We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid any kind of contact with the manager!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
San Remo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka City 6531, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Avoid any kind of contact with the manager!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Everything about this hotel was great at first. The staff were really nice, the room was clean and included air co which most don't. I would have given this hotel a shining review (apart fro the breakfast which was by far the poorest excuse for a buffet I have ever seen! Except for one major factor when we were leaving1 we got told that our booking did not go through on travel republic (I never got an email off them) and that we would have to pay the hotel directly (double the rate on travel republic)
The woman was really nice about it, I asked if I could just book a room for that night and not stay and she said she couldn't do that which I understood she didn't have the authority to do so I asked to see the owner/manager. He came down about 20 minutes later and didn't even acknowledge me. I had to talk to him through the receptionist. Anyway she ended up getting me pretty much the exact rate in euros but the manager was the rudest thing I've ever come across in a hotel. Also the location is absolutely terrible. All in all I would have been happy if it wasn't for the manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    88
    50
    20
    23
See reviews for
32
78
56
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good place with great location for good value!!!
The receptionsts and the staff were very nice with us as it was the previous time we were there on September 2013. The feeling was like we are at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I didn't know what to expect at the San Remo as the price was quite cheap, but we were pleasantly surprised. The receptionist was very nice and found us a room even though we had arrived before the 2pm check in time. The room was clean, although a little tired, and the bed was comfortable. TV with several english channels and air conditioning included in the price. A fair variety of choice for the continental breakfast with milk for my tea that wasn't long life - lovely!

The hotel is in a quiet area of Larnaca, 15 minutes walk to the fort and 10 minutes walk to Makenzy Beach. They don't have a car park, but parking is free on the street outside.

We enjoyed our stay at the San Remo and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krasnoyarsk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I liked my stay here.I liked all receptionists but people in cleaning service were rather rude even in my small request-it surprised me!
I think the breakfast was not bad and staying for 4 days I was lucky to have hot breakfast once and I could use hot water the whole day!
There is a Russian speaking girl at the reception and it's a great thing for Russian people-she did her best to help people though all the people working in this small hotel were nice and friendly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is old and smells like mould, the sheets dont look so clean or freshly washed.
Their is rarely anyone at the resception to check u in, give u the key to your room and also they keys often lie around for anyone to take them from the reception desk when the receptionist is not there! Anyone can take whatever key and go to whatever room!!! including yours and steal whatever!
Moreover, enragingly enough, In my booking procedure I have asked for a fridge to be included in the room IF POSSIBLE! no one NEVER EVER adviced if this comes with a charge -only at the end of the stay when I was checking out and had to pay for having a fridge the sum of 4 Euro per night when at 4-star hotels the equivalent amount is 1 or two euro!!!! The most annoying of all was the rude and full of attitude old lady at the reception demanding us to pay the "huge amount" ! Absolutely rude and unprofessional!
Breakfast was lousy, 90%-fat ham, instant bad quality coffee and sugary juice!

AVOID!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Fantastic staff day or night. nothing was ever too much and perfect for a good night sleep. crazy nights out was only a short walk away. in a old part of town very original and cool.going again soon as i can. S. Massouras.

Room Tip: don't be shy ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and it was a really good experience. Location is not too bad...close to the beach and since we had a car we could explore a lot of things in Cyprus during our time there. Room was cleaned every day and breakfast isnt bad either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka City 6531, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Remo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.