We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel, bad food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Arches Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Arches Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Arches Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 54104, Limassol 3721, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“decent hotel, bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent one week at the Golden Arches, all inclusive. I pretty much agree with the previous comments. I found the staff to be very, very nice, especially Nicoleta from Slovakia :) The rooms were absolutely decent. However, the food I found to be absolutely awful and so were the drinks.
There is almost no variety, on the first day I had some boiled potatoes covered in cheese that seemed to be 2 days old...I was actually feeling sick from the food, so we decided to eat out most of the time.
I would recommend the hotel, however not the food. There are a lot of restaurants all around the hotel, it makes not sense to eat there...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    55
    24
    26
See reviews for
24
51
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice modern inside interior of the lobby which has various lounge chairs which looks onto the dining area where there is a breakfast and evening buffer. The lobby has good internet access and free Wifi. The pool is relatively medium sized and very clean, whilst surrounded by sunbeds. From the pool area there is a beautiful view Amathus beach as the hotel is on a hill opposite the busy main road.
The staff are very friendly and the bar staff serve you at the pool.
The rooms are very average with a nicely sized balcony which looks onto the pool and further onto the sea.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have better views of the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friend and I spent 7 nights here in the end of March. Lucky for there were sunny and pretty hot.
The room was all right, on the 5th floor with overlooking on the pool - and the sea as well.
The food for me was okay, you will be satisfied if you like rice, potatoes, pasta and fish. Plus delicious greece yogurt with honey for breakfast. The staff were friendly. I even asked for fruits after dinner at night, and I got it - the whole plate of fresh washed fruits. Wow! We relaxed once in the garden at Amathus across the road and the beaches opposite are very clean.
Golden Arches is very good value for money and great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

It was a cheap holiday for one week so it was okay but i will not be rushing back. Breakfast was not worth having and out of 7 days just had some toast on one day.

Good loation but try to get a room at the back of the hotel as the road noise will keep you up all night!

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms on the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I and my partner just returned from our holidays in Cyprus. We stayed in Golden Arches Hotel from 4 to 10th April and had a wonderful opportunity to celebrate our Easter break in Greek side of the island of Cyprus, Limassol.

We happily booked our holiday package on Lowcostholidays.com. Previously, we have already booked several our holidays via lowcost website (Mallorca, Spain in June 2011 etc.) and were never disappointed with service provided, with the chance to browse and find the best deal suitable for each budget and taste, moreover - always flexible dates available from different airports - that's what we always go for. This time we decided to fly from Luton to Cyprus Larnaca airport . Efficient, fabulous - as usual! :) I and my boyfriend we really loved Monarch airlines - never ever in our lives experienced such a soft taking off and landing, comfortable seats with lots of space in the front. I guess, it does make a difference when a flight last more than 3 hours... So, THANK YOU TO LOWCOSTHOLIDAYS for a good pick of the airline - we have started our trip with a pleasant feeling and finished it with even more pleasure of a nice and comfortable flight back home.

On arrival to Cyprus airport we found a good car rental stand - BUDGET. We got a nice Nissan for a good value - 160 euro for a week, they even made a half price discount on navigator as it is not as convenient to travel with maps there - lots of mountains and tiny streets, lots of different motorways where only a TOM TOM will find the shortcut with no traffic jams.

We stayed in the Golden Arches hotel. We had a half board there. Enjoyed breakfast although it became a bit repetitive with no much choice) and most of all we liked dinner as they served different salads, always pork & chicken available, chips, jacket potatoes, fruit mix in a bowl which we could use both as fruit and also as a juice because drinks were on extra charge (menu available).

Housekeeping - a special thank you for cleanliness in our room during our stay! Towels fresh every day, they even put us an extra shower towel because we took ours to the pool downstairs and it was wet afterwards, so they were really sensible and provided us with extra one. Never missed a detail, cozy and quick service.

We stayed on the 4th floor, but it was still noisy due to the car outside. The balcony door was always closed at nights but still lots of traffic noises sometimes disturbed our sleep... This was the only minus, which I can now remember.

