We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Achilleos City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Achilleos City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Achilleos City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka
Sigtuna, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights in May 2013 and really enjoyed by stay. I chose the "Grand Superior" room which gave me a sitting room, bedroom and a bathroom with a Jacuzzi / hot tub.
The hotel doesn't have a pool but since you're literally a stone-throw away from the beach I don’t value a pool that highly. The rooms are all modern and although I don't know the actual build date, it must have been fitted and finished within the last 12 months. Furniture is modern and comfortable and the bed was really comfortable. I'm really hard to please when it comes to hotel beds but this one I'll give 8 out of 10. The rooms are individually air-conditioned but you should be aware that there are widow sensors so when your windows are open, the aircon won’t run.
Breakfast was included in the price and is served on the top floor with nice views over the sea and city - you can choose to sit indoor or on the terrace. The breakfast itself is simple but sufficient. Staff is friendly and helpful and they were always willing to give me pointers on what’s-what in town. The location of the hotel is one street from the main beach strip and right in the middle of town. You're surrounded by restaurants, bars and night clubs so you're spoiled for choice.
I'd recommend this hotel to people I know and will use it again when I come back.

Room Tip: I chose the Grand Superior room which was not only good value but provides a good size "sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing Achilleos City Hotel and thank you for your rich and beautiful comment!
Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel next time you visit!

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
77
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is brilliant. It's literally 100m from the Beach 'strip' which has a wealth of Bars and Restauraunts, or a thirty-second walk if you use McDonalds rear entrance which is never a problem.

The staff from the maids to the breakfast staff & receptionists are all very pleasant. The hotel receptionists told us we could request laptop computers and games consoles to use in our room, we didn't, but still something I thought was good.

The room itself was of ample size, spotlessly clean and very modern. I've read other reviews on here complaining about noise on the 1st floor - what noise?! The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was great.

Breakfast was from 7:30-10:00 and is offered on the 4th floor, in a room with a panoramic view of the beach, it's a great touch, especially when the weather in Cyprus is usually beautiful. There was plenty to offer for breakfast, something for everyone.

All-in-all I haven't a bad word to say about this hotel, from the hotel itself and the location - Perfect. I'm already thinking about when I'm going to return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you here in the first place and we are hoping that your return at the hotel will be very soon.

Thank you for your great review and we hope to hear from you again!

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. If you need a hotel and want only to pay for the facilities that you use, then the Achilleous City Hotel may be the answer. The hotel has been recently upgraded and looks new, bright and contemporary inside. So why is this described as an 'Inside out' hotel ?, The answer is that the facilities include a modern, high tech comfortable bedroom with en suite shower room and a very good breakfast room on the fourth floor. A small seating area on the ground floor by reception - and that's it. When you go outside, turn right and you are in the centre of town for shops and tavernas; turn left and walk 100 metres and you are on the sea front, beach and bars. The bonus being that the hotel is located in a narrow one-way street behind the sea front hotels, therefore hardly any noise can be heard.

So, to sum up, if you plan to use a hotel to have a good nights sleep in a good quality room, take breakfast in the morning and then spend you cash on the holiday itself (outside), then this hotel ticks all of the boxes.

Room Tip: The views are not great from the rooms as you simply see the rooftops of properties or shop fronts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that your experience at Achilleos City Hotel was pleasant.
The Achilleos team thanks you for your positive comments and we are hopping to see you again as soon as possible.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Due to an early morning flight, we wrote an email to Achilleos Hotel one week in advance (their website wasn't working) asking if two rooms were availability for our last night in Cyprus. They promptly responded that they had availability, we needed only to send them our credit card information to hold the rooms, which we did. A few minutes later we received another email from Achilleos Hotel saying they were unfortunately fully booked that night. We thought this course of events was strange, but we went on to book rooms at another Larnaca hotel. However, the next week I checked my credit card charges on-line and found Achilleos Hotel had charged us for that night, as "no shows". I couldn't believe it! I wrote them and asked them to reverse the charges, since it was obviously a mistake on their part. How could they charge us for these rooms when they told us they had no vacancy? To their credit, they DID reverse the charges and apologized for their error. But what would have happened if I had not checked the charges made to my card? It was all extremely strange.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Well priced (at Euro 84.00), this boutique-like hotel is close to the beach, McDonalds, TGIF, and a selection of shops. The small reception is deceptive, because this is a hotel with a heart.

The rooms are very small, but extremely well equipped to a good/excellent standard (please check if your power outlets are actually working - not all do). The minute bathroom takes a little while to get used to, but is otherwise also well equipped.

An eco-friendly hotel without making you feel bad.

Parking is an adventure (well, it's Larnaca after all), and if you rent, get a small car.

But, folks, 4 Euros for a small coffee in the reception?

Limassol and Nicosia are both about 45 - 50 min drive away (great freeway with little traffic).

Overall, a good choice for the business and vacation traveller who wants free working WiFi, a neat little flatscreen TV (with limited channels) and a view - well, over various adjacent apartments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments.
We will take everything you pointed out into consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice hotel. Restaurant on the fourth floor had a lovely sunny disposition with a great view of the beach and a good selection for breakfast which was included in the price.

Room had 2 single beds and when I commented that we wanted a double was told to push the beds together. The room was nice with everything you could want except a window with a view. We always like fresh air In our rooms but we didn't bother to try to open the small window facing a laneway.

We would stay here again if we return to Larnaca because you couldn't fault the price or the position and we enjoyed the night we spent here. Late check out at 12 and on site parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your nice comments.
Hope to seeing you again.

Best regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were two weeks at the hotel. Location is good near by beach. There was free and fast internet. Staff was helpfull. Breakfast was good. One minus: the minibar was broken and that same problem was in every room. Room was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
It was our pleasure having you here.
Regarding the mini bar, it was not operational during your stay but it is now.
Please accept our apologies.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Address: Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achilleos City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.