit more fun. Another special mention must be to Andrea (guest relations) thank you for your help throughout and on our last day. On our last night we were invited to the Red Room for dinner, the food was again fantastic. a BIG THANKYOU to everyone at the hotel for a wonderful holiday we will see you again next year.

Room Tip: A must have is a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I and 4 other friends spent a week here recently and on arrival were greeted with towels and champagne by 3 very friendly young ladies Andrea and 2 Iranas. We found the staff were all very friendly and helpful and had no problems at all. Andrea in particular took us under her wing as she did with the other guests.
We were really delighted with every thing although because we had hired a car and wanted to get about we did not use the facilities as much as we would have liked. I might add that the Thomson agent, Nicky, was also a very helpful and pleasant young lady and was especially helpful to us too. We hope to go again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

From arrival to departure this hotel did it so well. The great welcome with bubbly, towels, cold collation in room including wine set the tone for the whole holiday. Room 258 was good sized, clean and well-equipped with a balcony overlooking the garden and adults only pool with the shoreline beyond. l wouldn't want sea view in heighth of summer as it would prob be very hot on that side of the building but in late October it was super! Also it was right above the main evening bar and entertainment area so could be noisy if you're not wanting to join in those activities.
The buffet meals were good, especially breakfast (grilled halloumi with herby baked tomatoes, scrummy) - offering plenty of choice, constantly renewed so always fresh. We were fortunate that the hotel was fairly quiet so we managed to breakfast on the outside terrace every day - in the company of the resident cats who soon learn who's a soft touch for a titbit and who isn't! Some vegetables for evening meals were a bit iffy - tinned peas or green beans are not my favourites - but the salads were always excellent and plentiful.
The clientele was mainly British with a significant number of Russian/Eastern Bloc and Germans too. The hotel was spotless inside and out and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. There are local buses close by going to Limassol town centre (approx 15 mins) which has limited interest. The beach is narrow shelving gently into the clear sea for safe, easy swimming and there were plenty of sun beds, parasols etc available.
To sum up - as a slightly out-of-season fly and flop venue it was perfect. l think Limassol has limited appeal, say enough for a week but for longer a car would be beneficial. To travel beyond the immediate area by bus requires you to travel into the town then take other buses to go further afield. As we departed, yet another nice Miramare touch = a packed snack comprising 2 filled rolls and 2 muffins - thank you, we enjoyed them on the flight home! The Miramare is an excellent hotel which provides guests with the highest standards of service and comfort. l'm not sure l'd want to go to Limassol again - Paphos and Larnaca have a lot more to offer for my personal tastes.

Room Tip: Sea views are lovely but could perhaps be hot in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just returned from a great weeks holiday with my wife from this hotel,on arrival we were greeted at reception with cold towels and a glass of champagne,and also informed that we had been upgraded to a sea view room. On entering the room we found a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine complements of the management,a great start to our week.
We were AI for our stay and found the selection and quality of all the meals very good,all the staff from the housekeeping to the management were off the highest standard and every member of the staff were happy and willing to serve.
The hotel facilities are of a high caliber and everywhere was spotless from the pools to the bars.
An extra bonuses for us was an invite by the manager to a gala meal in the Red Room this was a lovely way to end our stay, before finishing thanks to Andrea the box of rolls and muffins given to us on leaving for a snack on our journey home was a thoughtful touch

Room Tip: Sea view was great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

visited the miramare in october,we arrived late at night,& was given a warm welcome from the night staff..we were given a glass of champagne&refreshing flannel on arrival.the check in was very swift...we were taken to our room & our luggage was already there,,it was spacious &spotless..the bed were very comfortable...we had a lovly view from the balcony overlooking pool/sea...food was very good & plentyful,staff were always smiling & nothing was too much trouble for them...bbq was a nice gesture were you met management & other guests...pool areas spotless...yanni,aneta,christina monica&alex wot more can i say such lovly people who made your holiday worthwhile,plus the other staff too many to mention...yanni with is drinks tray twirling it with 1 finger never still(speedy gonzalas)overall the best holiday we've had,,,certainly will be goin back...don't read the negative reviews look at all the positves or better still go&'''see for yourselves.............oh & paul the magician so very funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: well worth paying the extra for pool/seaview room,althou near the entertainment area,but did'nt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Miramare Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Miramare Beach

Address: 11 Amerikanas St., Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#7 Family Hotel in Limassol
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#10 Business Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantica Miramare Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miramare Beach Hotel is beatifully located right on the beach, overlooking the blue water of the Mediterranean Sea and in the centre of the tourist area of Yermasoyeia, Limassol. Just 3km away from the old town of Limassol and the castle. The perfect venue to combine business with pleasure. It is a contemporary hotel that wispers class. Beatifully decorated with warm intimate atmosphere. Excellent service and exquisite cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantica Miramare Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Miramare Beach Limassol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Miramare Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.