We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Raphael Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St Raphael Resort to your Saves list
St Raphael Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   502 Amathus Avenue | P.O.Box 51064, Limassol 3594, Cyprus   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Limassol
St Albans
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Stayed there over last week of Oct into November. Loved it! It was only about 40% full, whereas the staff said up until the previous week it had been packed. This meant we never had to wait for anything at all. At the pool there were maybe three or four other people, and on the beach there were plenty of loungers. We could take out pedalos/kayaks whenever we wanted (parted of all inclusive deal). It was totally stress free!

The all inclusive deal is excellent - it genuinely is all inclusive - cocktails, good wine, soft drinks, ice cream - the kids loved the milk shakes. - and all food between 7am and midnight.

The main restuarant - the Palladium - you could see at peak times might get a little overcrowded with tables close together. The food there was OK. The food in the Octagon resturant is Italian themed - but basically a buffet just like in the Palladium. The food in the Phoenician though was fantastic - a full Lebanese mezze - and again part of the all inclusive deal. You are supposed to book in advance for Octagon and Phoenician but it was so quiet there was no need.

The staff were brilliant - could not have been more friendly. There was an almost tangible relief from them though that the season was finally over. Some of the faciltiies were closing during the week for maintencance etc, but this didn't spoil anything.

Weather very good - 28/29, occasionally breezy, although staff said previous year October was a wash-out so i guess we were lucky.

Originally booked in an Executive Wing Family Rooms inland facing but looked out over a car park so we negotiated a reasonable upgrade to sea view connecting rooms in the main building - a very good move. Rooms very comfortable, beds excellent.

Place very popular with Russians - big, big Russians with tattoos, huge muscles and shaven heads. And the guys were big too... boom boom!

But seriously there were loads of scary looking Russian guys with small over bejewelled, often surgically enhanced girlfriends...

And a Greek first division football team with accompanying security guards.

And lots of adopted stray cats

Limassol is about 12 km away so get a taxi or hire a car. Drove into the mountains which were pleasant without being spectacular. Again out of season lots of places were closed.

Would we go back - yes, definitely, but not at peak time - the pool might be too small, and we could see how the restaurants might get a bit more stressful. The all inclusive deal is a must.

The hotel is definitely NOT 5 star (certainly when compared with the Meridien about 500 yards away), but its a worthy 4 star and we had a really lovely, relaxed, easy time.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    176
    65
    41
    9
See reviews for
301
207
17
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Our holiday at the St Raphael was billed as "Ultra AI" 5*. It is a lovely hotel in beautiful grounds and has very good staff. The room was more than adequate in size and the furniture is reasonable but not what I expect of 5*. The major disappointment came at dinner in the main restaurant. A staff member should greet the guest and show them to a table. The sign at the entrance stated "please wait to be seated". Unfortunately many of the Russian guests did not think it applied to them and they could be seen getting there buffet style meal before finding a seat. Perhaps this is why the staff seemed not to care where they placed people. There were rows of tables for 2 with only 5cm between them that made them look like a works canteen at xmas (there were table cloths on). The food was not very inspirational and bore no resemblance to the stated themed fare. There was a different theme each evening and the menu did change but it was never what we expected. I was suprised at the lack of fish dishes,the ones being served were mainly from frozen as were all of the vegatables. We did not try the other 2 restaurants but these were available under AI at no extra cost but must be booked before 2pm. We had a look around the Italian restaurant and found it to be buffet style with much the same food as in the main restaurant. The Lebonese restaurant was also buffet style. Breakfast and lunch were ok. The 2 pools are very good and no shortage of sunbeds. The beach is not private but has su beds for hotel guests. The Russians seem to prefer the beach and there was a shortage of beds here. The hotel is 15Km east of Limassol and there is very little in the way of entertainment in or around it. The hotel put on some entertainment for about 1 hour each evening. We had a car, so got around the island ok. There seemed to be plenty of public transport, buses and taxis but I don't know the cost. All in all, we did not think the holiday was good value for money and will not be booking here again. We would recomend Cyprus though. The people are very friendly and there is plenty to see and do. We will be going back soon, probably to Larnaca, as we didn't get there this time. A word of advise would be to not travel to or from Paphos airport on Wednesdays. The locals call it manic Wednesday. There are too many flights going out in too short a time, all of them to Britain. We queued for almost 2hours to get through the security checks. All flights were delayed by at least 30 minutes because of this. See my photo's of the queue.

