We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Odyssia

Save Saved
You added Kapetanios Odyssia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kapetanios Odyssia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Enaerios Complex-Seafront Avenue | PO Box 56748, Limassol 3300, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel had a traditional British atmosphere but furniture a bit old fashioned. It was very clean with a big lobby area and staffs were very friendly and helpful. There were two swimming pools, a gym and a Jacuzzi. There was free WiFi in lobby, 2 computers and 1 printer in an internet room. There was also free WiFi in room but connection was very weak. Room was of standard size but spacious enough. Biggest problem was the noise from neighboring rooms closing their doors as the banging was really loud. Additional hinges should be added to reduce the annoyance. Walls were also a bit thin as noises could be heard in the middle of one night when next door had an argument. Toileteries only consisted of soap, shower gel and shampoo. There were no facial tissues and only one socket in the room for charging batteries.

TV had channels in 3 different languages offering viewing of properties as the hotel group was also a real estate company. TV had 13 other channels in different languages including BBC, Bloomberg, TVS Monde and Al Jazeera Exclusive. Breakfast was good with freshly squeezed orange juice and grapefruit juice on alternate days. For guests who were not on all inclusive basis, they could change to half board basis at only €12 per person per day which was very good value. Original price for dinner buffet at €16.50 was not expensive at all. However, minimum had to be for 3 days. Buffer dinner had a different theme each night and food was very tasty and hot. For the Greek theme buffet, there was folklore performance.

Location of the hotel was just one block away from the coast but the beach there did not look attractive at all. There were several restaurants (including TGIC) along the coast which were not expensive and food was tasty as well. Opposite the hotel was a Minimarket and once you reached the coast line and turned left, you could find a bigger supermarket with some souvenirs on sale. Otherwise, there was a no. 30 bus going to the city center and cost €1 one way.

Room Tip: A earplug might help if your neighboring guests happened to close their doors at the wrong time of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    80
    35
    10
    1
See reviews for
36
68
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boltana, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Like so many in Limassol, this hotel is filled with "all-in" groups, so the individual traveller ends up feeling like one of the herd. The room and the bathroom are tired and drab, with mediocre decoration and fittings. The bed was comfortable. For three nights I paid E250, E230 and E85 respectively, and would expect a room-safe for that price. A bottle of drinking water every day would have been a nice detail. The public rooms are so dated, but then so were most of the guests!! The "all-in" buffet for breakfast is dull, unapppetising and poorly presented, as in so many places, but if the emphasis is on "eat as much as you can", I suppose most people go away satisfied. The buffet dinner (not taken by choice) was similarly uninspiring, but thankfully the cabaret was "off". The location is fine if you have a car, since what is available at walking distance is also pretty disappointing.
Reception staff were courteous and helpful. Parking and wi-fi are "all-in" too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We got back from a week's tour based at the Kanika last week. We had a room with a balcony on the sixth floor with a pool view and side views of the sea and the Troodos Mountains. The room was fairly standard but quite comfortable. There was daily maid service.
There are three pools - two adult depth pools and one smaller on for children. The poolside bar is open all day for drinks , snacks and light meals. The staff were friendly and service was always good. We never had any problem finding a poolside table or a sunbed.
The beach was a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel.
The public areas are large, clean and well air-conditioned and the reception staff friendly and helpful.
There are plenty of minimarkets, bars, restaurants in the area around the hotel.
We were on half board - the breakfasts were very good indeed with a good selection of fruit, cereal, continental breakfast items and a hot buffet offering bacon, sausage etc. with boiled, scrambled or fried eggs. The dinners were also buffet style - some nights there was entertainment - beware the audience participation in the Greek evening - great fun and OK to watch but don't get involved!.
The bar is a Cyprus version of an Irish bar - they do sell Guinness but most people stuck to the excellent local Limassol-brewed beer called Keo.
As other contributors have mentioned there are large numbers of Russians in the area but this was not a problem.
In conclusion I have stayed in many hotels much worse than the Kanika and I have no complaints at all about the service we received. I would recommend it!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with family in the Kanikaand had a great time, even if we were outnumbered by Russians!! We had a 7th floor room with a side sea view, although you would not choose this hotel for the views. Our family had a large room on the 1st floor. The rooms were good, clean and comfortable. They did have waterproof covers on the beds that tended to make you sweat. They were cleaned every day and clean towels were no problem. The staff were excellent and maintenance also as when I reported a faulty shaver socket one evening, it was replaced first thing next morning. The food wasnot the widest selection ever but it was varied, hot and self served onto hot plates, unlike some other hotels I could mention. We were half board but the lunch menu was very good and not expensive. Daily Happy Hour was just that, half price drinks not 2 for the price of one.

