We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hobo's Steak House

Hobo's Steak House
14 Athinon Avenue, Larnaka, Cyprus
70000888
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 208 Restaurants in Larnaka
Price range: $37 - $81
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

On our latest trip to Larnaca we had lunch and dinner here almoust every day.
We had lunch in the Open-Air Café and dinner on the second floor. (elevator)
Very tasty food and, you´ll get 20% discount every day you eat there after the first.
Very nice... you can have a two-course lunch with wine/beer for 25 euros/2 pers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    95
    37
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

And the view from the window was to die for...equipped with high chairs, and clean restrooms. The elevator was a bit cramped up, but had no choice as I had a push chair.

The meal was awesome, & reasonably priced

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good steak, good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The top floor of Hobo restaurant is Hobos Steakhouse. You have to take the elevator to get up there, or the stairs on the back of the building. Great location right in the middel of the bars and restaurants. The service was good and they tried their best to get you seated where you want. Good food, but more expencive than the average restaurant around. But better food!

If you want a table on the balcony on a friday or saturday, you should make an reservation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional premium grade steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to Hobo's for years Everytime I'm in Cyprus and not once have I ever been disappointed. I'm living in South Africa so I know about great tasting meat and am very often disappointed by European steakhouses. They often have small cuts of meat which are drowned in sauces to hide the blandness of the often overcooked meat. Not so with Hobo's. Their mest cuts are extremely tasty and while they will comply with any request to overcook your meat and drown it in sauce as the rest of Europe does, it's when you order your meat medium rare or even rare that you really taste the difference !

The Meat is very tasty and succulent.
The prices are not for the budget conscious (though to be fair I've had more expensive meals which were not as good as this elsewhere) yet they are also not extreme either.

The service is very good with staff who speak English and Greek pretty well despite most of them not being a native speaker of either language.
The only criticism I do have is that they tend to overcook the Meat so if you want medium-rare then ordering rate will yield the result you had in mind.

Over the years I have not noticed any degradation in the quality of either their food or their service.

I would honestly say that this restuarant competes very favorably with Agentinian style steak houses in Holland and the top steak houses of South Africa (albeit at higher European prices)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in Larnaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Having visited the restaurant on my last visit to Cyprus I was looking forward to going again, and I was not disappointed. On the first visit I had the special chicken and had rice with the meal - just excellent. We were given a voucher for 20% off our next meal - so I had steak dianne, this was just amazing. The voucher took €22 off the final bill which was effectively a free meal!! We received another voucher so went back a few days later. The views from the restaurant are stunning - looking out across the beach and along the promenade. The staff are very attentive but not to overpowering with their service. A must visit restaurant when in Larnaca.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobo's Steak House also viewed

Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to Hobo's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobo's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.