We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, now moved though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donkey Sanctuary

Donkey Sanctuary
4772 Vouni Village, Limassol, Cyprus
(00357) 25944151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 35 Attractions in Limassol
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, now moved though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited the Donkey Sanctuary in 2012 and I adopted a donkey named Chloe. We loved walking around and made a few purchases to help fund the sanctuary. The access road wasn't very good and the parking area was up a steep, single-track slope so it wasn't ideal. We made the trek especially for this visit so it wasn't too much of a problem for us. The views were lovely and the donkeys are very well looked after. There were even some cats to see!

The Donkey Sanctuary has now moved, so visitors are unable to go to the site for the time being. This is a shame as I'd have wanted to see the donkeys again this year, but it's the best for the donkeys who are in a much better place now.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cyprurs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good place for the donkeys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What they do for this Donkeys are very good. You can adopt a donkey to help it to have a good life in the future. Donkeys people did not look after have a good life in the end. Perfect place to take your children to. Where they can see the donkeys and learn about them. If you can help them out do it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I give them my support”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I like to support this Sanctuary when in Limassol and when at home,I just give a small donation monthly

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mainly for the drive and to make a donation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We've visited the sanctuary a couple of times now and while it's a pleasant way to spend an hour or two its nothing special. But the drive to it is nice and both times we have sponsored a donkey and made a donation so our karma levels have increased a bit ;-)

Shame to hear it is closing, wish them all the best in the future!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Donkey Sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place is on my regular list of places to take visitors to Cyprus - especially children. My nieces & nephews have all enjoyed their visits here - worth prebooking to walk a donkey. Staff are very helpful and happy to share their knowledge of the donkeys and share a few stories about their characters or the situations they have been rescued from. Well worth a visit and can be combined with a drive around the Troodos area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Donkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donkey Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.