We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larnaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bougainvillea Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Bougainvillea Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
12 Agia Anna Village, Larnaka 7641, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Larnaka B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I have been travelling for over 30 years staying at B&B' s world wide and this is one of the best we have stayed in. The main credit must go to the host(Graeme Johnstone) of course, who collects you from the airport, gets a cheap rate for the hire car, gives advice and suggestions where to go and eat, cooks excellent breakfasts, varying each day. Also cooks magnificent evening meals upon request at a very reasonable rate. A very sociable person who will have a drink with you while discussing the world at large. The beds are king size and very comfortable in a quiet setting which allows you to have a very good sleep. The rooms are very clean and kept so by very good staff. Cyprus is a small island and a car is needed to see the sights Graeme is a regular font of information as to where to go and what to see. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B if you stay in Cyprus. It deserves its No 1 ranking.

Room Tip: All rooms very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Located in a very small village (Aiga Anna), with literally nothing to see or do. But don't take this as a negative remark: the village has a certain charm, there are 2 very good taverns (eat Mezze at both!) & 1 little shop.
About the B&B: the place is wonderfull, cosy, modern, neat, and ran by an couple from New Zealand: Graham & Jenny! These are such nice hosts, superfriendly, always very helpfull, open for conversations & providers of very tastefull breakfests!
We stayed here for 1 week in June 2011 & would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet & charming atmosphere. Relax in the morning & evening in your room & terrace or with the hosts, and rent a car to see the beautifull Cypress during the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wonderful, luxurious bed & breakfast in the charming village of Agia Anna. Beautiful home, beautiful surroundings, peaceful. Balcony with views into nature and Agia Anna. The best thing is the incredible hospitality . . . from delicious gourmet breakfasts . . . to outstanding advice on what sites to see & how to get to them . . . from good coffee in good armchairs . . . to interesting conversations and lots of laughter. A definite treat of a holiday, a little slice of heaven :) We’d love to go back --- I’d recommend you go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have for the last 15 years spent our holidays visiting many cities of the world,we decided to have a change this year and have a relaxing holiday away from it all,we were not dissapointed.From our arrival, throughout our stay and right through to leaving we were spoilt by our host Grahame who was not only a walking travel guide but the most wonderful chef who made breakfasts a delight which kept us fed for hours,we asked him to cook us an evening meal for our wedding anniversary and we were overwhelmed by the food he prepared for us it was sheer delight.Shemesh Villa was a peaceful haven away from it all,the house was clean and a home from home,the balcony outside the bedroom a spacious living space to relax and watch village life pass by.Having the choice of two tavernas in the village was lovely for an evening stroll but if you wanted to visit the coast for some lively night life then Larnaca harbour was only a 15 minute journey.Shemesh Villa and Grahame have changed the way we want to holiday from now on-it was simply amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent ten nights at Shemesh Villa in the care of its gracious and charming host,Grahame Johnston, and his attentive assistants in Ayia Anna. From the first email contact in December to our last day in May, Grahame was informative, jovial, a wonderful cook and butler, and a factotum extraordinaire for all needs and services.

The Villa's accommodations were spacious and airy, a king-bedded room with full terrace and a view toward village, hills and trees. The ensuite bathroom was nicely fitted and the room's closets and furnishings were features of quality. Breakfast was full of fresh fruits, cereals, youghurt and a delicious cook dish. A private kitchen is available to clients for a modest fee, but we found that his own dinners were very good. Twice he prepared a fine meal for us with generous wine included in the just price. The Villa has been recognized as Cyprus' best one in recent years. The award of excellence is deserved. The young assistants were added positive members of staff, doing laundry and bringing drinks or tea on request.

Larnaca is close so car rentals and good restaurants are right at hand. The centrality of Ayia Anna allowed tourist visits to most locations in North and South Cyprus by car. We broke the ten days at Shemesh Villa into two five day periods and spent two night in Paphos. Grahame let us keep most of our luggage at the Villa while we took overnight gear to the West. Grahame collected us on arrival at Larnaca 9 May, and delivered us to Ercan for the flight to Istanbul 21 May. We paid him gladly for these services, but he did not bill us. He is, finally, a very funny fellow, obviously loved by one and all.

Cyprus is a wonder on the Earth once one passes over the new vulgar modern cities to see the stunning artistic, historical, and archeological sites and the grand beauty of mountains and seascape. Shemesh Villa is a comfortable, polished location from which to make these discoveries.

Room Tip: There are two rooms only, one with shower/bath, the other with shower. The room with shower/bath was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

As per so many of the other reviews, we had a terrific time at the Shemesh Villa.

Grahame is a terrific host and can help you out in so many different ways. You get picked up from the airport, helped with finding a rental car, given maps and instructions for whatever you want to do on the island, and he even spent a night with us at the local taverna which was one of the highlights of our trip. The place itself is very clean and welcoming, and outstanding breakfasts. We hope to get back some day!

Room Tip: Book early as this is popular for a reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killi village, Paphos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have stayed in Shemesh Villa on June 2nd. We had an exceptional breakfast which we have never experienced enywhere slse. Beautiful house, clean rooms and wonderful environment. Most of all: the attitude of the owner made us feell at home. Thank you, Graham

Room Tip: Just go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12 Agia Anna Village, Larnaka 7641, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional Cypriot stone villa offering private king-bed rooms with en suites suitable for up to two couples. Enjoy wonderful hospitality. Delicious breakfast every morning! Lunches and superb dinners by arrangement. Full of charm and tranquility. Hidden away from the hassles of busy tourist areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.