We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST IN TOWN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palio Varka

Palio Varka
1 Vasillsis Street, Limassol, Cyprus
+35725347171
Improve this listing
Ranked #270 of 346 Restaurants in Limassol
Price range: $12 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Traditional Fish Restaurant. This means fresh fish, cooked how we cook it at home, fried, grilled or steamed. No meze, since we do not eat meze at home! We have "specials" on a regular basis, depending on the kind of fish we get, and we have "platters" for those who may want to try "a little bit of everything". All our starters are prepared by us. We never serve something we buy ready-made... "tahini", "tarama", "horta" are some of our starters. We use the best and freshest ingredients, but do not ask if the shrimp is fresh - there is no shrimp fishing in Cyprus, except for a very very limited period of the year!We were awarded the "Time Out - Cyprus" 1st prize for "Best Fish Restaurant in Cyprus" for 2012.We welcome reservations for parties and we cater for all your events. Drop us a line or, better, drop by!
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
“BEST IN TOWN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We go there regularly. The setting is wonderful, the location is best in LImassol, just opposite the mediavel Castle. But, above all, the food is always varied and well-cooked - that is, if you know how to eat fish in Cyprus. I admit, a tourist might find it a little overwhelming, because people do not eat much fist in Europe or America. Or, they eat it cooked in a different way. For us, however, it is the best! Sardines on the grill... seafood platters... sometimes whole 5 kgr snapper (if we are enough to eat it)... great music, good service, very very reasonable prices - do not forget, you are eating fish in Cyprus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice but Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with a group of friends which had never been o CYprus before , I wanted them to experience a fish meze , but once we were all settled and ready to order we were told that they do not do meze ,but sell fish by kg . Ok We decided to order several dishes for the table to share to be like a meze .The food and wine were excellent also the location is very nice - a stone throw away from the old castle . All my friends were really impressed with the evening , but when it came to the bill I was startled at the price - for Cyprus standards it was very high .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodoros A, Owner at Palio Varka, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest, we strive to keep our prices as affordable as possible. Maybe you do not know that fresh fish at the fish-market costs from 20 to 50 Euros a kilogram, and you can buy it to cook at home. It is, therefore, unfair to call a restaurant which charges for that same fish from 30 to 65 Euros a kilogram "expensive". Affordable or not affordable would be a fairer term... but, expensive? Compared to what? Home cooking or restaurants that charge 80 Euros a kilogram for fish? You are very welcome, when again in Limassol, to come by and be informed about the prices of fresh fish. Thank you very much for the time you took to review our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanremo, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A GOOD PLACE FOR FRESH FISH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fish taverna just beside the castle. Fancy rustic decoration. Very fresh food, well prepared and well served. Certainly one of the best in Limassol city for who "loves" to eat fish. I was expecting an "insane" bill, but I was wrong. 41,50€ total for two persons. *But we never drink wine*

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodoros A, Owner at Palio Varka, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We always try to offer the very best and we do stock very nice affordable wines as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igualada, Spain
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Good restaurant, just opposite the Limassol Castle & Museum.

They show you the catches of the day and you choose the fish. It's a bit expensive for the standards in Cyprus, but we got a whole seabass at €50/kg, it was 900 gr so €45 for two. Add the starters and the wine and it was €73 (for two). As I said, a bit expensive for Cyprus, but it was a delightful dinner.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodoros A, Owner at Palio Varka, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We do not share your opinion, however, that our restaurant is (even a bit) "expensive for the standards of Cyprus". Same should be compared with same... yes, one can eat take-away kebabs in Cyprus for 6 or 7 Euros, but one cannot eat fresh fish, even at home, for less than 20 to 70 Euros a kilogram, depending on the fish. We try to keep our prices as affordable as possible, and we do serve dishes which are cheaper. Our fish-soup, prepared from fresh fish, has been set to 5 Euros for the last 4 years, and the bread is free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio Varka also viewed

 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Palio Varka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio Varka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.