We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent town centre hotel in Larnaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Achilleos City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Achilleos City Hotel to your Saves list
Achilleos City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent town centre hotel in Larnaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had just come from a dreadful hotel in another part of Cyprus, so the contrast here was even more marked!
On arrival, a smiling welcome and an upgrade to a suite, plus a complimentary capuccino while we waited for the room to be made ready (we were early) - asked the receptionist to book us a restaurant for the evening and a taxi to the airport next morning - no problem!
The room was clean, modern, with a nice modern bathroom with spacious shower and rain-water head - 2 flat screen TVs and a comfortable double bed.
Two minor issues - the promised 'coffee maker' was in fact a kettle and some sachets of instant coffee, and the mini bar was out of order - sort this, please guys!
One possible large issue - we were woken several times during the night by noisy drunken groups passing in the street outside - I don't know if this was a one-off and bad luck, or whether the hotel is on a 'route' of some kind - it wouldn't be very nice if it happened every night - but it was a Friday, and they did sound British! (Don't they all?)
A particular compliment for the breakfast in a top floor room with a panoramic view - we had to grab it quickly due to an early flight, but it looked pretty good - freshly squeezed orange juice, platter of fresh fruit etc - nice!
I would not hesitate to book this hotel when I return to Larnaca, despite the minor quibbles mentioned above.

Room Tip: If you could get a non-street facing room it might be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments.
We will take everything you pointed out into consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    65
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
85
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach CA.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week! March 17-24
I manage a large resort in California, so I am quite picky! Room was nice, comfortable bed. Good TV stations! Bathroom although small was function able. Would recommend superior room option or suite. Breakfast was great! Fresh items daily, cereals, fruit, bagels, hot options too! Breakfast staff 2 ladies from Romania were wonderful. As we're front desk staff. Staff went beyond the call of duty in that when I checked out and arrived at the Airport, I realized that I had left my I-phone in the room. I had only 1 hour for flight departure. I called them to see if they could mail it to USA. They responded that they had found my phone and had called a taxi to bring it to me! Taxi made it on time. They really care about their guests!

Although a small boutique hotel without all the whistles and bells of a larger hotel, it is in good location. staff are wonderful! I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
We are trying to do our best for all our clients.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just stayed for a week at this hotel. Our room was good - the beds comfortable, the bathroom small but functioned well. The breakfast room upstairs was very clean and pleasant with lovely views of the sea over the rooftops. I looked forward every day to the Greek yogurt with honey and walnuts and the fresh orange juice and there was plenty of other food to choose from if you wanted something more substantial. The reception staff were all very helpful especially Inna who answered our many questions politely and efficiently. The hotel is in a very convenient location to the palm tree lined promenade and beach. The only slight downside was that our room could be noisy at times especially if the door to the balcony was open but when shut, the double glazing cut most of the noise out. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and we would happily come back any time.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It was great having you here.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed there for a night but i wish i could stay more.. Breakfast; services; rooms were an excellent.. A hotel also, very closer to marine.. You can find any type restaurants and bars around the hotel.. im sure i ll be there next time more days...

Room Tip: second or hird floor i guess much better about view the city..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
It was a great pleasure having you here.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for a week in late Feb/early March. Rooms very well appointed and extremely clean, breakfast (in fourth floor breakfast room) excellent and good selection with lovely view over the beach and sea - I particularly recommend the thick Greek yogurt and the oranges and freshly-squeezed orange juice. Reception staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and we felt really welcome. Convenient location near the sea front and shops. There was a slight intermitttent problem with hot water but when we reported it to reception management were already dealing with it. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
We totally appreciate the nice comments you shared with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again here.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just got back from staying at this cracking hotel in Larnaca for 1 week in February 2013. Great location just near the seashore promenade, very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable clean rooms. Price excellent. Breakfast excellent - the best part is the breakfast room on the top floor which is immaculate and has beautiful views across the beach and bay as you munch on your fresh croissant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It was nice to accommodate you here.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Having read the reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at this hotel as it seemed good value,was centrally situated and would at least provide reasonable accommodation for our 3 night stay. Wow we were blown away by this little gem of a hotel. Forget the official star rating - this hotel has a real up-market feel and we have stayed in many 4 and some 5 star hotels which have not matched our experience at the Achilleos. All the staff were friendly, professional and obliging, the hotel and room was clean and very tastefully decorated with nice "designer" touches throughout. Don't expect a view from the room or balcony - it is a city hotel - but the view from the terrace and breakfast room is beautiful and overlooks the sea! The breakfast was well presented and delicious and served in a beautifully designed room -very chic! There is no pool but the sea and beach is a stone's throw away and yes I did go swimming (we were there Feb. 25th to 28th). The sea was about the same temperature as UK south coast resorts in July or August so was bearable and we had lovely warm sunny weather throughout our stay. Please try this hotel - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review.
It was a great pleasure having you here.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Address: Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achilleos City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.