We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth considering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Achilleos City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Achilleos City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Achilleos City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka
New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth considering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Well priced (at Euro 84.00), this boutique-like hotel is close to the beach, McDonalds, TGIF, and a selection of shops. The small reception is deceptive, because this is a hotel with a heart.

The rooms are very small, but extremely well equipped to a good/excellent standard (please check if your power outlets are actually working - not all do). The minute bathroom takes a little while to get used to, but is otherwise also well equipped.

An eco-friendly hotel without making you feel bad.

Parking is an adventure (well, it's Larnaca after all), and if you rent, get a small car.

But, folks, 4 Euros for a small coffee in the reception?

Limassol and Nicosia are both about 45 - 50 min drive away (great freeway with little traffic).

Overall, a good choice for the business and vacation traveller who wants free working WiFi, a neat little flatscreen TV (with limited channels) and a view - well, over various adjacent apartments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments.
We will take everything you pointed out into consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
77
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice hotel. Restaurant on the fourth floor had a lovely sunny disposition with a great view of the beach and a good selection for breakfast which was included in the price.

Room had 2 single beds and when I commented that we wanted a double was told to push the beds together. The room was nice with everything you could want except a window with a view. We always like fresh air In our rooms but we didn't bother to try to open the small window facing a laneway.

We would stay here again if we return to Larnaca because you couldn't fault the price or the position and we enjoyed the night we spent here. Late check out at 12 and on site parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your nice comments.
Hope to seeing you again.

Best regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were two weeks at the hotel. Location is good near by beach. There was free and fast internet. Staff was helpfull. Breakfast was good. One minus: the minibar was broken and that same problem was in every room. Room was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
It was our pleasure having you here.
Regarding the mini bar, it was not operational during your stay but it is now.
Please accept our apologies.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel is not near the beach but you can see the beach from the terrace.Surrounding buildings are not very nice.Internet was free and fast.You can connect with the same password with many devices at the same time (iphone,ipad...etc).Breakfast was good enough with good view of beach.Bed in the suite was small for tall guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
It was great accommodating you here.

Hope to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Achilleos Hotel is a lovely modern hotel in the heart of Larnaca, minutes from the sea front. The staff are friendly and helpful. The standard rooms are small but deigned nicley to make good use of space with a nice little balcony. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful in a beautiful sunlight room on the top floor. Just a few meters from the front door are loads of restuarants, cafes and bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
It was a real pleasure having you here.

Looking forward to welcoming you back .

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I had a week at the hotel and considered it to be well located, very close to the sea front, (not facing the sea) breakfasts were excellent (on the top floor with view out to the sea) and room was clean and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a hire car, which we were able to park outside the hotel. We were able to watch BBC World news although we would normally try to forget the news on holiday. Shower worked well and it is hard to find any drawback with the hotel. I suppose it could be a little noisy in the early hours but that would apply to all hotels near the sea front in Larnaca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you could sit outside in the sunshine and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your nice comments.
Hope to see you again.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had just come from a dreadful hotel in another part of Cyprus, so the contrast here was even more marked!
On arrival, a smiling welcome and an upgrade to a suite, plus a complimentary capuccino while we waited for the room to be made ready (we were early) - asked the receptionist to book us a restaurant for the evening and a taxi to the airport next morning - no problem!
The room was clean, modern, with a nice modern bathroom with spacious shower and rain-water head - 2 flat screen TVs and a comfortable double bed.
Two minor issues - the promised 'coffee maker' was in fact a kettle and some sachets of instant coffee, and the mini bar was out of order - sort this, please guys!
One possible large issue - we were woken several times during the night by noisy drunken groups passing in the street outside - I don't know if this was a one-off and bad luck, or whether the hotel is on a 'route' of some kind - it wouldn't be very nice if it happened every night - but it was a Friday, and they did sound British! (Don't they all?)
A particular compliment for the breakfast in a top floor room with a panoramic view - we had to grab it quickly due to an early flight, but it looked pretty good - freshly squeezed orange juice, platter of fresh fruit etc - nice!
I would not hesitate to book this hotel when I return to Larnaca, despite the minor quibbles mentioned above.

Room Tip: If you could get a non-street facing room it might be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments.
We will take everything you pointed out into consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Address: Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achilleos City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.