We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ungodly smell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Achilleos City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Achilleos City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Achilleos City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 hotels in Larnaka
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“ungodly smell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I assume it was from insecticide or fumigation?

great service, decent breakfast and passable rooms but nothing could make up for the awful smell of the hotel

too bad about the odor in the halls as otherwise the hotel was decent but hard to believe it is #1????????????????

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay.
We regret to hear you had such a negative experience during your visit.
We understand there could be a strange smell at a given time, but I personally assure you it is not a permanent situation.
We would like to clarify that our hotel had a grand renovation and reopened as a luxurius city hotel with excellent service and reviews.
Allow me to point out that the first position in ranking is the result of the hard work of all the employees in Achilleos City Hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
64
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eilat, HaDarom, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it , the room was the best ( we were upgraded for free) ,hotel location is very good close to everywhere and the hotel staff were very kind and helpful.
Breakfast was served on the roof with a stunning view of the sea .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It was a great pleasure to accommodate you here.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Probably my first experience of Larnaca and the hotel was getting lost. Larnaca itself is a warren of one way street and this hotel is located on a very small back street. IF YOU'RE GOING TO DRIVE TO THE HOTEL, ENSURE YOU RESERVE A GPS.

That said, the hotel is right off the water and next to a McDonald's (no smell and nothing awful, just a landmark) but it is very tough to find. Parking is very hard, and while the hotel offers free parking, one needs to reserve it. Even so, that doesn't guaranty you will have a spot, but it gives you "standing". SO if you anticipate needing parking, email ahead.

The hotel is less than a block off the beach and staff is really helpful with advice on nearby restaurants and sights.There is plenty to do with in a short walk.

The hotel is clean, but perhaps not perfectly maintained--a window would not stay shut, the "minibar," a mini vending machine in the room, was broken.The hotel has nice fixtures, lots of stone, the shower was really nice, and everything well designed. The breakfast buffet offered a nice selection of items. Staff was very nice and extra friendly.

Would I stay here a gain? If I had to go to Larnaca and I had a GPS, yes I would.

Room Tip: I chose a superior room and it did not have an ocean view. I think I would forgoe that the next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
We appreciate the time you spent for your review .
We will take into consideration every point you shared with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a clean, comfortable, modern hotel in a great location. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help. Breakfast was also very good. This is a great value hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel .
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As a 2 star hotel we were expecting a grotty place, but from stepping into the Hotel we were treated great, nothing was too much trouble for them, I found that I was allergic to the memory foam mattress and mentioned it to the receptionist who had it turned over especially, the complimentary breakfast was excellent, the hotel has all the mod cons that you could wish for, Mood lighting in the rooms, wet room power showers etc it was better than some 4 & 5 star Hotels that we have stayed in especially in cyprus, and to top it all a wall mounted TV and even a Clock on the bedside table, it surpassed itself in every way, I would not hesitate to stay there again, and the receptionists were so helpful in every way, And we have been going to Cyprus for 30yrs just a shame we didn't find it sooner. Excellent Value in every way.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a Suite they look excellent in fact 1 has a Jaccuzi bath in it. We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
It was a big pleasure for us to have you here.
Thank you for the nice comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night at either end of our trip to Cyprus and it was a great way to start and end the holiday. It's about 10 mins from the airport (15euro taxi ride) and just around the corner from the main water front of the city. We had a standard double the first night, which was smallish but comfortable with a nice bathroom. Only problem there was the shower sprayed everywhere and then that leaked into the room itself, making the floor quite slippery...not the best.
We were upgraded to an executive double for our return night and that was just lovely. Big room, big double bed, nice sofa area and huge bathroom with a shower and double jacuzzi bath. Very comfortable. Both rooms were clean, well laid out and very modern.
The staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was great. The breakfast room is on the top floor with views of the waterfront.
This hotel is great value for money. We originally booked a superior double for our second night and that was 77e. A bargain compared to lots of other places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
Our aim is to keep our guests as happy as possible.
Please accept once more our apologies for all the trouble with the shower.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Address: Mitsi street, Larnaka 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achilleos City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.