We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some renovation would be nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Arches Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Arches Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Arches Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 54104, Limassol 3721, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“some renovation would be nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel doesn't look so appealing in the outside, especially as there are more luxurious (but also much more expensive) hotels opposite the street. It is located about 10 km away from the city center. There is a very frequent bus from/to the city (bus 30) and the bus stops are about 2 min walk from the hotel, however it stops rather early at night so a night out will require taxi. If you are coming from another city (and you probably will as there is no airport in Limassol) the bus stops at Le Meridien Hotel, 2 km away, which means you will have to take bus 30 for 3-4 stops. It is a lot more cenvenient to get off there rather than downtown which is more than half an hour away.
The beach is across the highway but you will also have to walk by the big hotels which are right in front of the beach. The surrounding area has a few mini markets and souvenir shops and all the restaurants around are very expensive. Food in the hotel was quite mediocre.
Staff at the reception was polite, however he had to leave the key everytime we left the hotel, which was not very practical as sometimes we had to wait quite a bit to get it back. There was free wifi in the lounge (where there were some pretty cool rocking chairs) but not in the upper floors. The rooms were clean and quite spacy. I didn't try the swimming pool, it looked nice but it was right in front of the dining room.
Within walking distance (or one bus stop away) there is the archeological site of ancient Amathus, definetely worth a visit. Be appropriately prepared in case it is too sunny and hot.
Getting to the city center can be tiring, especially at rush hour it can take up to 1 hour to get there. However, it is definetely worth taking a walk by the sea and also visiting the medieval castle.
If you can't afford to stay in a more expensive hotel, Golden Arches is a reasonable choice without great expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the highway, you will have a nice view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    55
    24
    26
See reviews for
24
51
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Both myself and girlfriend booked at the Golden Arches Hotel for a 2week stay during April. We noticed that the hotel had mixed reviews but recently saw from the Hotels website that it had be renovated and thought as it is our first trip together we would give the hotel a try for our vacation.
I have uploaded many photos of the horrendous conditions the rooms and surrounding areas of this hotel was in. When the locals asked us where we were saying they call it the true faulty towers of limmasol, and quoted the only renovation this hotel has, was a lick of paint on the outside. We had to move rooms three times due to dodgy door locks and feeling unsafe during our stay, dirty pool in which could caused infections, poor food in which my girlfriend whom is vegetarian was not catered for, rude staff, poor room conditions included cracked tiles, rusty fittings, broken doors and no handles, stained sheets and uncleaned rooms plus really bad water pressure in the shower. The pool would not been cleaned if we did not complain about the risk of infection due to the green slime on the surface of the water. AVOID WITH A BARGE POLE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I can feel myself like a queen here!! cause service is good,every stuff -friendly,clean rooms,and delicious coffee!!! and lovely view from my room-green hills to the right,great sea to the left,and so many palms,white houses,everywhere sooooo clean!!! and Meditterranean Sea is located in 2 min from the hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a weekend away and it was pretty average. The staff we very friendly. The cocktails were cheap and the pool area was lovely. There were a couple of downfalls though. The food was pretty poor and there wasnt much choice especially for breakfast. The double bed was two single beds pushed together and because they were on wheels all you had to do was turn over in your sleep and you would move the beds apart.And they werent very comfy either.
All on all though we had a good time

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent one week at the Golden Arches, all inclusive. I pretty much agree with the previous comments. I found the staff to be very, very nice, especially Nicoleta from Slovakia :) The rooms were absolutely decent. However, the food I found to be absolutely awful and so were the drinks.
There is almost no variety, on the first day I had some boiled potatoes covered in cheese that seemed to be 2 days old...I was actually feeling sick from the food, so we decided to eat out most of the time.
I would recommend the hotel, however not the food. There are a lot of restaurants all around the hotel, it makes not sense to eat there...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice modern inside interior of the lobby which has various lounge chairs which looks onto the dining area where there is a breakfast and evening buffer. The lobby has good internet access and free Wifi. The pool is relatively medium sized and very clean, whilst surrounded by sunbeds. From the pool area there is a beautiful view Amathus beach as the hotel is on a hill opposite the busy main road.
The staff are very friendly and the bar staff serve you at the pool.
The rooms are very average with a nicely sized balcony which looks onto the pool and further onto the sea.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have better views of the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friend and I spent 7 nights here in the end of March. Lucky for there were sunny and pretty hot.
The room was all right, on the 5th floor with overlooking on the pool - and the sea as well.
The food for me was okay, you will be satisfied if you like rice, potatoes, pasta and fish. Plus delicious greece yogurt with honey for breakfast. The staff were friendly. I even asked for fruits after dinner at night, and I got it - the whole plate of fresh washed fruits. Wow! We relaxed once in the garden at Amathus across the road and the beaches opposite are very clean.
Golden Arches is very good value for money and great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arches Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 54104, Limassol 3721, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Arches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arches Limassol
Hotel Golden Arches
Cyprus Golden Arches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Arches Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.