We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel...shame about the location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amathus Avenue | P.O. Box 56767, Limassol 3310, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Wexford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel...shame about the location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

I agree with many of the reviews here which say that this is a great hotel. We did find it too formal for us, and while they have a kids club (Anna was brilliant!) and a kids play area, they were around the back of the hotel and kind of summed up their attitude to kids for us. In the main hotel area they were tolerated but that was about it. We paid €300 more (for 5 days) than a double room for a 'quad' bed room for us and our 4 and 8 year olds. What we got was a standard double room crammed full with a sofa bed and another wire-framed bed. There was barely enough room to get to the patio. When I complained about this I was told that was the way it was and they sent be a quarter bottle of wine, an apple, a pear and an orange as compensation.

There is one big problem that is common to many hotels in Limassol: it's right next to a dual carraigeway which is used as a drag racing strip both day and night. Gangs of bikers without helmets wheelie up and down the road, while toyota glanzas with exhausts bigger than the cars themselves drag race each other. It's horrendous and on the door step of the Mediterranean. About half of the rooms face the dual carraigeway, so the noise for half the guests is awful.

The Four Seasons next door is the same, as is the Aramathus and other very good hotels in the area. The authorities really should do something about this. We'll never go back to the area...it was frightening crossing the road with our two young kids.

We didn't like limassol at all...the dual carriageway that runs through the whole area was one reason...bad shops, no quiet tavernas next to the beach, not much to do.

Definately would not go back to Limassol. The hotel would be recommended if you can get a sea view, haven't kids, and intend staying on the property for a few relaxing days

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — The noisy location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    269
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
275
367
51
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

What can I say - we have just returned from our best ever holiday and it was all down to the staff in this hotel. They were all brilliantly friendly but human with it - we talked, joked and laughed with them and they made our stay just fabulous.

The facilities were spot on and even though the outdoor pools were a little cold me, my wife and our boys spent time in there and on the beach as well as using the indoor pool. We spent our days relaxing - reading, swimming and generally chilling out and couldn't have asked for a better location. The pool area and gardens are a great sun trap and still warm even on windier days. The pool bar was open all day and offered drinks, ice creams and food so we realyl didn't need to move. Also there are more than enough sunbeds so no nee to dash down in the early hours to blag one - if there are more people they produce more beds.

The gardens roll down to a private beach which has protective break waters and so the waves tend to be pretty tame which was great for for our boys. The sea again was not warm at this time of year but still we spent time in there.

The hotel was opening 2 new restaurants shortly after we left (an Italian themed and sushi bar) but both the Celeste (for dinner) and Aquarius (for breakfast) were buffet style and provided varied menus which suited us all. We always easily got a table and the waiting staff were efficient and welcoming.

We ventured out to the nearby ruins at Amathus - walk along the seafront path - which are defintely worth a visit. There are bits of pottery and other finds to be made all over the site and for only about €2each well worth it.

If you want a superb family holiday you will have to try hard to find better and we are going back just as soon as wecan!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Cold pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

A little bit late in writing a review but felt I should as I thought this hotel was almost perfect.

Firstly the hotel is not within walking distance to the centre of limassol but there is a bus stop outside which runs every 15 mins and there are shops and bars just outside.

The beach is absolutley gorgeous and I would go back again just for that !

Rooms were brilliant, very modern and clean and the pillows were divine, wish I could of bought some back ! I would book a sea view room next time as our room was right on the main road and it is literally like the grand prix out there, people racing up and down (with very loud exhausts) all night !

We only ate in the restraunt once in the evening and I personally thought it wasn't worth the money so we ate out after that as there are some lovely bars and restraunts close by. Breakfast was nice although there was usually a queue for omlettes and eggs, they could of done with another chef really.

My friend who lives in limassol has stayed in the four seasons next door and said the rooms in the mediterranean are actually nicer and thats saying something !

My only real complaint was that I didn't have a particuarly nice treatment in the spa, also got the real hard sell of the therapist when I came out of the treatment room the therapist was sat waiting for me with a tray of products and spent about 15mins going through them all !!!