  • Liked — Lovely pools
  • Disliked — Not up to 5* standard
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

just had a fantastic all inclusive holiday.first time in an all inclusive and was very impressed with the quality and choice of food.my three children 7 5 2 loved the chocolate fountain and always found something they liked at the buffet . rooms were clean large and well equipped.pools were very clean and always plenty of beds and clean towels. two good play parks. evening entertainment ok for adults but the kids enjoyed it.lovely beach but no breeze.need a car as 3 miles out of town.have stayed at the 5 star four seasons last year and in comparison st. rapheal is a good 4 star.staff fantastic and very friendly .would stay here again. p.s. try to ignore the rude Russians. 3 days after our return england beat Russia 3-0 in the football.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

This was our second stay at this hotel as we were also here in Sept. 2006.Our first stay was for two weeks and to be honest we said that we wouldn't return again but we had a very last-minute deal with an incredibly cheap flight and decided to return because we knew that the hotel was clean and the executive rooms were lovely. We have visited Cyprus a couple of times previously and hired cars and seen all of the sights so this was just a chance to get away from the awful weather in England and we knew that Cyprus could be relied upon to provide wall to wall sunshine ! - and it did !! The executive room was lovely again. Wooden floors and very efficient air con. Mini bar in the room but we didn't use it as we took drinks back to the room from the bar (we were all-inclusive). Bottled water was left in the room and there were also tea and coffee making facilities.
We also returned because we knew that we could relax by the pool or on the beach here without the hassle of fighting for sun-beds. In the event, we spent every day on the beach. There is a beach bar where you can also get lunch. Not brilliant food here but very convenient and handy for bottles of water or soft drinks throughout the day (alcoholic ones as well if you are so inclined!)
The pool areas don't seem to get cleaned very well and the tiles around the swim-up bar need a good scrub.
Excellent hotel for people-watching as SO MANY Russians with their quirky ways !!
Breakfast and lunch in the Octagon restaurant OK - nothing special really but VERY disappointing food in the Palladium restaurant in the evening. They had got the self-service arrangement improved this year - a little more room - but the food was pretty dire. Good desserts though and lots of yummy cheeses. Good service here as well.
The service in the Captains Bar was awful. You had to wait an age to get served even when you might be the only people in there ! Very bad. The air-con abysmal in there too - almost like they didn't want to encourage you to stay ! The spirits were local and poor quality but cocktails good.
Reception staff very helpful and friendly.
All in all we enjoyed our stay because we got exactly what we expected and it wasn't our main or only holiday of the year. Don't think we would have been quite so happy if it had been - mainly because of the awful food. It definitely is not a five star hotel as advertised - probably about a three and a half to four star. Nevertheless, wouldn't rule out visiting again if we could get the incredible bargain price next year (booked flights, hotel and taxi transfer independently on-line). About 45 minutes in taxi from Paphos airport. I'm sure that if it is your first visit then you will enjoy it. Hire a car and go out and see the sights - don't miss the Troodos mountains - fabulous. Nicosia good for shopping as well and still interesting to go and look over the wall at the Turkish side !!

  • Liked — situation on the beach
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

My family and I have just returned from this holiday (2 adults 2 children 13 and 8) resort and have had a great 2 weeks. The hotel is very clean and tidy and is constantly being maintained. We stayed in a family room which was of a good size however the air conditioning could have been better this was the case throughtout the hotel. The food was good but became very repetative and a pleasant change was to eat in the Sailors Rest or a place called 'Chesters' just up the road which was fantastic served great steaks. The main restaurant was far too hot to eat in as there was only one air conditioning unit at times it became unbareable to eat. The all inclusive was great and served named brand produce my kids enjoyed the ice creams and milkshakes. They also enjoyed the chocolate fountain of a lunch time. The best place to eat for lunch was definately at the splash bar it was cool and still had a good choice of dishes. The pool in the exequitive area has a slide but bear in mind that this pool is a lot deeper throughout for younger children and can become very busy. The kids club staff where fantastic and had a varied program set out twice a day thanks go to 'Lucy' 'Hannah' 'Sylvia' and 'Martin'. The evening entertainment was a bit poor though there was a kids disco at 8.45 for 1 hour and then a 1 hour performance from dance groups the only show that was worth watching was the African dancers. There is no really area to sit and watch the shows you sit on cushions in the amphitheatre and drinks are served from a cool box. By going to the shows meant you would loose your outdoor sitting area at the captains bar which then meant you could only sit inside which was excessively hot. My family and I often split into 2 groups in order to keep our outdoor table so that my daughter could still go to the disco. Overall very good hotel but let down by air con.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

I have just returned with my husband and 6 year old son from the St Raphael Resort. We were looking for a relaxing break in the sun and were not disappointed. Following other reviews we stayed all inclusive in the Executive Wing. Our room was modern spotlessley clean with a large terrace overlooking the pool and marina as do all the executive rooms. Each terrace had a table and 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers so we could relax in the sunshine on the terrace whilst our son cooled off watching a film or playing the play station.