Room Tip: I would go for the pool side of the hotel as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Just back from the Kanika today and can highly recommend it. We travelled with children aged 6 and 9 and my parents in their 70s and we all loved it. Spotless spacious rooms, good powerful showers, hot water all day, very comfortable beds, extremely friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel, delicious food always hot and fresh and varied and not lukewarm recycled leftovers like in some other hotels. Everything is within walking distance or the number 30 bus takes you everywhere. The hotel was full but we never had to fight for sun beds and the pools were lovely. The beach was great, the sea was so calm and the water still shallow a long way out which made it perfect for us. Only 12km from Watermania at Fasouri which is well worth a visit, the best waterpark we've been to, exceptionally well staffed and maintained, if on the expensive side. Thanks to all for a memorable holiday we were sad to leave and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT, SOUTH WALES
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Kanika Pantheon Hotel from 8 -22 July 2012 on a halfboard basis.
We stayed on the 7th floor and had a side sea view overlooking the swimming pool.

The hotel was very clean and friendly.
The maid service was 7 days a week. If you needed clean towels, you simply put them in the bath for the maid to change
Bed linen was changed once a week.
The beds were very comfy.
There were complimentary shower gels and shampoo
The room was spacious for 2 people, the balcony was slightly small, enough room for a table and 2 chairs.
Restaurant – Breakfast there was a wide variety of choice of food.
Full English breakfast –sausage, fried, boiled and scrambled eggs, beans, tomatoes, hash browns.
Selection of meats and cheeses. Fruit, yogurt
Selection of cakes and biscuits. Toast, tea, coffees and juice.
The evenings were themed- Italian, BBQ, Mexican, Chinese, Meditteranean, Carvey, Cyprus, Arabic.
The service in the restaurant was excellent –shown to your table on arrival and your drinks order taken.
Bar prices 3 euros for a glass of house wine. 3.70 euros for a pint of local beer (Keo)
Some evenings there was entertainment with a 2 piece band and once a week a Cyprus folklore dance group.
Happy Hour in the bar between 5.30pm-6.30pm on selected local drinks.
The Hotel was 5 mins walk to the beach, with a 2 min walk to Nandos and TGI Fridays.
There is a mini market outside the hotel, which is cheaper than those located on the beachfront. The staff there were very friendly and helpful at the mini market
We spent most of our days at the beach, at Chris Sports area 2.50 euros for a sunbed, 2.50 for an umbrella. You could leave the beach and come back to and not have to pay again for the sunbed. The people there were friendly.
As the beach was not overcrowded, it was safe enough for us both to swim in sea together and not worry about our belongings.
The beach is located across a very busy main road.
There is not much to do at night in Limassol, near the Hotel, so if you are a young couple seeking lively nightlife, then I would recommend a different resort in Cyprus.

Room Tip: Any floor but the first as the other floors over look your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel was well located, just a shirt distance from the beach. The rooms were a dated so was the pool and the restaurant but i still enjoyed my stay here. The breakfast was delicious with the Anari Cheese and cold cuts. the restaurant staff at breakfast time were run off their feet with a half empty hotel. I wonder how they are in peak season!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapetanios Odyssia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Odyssia

Address: Enaerios Complex-Seafront Avenue | PO Box 56748, Limassol 3300, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#15 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Odyssia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011, Kapetanios Odyssia is a 3 stars superior hotel and is conveniently located in one of the most privileged areas of Limassol in the center only 100 meters from the beach, it offers an extensive variety of facilities and it is renowned for its excellent service, friendly atmosphere and the good food. The surrounding area is well known as Olympus promenade, which has been recently redeveloped by the local authorities to a very exclusive area with walkways, wooden decks bike lanes, public gardens and sitting arrangements overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Room Facilities: - Side sea view or pool view, electronic Key System, heating or cooling (depending on season), direct dial telephone, satellite and pay TV, wifi * minibar, bathroom with bathtub or shower, hairdryer, safe deposit box *(reception area), laundry service. Facilities: Two outdoor pools (one heated during winter) and children’s pool with two restaurants, one tavern, and pool bar. Daily activities and evening entertainment are also organised. Health club : Gym, sauna*, Jacuzzi*, aromatherapy massage*, beauty salon*. (* = payable locally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kapetanios Odyssia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanika Pantheon Limassol
Hotel Kanika Pantheon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Odyssia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.