  • Liked — The beach & rooms
  • Disliked — noise from main road
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

My now husband and I stayed here when we got married last October. The hotel was wonderful and all our family and friends had a great experience. On arrival at the hotel (4am) we were allocated a road side room. The next morning we explained that we were getting married and were told by our tour operator that we would get an upgrade and we were immediately moved to a deluxe sea view room free of charge. The reception staff were very helpful throughout our stay as were all staff.

We arranged with the restaurant manager to have our wedding reception in the hotel bar and it was all arranged with one conversation. We were reserved one of the outside deck areas and snacks and champagne were laid out for us after our wedding. The wait staff were very attentive and made sure that everyone was happy.

We ate in the hotel quite often as it was quite reasonable and themed differently each night of the week. The hotel had a good offer that if you booked 3 evening meals in advance then you got about a third off of the price which was great. Happy hour was also good with cheap drinks and cocktails every evening.

Not to do with this hotel but we would highly recommend eating at the El Sapore italian restaurant which was about 150 yards down the road from the hotel towards the town centre. It was the best italian meal my husband and I have ever had and we would probably return to Limassol just to go back there!!!

Our room was excellent. It was spotlessly clean and a good size (we had a seating area and enough room for our son's travel cot with room to spare),

The only problem we encountered was when we checked out and found out that the pre-booked meals we had paid for in cash had been added to our room bill. After quite a long discussion with the duty manager (who was very pleasant and helpful) the money was deducted from our bill.

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again in the future.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — the main road
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

We booked a superior room at the Mediterranean Beach Hotel through miniBreaks.com. However, on arrival at the hotel we were told that miniBreaks do not have the correct rates on their website and thus although we had a sea-view room it was not a superior room. Clearly this was not a fault of the hotel, but of miniBreaks.
Staff at hotel friendly and courteous; room nice; breakfast ok but nothing special; grounds and pool area lovely. The only real criticism of the hotel is that it was way too hot. We were there in early February, but during the day outside temperatures were around 20C, and we found the hotel temperatures a litle stifling at times - it was as if they had forgotten to turn the thermostat down!

  • Liked — Lovely views from room over garden and pool
  • Disliked — It was too hot in the hotel!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham Wilts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Mediterrean Hotel in Limmasol. We have stayed a couple of times before but the hotel has recently been refurbished. We even had a flat screen tv in the room. The Christmas Eve and Christmas Day gala meal was so impressive. Customer service was very high and nothing is too much trouble. The only complaint was the boy racers that continuely race up and down the main road up until 3am in the morning. Next year I will be upgrading to a sea view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We booked this hotel travelling as a group of 10 as we were getting married in Limassol and having our reception at the hotel. On arrival the porters took our luggage up to our room.We were given room 539 which overlooks the road and the golden arches hotel.The road was a bit noisy if you were sat out on the balcony but with the doors closed
it was ok. The road does become a bit of a racetrack for the local boy
racers come 11pm. Sitting at the lights and screeching off when they change. There were 2 crossings either side of the hotel which is just as well as the majority of the shops,restaurants and bars are across the road from the hotel. The hotel itself was spotless and has just been refurbished in the past 18 months. The bedrooms were lovely. We stayed flexi dine, 11 nights half board. Breakfast was served in the restaurant downstairs while dinner was outside overlooking the pool and sea. The food both at breakfast and dinner was beautiful. Can now say that fried eggs and omlettes are no longer served outside but inside with the rest of the food! Plenty of choice, cereal, fruit cooked breakfast. Dinner was a different theme each night. Lots for adults but not too much that the kids were keen of, but ours are fussy, plain eaters! If you want chips or icecream for the kids then ask and you will get as these are never out.Liked the fact that you have to wait to be seated in the restaurants as we have been to hotels
before where people just sit where they like and you end up with 2 people sat at a table for 8! The one downside to the hotel was the price of the drinks, very expensive!! Plenty of bars to choose from opposite the hotel. A favourite of ours was Franxz. Also keep an eye on your mini bar as we were charged a few times for things we didnt have! People putting empty toblerone wrappers back in. This was later put right! The pool was lovely, split level with a cave on the lower level! Heard some reports before we went that inflateables were not allowed in the pool which didnt please our 8 year old but when we arrived we found that there were loads of people with them. There was also an indoor pool which was cold!A gym and small kids games area near the pool with pool tables etc. The beach was nice, sea warm, lots
of fish swimming round you! The hotel had its own section of beach with free sunbeds and plenty of them,even in August! No problem with sunbeds round the pool either, plenty of them and some to spare Both round the pool and in the gardens near the beach and near the top of the hotel which is where we used to sit, but be warned there can be quite a few weddings and clearing the gardens of sunbeds to cut the grass can start as early as 3pm which we thought was a bit early. The hotel also had a childrens playground round the side. Change your money in the supermarket opposite the hotel as you get better rate than at hotel. The road is also very busy,be sure to use the crossings! Entertainment wasnt that brilliant on an evening although there was a couple of nights which we stayed in for,the magic show and
the dancing girls which were both good. This was our 6th visit to Cyprus but our first to Limassol. Would definately stay at this hotel again, even though the road is a bit of a nightmare!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — expensive drinks
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Beach Hotel