We have visited several places, really loved Agia Napa (approx 40 min drive from Limassol), quite enjoyed Paphos (50 min drive), Petra tou Romiu beach where the legend says that Agfrodita was born from the waves of Mediterranean sea. Also discovered some other sandy and stony beaches. With confidence will say that if you go to Cyprus, definitely pay a visit to PETRA TOU ROMIU beach, it is stunning place with crystal clear water! ***Blue flag beach, by the way***. On the top of the mountain on the exit from this place, there is a nice fish restaurant where they serve tasty fish meze, we spent no more than 25-30 euros per couple for our lunch.

When in Limassol, there is a gorgeous Mediterranean cuisine restaurant close to the Golden Arches hotel called "Mediterranean" - they make so delicious big portions of fish meze, we could not find any better deal except this! :) visited this place 3 times during this week and ordered a fish platter for 21 euros for 2 persons!

We read on the Internet good comments about Governors beach - do not go there, just a waste of your time... Dark sandy beack, very dirty and messy territory, lots of grass and no place for sunbathing.

The best beaches we have visited were - Grecian Sands beach, Four Seasons beach in Limassol and Petrs tou Romiu beach - our favourite! :) Check it out on google.

Nice stay, we really enjoyed our trip and will definitely recommend this hotel as well as LOWCOSTHOLIDAYS.COM website to our friends and closed ones! Good value, quick and efficient service and no problems.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floors, so less noise to hear during the night. Corner suites are sunny and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from the golden arches for a four day trip to visit family. We arrived late and the man on the desk was not very accommodating . Gave us the keys and that was it. No directions to our room, no times for breakfast or where to eat breakfast etc. room was on the top floor on the road side. First impressions were the room was very basic and a little dated. It was clean though and cleaned every day of our trip. The be was rock hard and both ended up with back aches. (we are not old either) the noise from the road was horrendous . Not the hotels fault but nonetheless awful. Every night Cypriot boy racers thought they were on a racing track directly outside. Revving engines and screeching off then back again. As I said, this is no fault of the hotel but you may want to ask for a room away from the road.
The breakfast was not up to the standard of other hotels in Limassol.
Cold meats and cheese and yoghurts, cereal looked ok. No fruit and the hot food was very basic. Not a lot. Of choice. Beans were warm at best. Juice was very watery, no taste and certainly not fresh. We ended up with beans on toast every day.
The seating areas are lovely and clean and nice neutral colours, very modern and comfy.
The pool looked nice, though we didnt use it. Quite a large pool but nothing really to attract the family market. No entertainment but it's still early season . Overall an average hotel. I certainly wouldn't consider staying for any longer than a few days and not all inclusive. There are better hotels for a little more money. Atlantica oasis is far superior also the Mediterranean beach opposite is wonderful in comparison.
Not bad for a base but not for a holiday with family. It is right on the end of the amathous area which is a ten minute drive into the heart of Limassol. We found protaras a much much better place to go with children.
I am an average sort of person with children, we don't like things too 'posh' because we wouldn't be able to relax with children, but we do like a nice hotel with amenities for all and this hotel really falls short, in my opinion .
Very average.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

After reading the reviews, we were not sure what to expect, but we were plesantly surprised, the rooms were clean and reasonably furnished, but i have to the beds were quite hard.

There was only 2 electric sockets in the room so we had to charge various phones/game consoles on a rota basis.

The only complaint i could find was when the restaurant didnt have many diners it was table service and the food that came out tended to be tepid.

Friday and Saturday nights tended to be noisy as the racers were out along the road in front of the hotel, but i managed to sleep through it after the first night of the racers.

I cant fault the staff, they were friendly and helpful, when we had a spell of really cold weather they put an electric heater in the room.

We had a very good time at the hotel and would go there again on the experience we had this time.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and was on the pool side, we had the sun in the afternoon in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arches Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 54104, Limassol 3721, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Arches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arches Limassol
Hotel Golden Arches
Cyprus Golden Arches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Arches Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.