We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Larco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Larco Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Pontou Str | PO Box 40137, Larnaka 6533, Cyprus   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
%10 Discount on Room
Ranked #26 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Lodz, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rather average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived during the night because of the late flight, we were tired so we had really good sleep. The breakfast is very basic, stuff was ok - we didn't have any special requests. Parking in the street. The bathroom definitely could have been in better condition but it was the cheapest offer in the airport's neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    31
    27
    16
    32
See reviews for
15
37
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

First I had to do, was to clean the very dirty balcony. Second, open windows, and go out for some hours. There was a very ugly smell from the toilet/shower. The shower-curtain should have been changed one year ago. My room was small for a double. (OK as a single). I doubt that this should be classified as a hotel. I`ts more like a simple hostel. The cleaning lady peeped in just twice during one week. One of the times she even made the bed. The other time just changed towels. So if the room was not very clean from the start, it was even dirtier in the end of my week. Breakfast looked very dull and poor. Served in a room half in the cellar. (A bit dark and depressing.) I had my breakfasts at a hotel in town. (Same price, but value about four times as good. And sea-view,) I did not like the area just around the hotel. But could have been worse. Not everyting was bad here. For instance, no plastic on the matress. But bring your own pillow, if you don´t accept hot synthetic. (You can find these terrible pillows in much more expensive hotels.) Well working AC, funny, spacious lobby, nice pool-area. The pool was small, but very clean. A popular taverna just one minute away. Cheap, but also rather cheap-tasting food. There were more restaurants just a few hundred meters away. A very nice little Super-market behind Larco. But it closed early (7). About 8 minutes walk to a very good beach. 15 minutes to the beginning of "centre-beach-promenade." Don´t try walking to airport. Looks near at the map, but takes more than an hour. Because of where the entrance is located. Price for room was 21€/26€ for single/double without breakfast. That was ok. Some web-sites tried to get up to 100€ for a double. Those who accepted something like that, went very dissappoited. For the moment (a year or so) I recommend to stay away from Larnaca because of road-works. Still worse in Limassol. Go go Fig Tree Bay. Buses to the towns are cheap and frequent.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with large terraces, bottom-floor are the best ones. The balconies are rather smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was a terrible Hotel, Staff very unhelpful, lif broke so had to go down the stairs with buggy etc... Didn't get the room I had booked. Whole place needs a major revamp!!!!

If only girls staying, don't venture out at night as local men hang about outside looking into rooms...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Larco is a cheap and cheerful Hotel in a residential area, convenient for the Airport, I was in my room half an Hour from landing.
I had no problems.

Breakfast was a fairly basic Buffet selection but OK. The Mediterranean Sea was only about 3 Minutes away and the nearest Beach and Restaurants about 5.

The better facilities of central Larnaca were about 15 Minutes walk along the Shore.

There was some Night time noise from the Street but it was probably better than central Larnaca would be.

Swimming Pool was smallish but not crowded and Deckchairs always available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked for one summer weekend night this hotel as was the cheapest we could find. They placed the 2 of us in a large apartment. Place is not spotless but at least the air-conditions where working well. Little bit smelly, the furniture is very old, too many stairs everywhere you have to watch out always, even in the apartment. It is a short walking distance from the closest beach so I guess this is a plus. We had a good night sleep although our room was watching the street we haven't been disrupt at all. Breakfast is acceptable, but the coffee is horrible. The girls in the reception are very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Apartments in the first floor got huge balcony with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Having booked this hotel before reading any reviews made me feel very uneasy. However I was pleasantly surpised. The room although simple, was clean. The furniture was old but it's a 2 star hotel!!! There was hot water in the morning and the corridors are well lit,The loaction is very convenient 10 min. walk to Marina and some excellent sea food Resturants. Swimming pool and fitness room are well maintained. The wi fi was fast!The Staff mostly from East Europe are friendly and cooperative. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Simple hotel, nice swimming pool. Not too far away from the beach, but a bit of a walk to resort centre.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Larco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larco Hotel

Address: 10 Pontou Str | PO Box 40137, Larnaka 6533, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Larco Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area of Larnaca, 100 meters from the sea, 200 meters from the famous Mackenzie Beach and within only 15 minutes walk to the commercial and tourist center of Larnaca with its famous Palm Tree promenade. "Larco" completely renovated, a two star hotel, beautifully designed and decorated in true Cypriot style. All 55 standard comfortable rooms have bath/shower, direct dial telephone, radio, television with satellite reception, air conditioner, balcony and heating. 24 hours reception, restaurant, cafeteria (breakfast room), bar (24 hours service),free wireless, TV room, safe boxes, lift, exchange service. Every day cleaning. Outdoor swimming pool with children’s pool. Open terrace, garden. Gym. Sauna. Room for games: electronic games, billiard, darts. Free sun beds and umbrellas near the swimming pool. Different entertainment programs. Live music near the swimming pool in the evenings. Swimming pool for children. Service of looking after children (on request).5 minutes from Larnaca airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Larco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larco Hotel Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.