Address: Amathus Avenue | P.O. Box 56767, Limassol 3310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#3 Family Hotel in Limassol
#3 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#4 Business Hotel in Limassol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True hospitality has always been the fabric of the Mediterranean Beach Hotel, a superior 4-star resort situated on one of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Limassol. The Hotel's unique location provides all the advantages, including spectacular views of the island's southern coastline. Recently renovated extensively, the Mediterranean Beach Hotel welcomes guests to a warm and inspiring environment of aesthetic luxury and comfort. Hues of blue and white dominate the colour scheme, which is enhanced with natural wood and marble features.The hotel consists of 292 rooms and suites, which include Deluxe Inland or Sea View Rooms, Family Rooms with Inland, Pool or Sea View, Deluxe Family Rooms with Sea View, Superior Pool & Sea View Rooms (Adults Only), Luxury Studios Pool & Sea View (Adults Only), Areti Suite and the Aura Presidential Suite.All rooms and suites include an en-suite bathroom, a balcony or terrace, air-conditioning, central heating, direct dial telephone, LCD televisions with satellite channels, mini-bar, safe deposit box and a hair dryer. Additionally, Luxury Studios and Superior Rooms have Tea & Coffee making facilities and a trouser press. Luxury Studios, also have an I-pod docking stations with clock, alarm and radio.Free Wi-Fi internet is available in our lobbies and indoor bars and in all guest rooms at a cost. For all guests staying in the adults only, Superior Rooms and Luxury Studios, as well as the suites, the Wi-Fi service is FREE throughout the hotel.The property's extensive restaurant and bar selection comprises of the Nautica Bistro (May-Oct), the Celeste Restaurant (Nov-Apr) & Terrace (May-Oct), Ristorante Bacco, Shumi Sushi Bar and the Aquaria Restaurant. The bar selection includes Ouzeri Tis Myrtos (May-Oct), the Clouds Lounge Bar, the Blue Bar and the Lagoon Pool Bar (May-Oct).If relaxation is on the agenda, a visit to the Aquum Health Spa with a wide choice of treatments/programmes, using Babor products, is a must. There is an outdoor split-level outdoor pool, an indoor pool (heated in winter) and a children's splash pool. Other facilities include, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam-Bath, an aerobics/pilates studio, a fully equipped gym, one floodlit tennis court, table tennis & pool tables and an electronic games room. There are also a Water Sports and a Padi Diving Centre. For our young friends, there is the Angel's Kids Club (4-12 years) operating May-October, as well as Christmas, New Year's and Easter periods. Other children's facilities include a separate outdoor swimming pool, partly shaded to protect them from the sun, a playground, video games arcade and baby sitting on demand (additional cost).There are 4 championship standard golf courses, within a 35 minute drive from the hotel. Larnaca, as well as Paphos International Airports are just a 40 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterranean Beach
Mediterranean Beach Limassol
Mediterranean Beach Hotel Limassol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.