There was a sliding door which partitioned off the main bedroom from a bunk bed in the entrance to the room. The room was fully airconditioned with a mini bar and flat screen tv although we did not use the mini bar as we preferred to bring a drink to the room in the evening as we were staying all inclusive.

The staff were without exception friendly polite and helpful. We particularly found Sergei in the Splash Bar and the staff in The Captains Bar and all of the restaurants to be attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. We did not eat in the Italian Restaurant following comments that the choice was limited. We ate in the Palladium Restaurant which was Buffet service but with a wide selection of salads and hot foods and desserts. The food was delicious and we never had one poor meal during our stay. Breakfat was also buffet style.

We particularly enjoyed lunch at the Splash Bar, There was the usual chips and pizza etc for the children, but a lovely salad bar and they also served hot food incluing roasted vegetables (delicious) and hot fish and meats. There was definitely something to suit all tastes.

Being all inclusive meant that all our drinks inlcudng soft drinks, cocktails, wine, spirits and champagne by the glass were included. There was no need to order branded drinks since the local drinks were of good quality. We would definitely recommend being all inclusive the quality was excellent.

The only disadvantage we could foresee would be if you were staying possibly for longer than a week and looking for entertainment outside the hotel. Restaurants and bars appeared to be limited to one or two within walking distance and Limassol itself is a good 15 minutes bus/taxi ride.

We loved this Hotel and will definitely return. Our son loved the slide which was located in the swimming pool in front of the Executive wing. The hotel is also directly on the beach and has its own marina and you can hire pedalos, speed boats or go on banana boats etc if you are feeling energetic.

If you are looking for good weather relaxation excellent food and attentive staff then give this hotel a try.

  • Liked — modern clean large terrace
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for a weekend in June. We had the impression that St Raphael was a luxury place to be.But we were wrong!The hotel looks really old, it needs a major refubrishment really soon. Its location is not an ideal one as it is situated a bit far from the city centre. We did not mind that, as we were seeking for some peace and rest. Our room was a medium-size one, the curtains were really old and dusty, the carpet as well, toilet was ok but there were not any beach towels. The swimming pool was a bit dirty and the water had a funny smell. Clearly this hotel was built 20 years ago! It is about time to change some things!Breakfast was really good, and you could choose to eat or drink from a very large buffet. The problem was that it was really crowded and noisy. Do not choose this hotel if you are looking for a luxury clean and nice hotel. This is not the one!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — swimming pool and rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Raphael Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Raphael Resort

Address: 502 Amathus Avenue | P.O.Box 51064, Limassol 3594, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Limassol
#9 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Raphael Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Raphael Resort, Cyprus' leading all inclusive resort, offering it's unique Ultra All Inclusive package, as well as other terms of stay, made to suit each individual requirement whether for a holiday, wedding, business trip or group event.LocationLocated on the South Coast of Cyprus on the outskirts of Limassol, on one of the largest blue flag accredited sandy beaches, the St. Raphael combines all the advantages of a carefully chosen, tranquil location: the calm sea at our doorstep and the colourful liveliness of Limassol just a few miles away.Accommodation272 rooms and suites. 90% of our rooms have magnificient views over the Mediterranean Sea with a balcony. Every room is equipped with air-conditioning, safety deposit boxes, colour plasma 26 inch tv, radio, direct dial telephone, internet access, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities and hairdryer. To add to the luxurious tone 6 Admiral Suites with a private Jacuzzi are also available.RestaurantsThere are six excellent choices of restaurants to suit all moods and occasions, including our recently built Sea Shells Beach Tavern on St Raphael Beach and the Sailor's Rest Lounge Bar Restaurant for exquisite fine dining experiences by the St Raphael Marina.BarsThree magnificent bars are available in the resort. These include the Captain's Bar and Terrace with breathtaking views over the Mediterranean Sea and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Raphael Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Raphael Hotel Limassol
St Raphael Limassol
St Raphael Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Raphael Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.