We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Traditional Food at Local prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forsos Tavern

Forsos Tavern
Agiou Eleftheriou 49 | Mouttagiaka Community, Limassol 4527, Cyprus
357-25-329490
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 939 Restaurants in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Food at Local prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place serves great food at great prices. in the summer the court yard is very scenic and in the colder times the inside is very well presented aswell. Have been here a few times and its a very popular place for tourists and locals. would highly recommend

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

After hearing about this place we were excited about going there,but in the end i wish that we did not.The service is slow,they call it cyprus meze but there is no hommus,no egg plant dip,only tahini dip which was terrible.Small salad,and about 12 meat dishes all greasy which made us sick the next day.We only ordered pepsi but the tried to charge us for a bottle of wine 15 euros but i caught them on that,very shifty.Even when the set menu is finished they don't even bring any fruits or sweets and they call it a cyprus meze?.If you want a fantastic cyprus meze go to the Aphrodite intercontinental hotel food court the meze is proper from start to finish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antreas K, Manager at Forsos Tavern, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello i am the manager of the forsos tavern . If you had any problem at your visit call us 25329490 we want to find out what happened. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A true sample of the Cyprus food - all on real charcoal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a traditional taverna with top class local food.

Despite this it is very popular with tourists, who look for authentic Cyprus food.

It is one of the best local tavernas on the island.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had a lovely time here. It's a proper authentic place and I especially liked the outdoor surroundings. The food is fresh, as the huge amount of customers they serve each day would suggest and I thoroughly enjoyed the food and experience.

Very much enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it. A little difficult to find, but once you find it there's enough parking which makes up for that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“OverValued place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this palce is over valued.
Tourist get excited when they go there but for locals this is not the best food.

The Cyprus Meze you can get there is average.
The service on busy days is very slow and the food quantity is small.

As for the price is is not very expensive but not cheep either.
As a local i do not favour this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forsos Tavern also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Forsos Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsos Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.