We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at San Remo Hotel - Larnaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely time at San Remo Hotel - Larnaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at San Remo Hotel for a week in the end of September 2013. The staff was very pleasant and responsive to all inquires that we had. The location is great – walking distance to McKenzie beach (10 minutes) and Larnaca downtown (around 15 minutes). Although it is a two star hotel I didn’t miss anything – clean rooms, furnished simple, but enough good to feel comfortable during the stay. The breakfast was ok – again simple and the same each day, but there were plenty of stores in the neighborhood if the guest would like something more. We are glad that the rest of guests were nice and quite people who were there like us – to get most of their vacation, without making noise or crazy nights with alcohol.
We highly recommend San Remo Hotel and if we visit Laranaca again for sure we will stay there again!
Thank you Paula and the rest of the staff! You made our vacation good experience:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    35
    18
    19
See reviews for
24
67
44
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderfully located hotel between the main 2 Larnaca beaches of McKenzie and Palm Tree. Splendid service, great breakfast and even a offers a gym. The rooms are spacious and clean. My issues with AC were resolved quickly. A friendly hotel to take your family for an unforgettable vacation.

Room Tip: Hotel is close to airport, good for short stays. Ask for a room that faces the swimming pool. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Hotel is worth more than a two star rating. The rooms are clean, the staff are very friendly and will help you as much as they can. The breakfast is more than enough, and the pool area is peaceful.
I did hear people complain about all sorts of things, like the towels not being changed every day, but I think these people forget they are in a 2 star hotel, if they want towels and sheets changed every day, then go to a 5 star hotel!
For us it was perfect like home from home.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here simply because of how near it was to the airport because I'd been staying elsewhere on Cyprus but had a very early flight the following day. Very, very basic but clean and reasonably comfortable. The lady on reception was lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Couldn't tell you about the breakfast as I was too early. The price was very low and I guess what was provided was worth it. Couldn't have stayed here for more than a couple of nights though, I guess I've been too spoilt by other places!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The San Remo is a clean, homely 2 star hotel with a relaxed friendly atmosphere where all staff display excellent natural customer care skills. It is situated in a safe residential area, 5 mins drive from the airport / motorway connection, 15 mins walk to Larnaca town centre / McKenzie Beach, 20 mins walk to Finikoudes Beach where all buses stop & 5 mins walk from the old coast road seafront.

We stayed for 2 weeks in room 308 which had a side sea view and sun on the balcony all day. The room was a good size with ample storage space. Bathroom was compact but functional, towels changed every 3 days, toiletries (soap/shampoo) supplied once. No kettle or hairdryer in room however a hairdryer can be provided free from reception (refundable deposit payable). Safe in room was 2 euros per day plus 10 euro refundable deposit. Beds were very comfortable and we both slept like logs during our stay. Extra pillows / bed covers will be provided if needed just ask reception.
Breakfast was continental... boiled eggs, toast, meats, cheese, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, tea coffee, chocolate and every 3rd day hot food was provided... bacon, sausages and beans.

The pool area was being refurbed ready for the summer season during our stay so did not use this area but pool/pool area was a good size and would be somewhere nice to relax in the heat of the summer months. We looked around the fitness centre which is located off the pool area but did not use it.

The hotel has a small bar with tv but again did not use this area.

There were lots of restaruants in the vicinity but would recommend Alexander's on Larnaca seafront for a very good selection of reasonably priced good quality food.

There were 4 car hire firms within 5 mins of hotel but would recommend Panicos Cycar Rentals 3 mins from hotel on sea front @ 20 euros per day. There is plenty of parking around the San Remo to park your hire car.

There is a taxi office at side of hotel which charges 12 euro to the airport and taxi's be ordered via hotel reception.

For info.... Larnaca's old coast road between the Fort and McKenzie Beach is undergoing a major improvement programme at present and is likely to go on for 2 years however no noise can be heard at the hotel. There has been some disruption to bus service routes due to this work so you will need to check current situation if intending to use local bus services. Intercity bus routes have not been affected.

In conclusion we had a lovely stay at the San Remo and will be returning.

Room Tip: For aviation enthusiasts, ask for a room at front or airport side of hotel to get reasonable views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Conveniently located a few kms from Larnaca airport, near McKenzie Beach and about 20 minutes walk from Larnaca Centre and Finikoudes beach.

The hotel is in a Residential Area an very peaceful. Apart from a Rooster in the area you get very little disturbance despite the proximity to the airport.

Remain realistic and you won't be dissapointed. The hotel is certainly not top end. However, for the price you pay you will get a clean albeit dated room to sleep in and breakfast to set you up for the day.

We were travelling with a 5 month old and were very pleased that despite our regular requests for freshl boiled water and containers to sterlise bottles in the reception staff seemed only too pleased to assist at any time regardless of how busy they were.

Pros: Great location, plenty of parking, close to the Airport, Salt Lake and McKenzie beach. less than 5 minutes drive to Finikoudes or 20 minute walk.

Cons: No free WIFI which in this day and age I find unacceptable. WIFI is charged at 2 Euro for 30 Mins or 5 Euro for daily unlimited use. Breakfast is served 7:00 to 9:30 which I think could do with extending to 10 after all people are on holiday.

Tip: Head to Finikoudes (Larnaca centre) and you will get Free WIFI everywhere

Overall I would happily stay here again for price.

Room Tip: Third floor worked really well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have to admit, when I first saw the rooms in the hotel, I found them very basic. There were a few things I had to request like extra pillows, a hair dryer and an extra duvet to sleep on as the bed was very hard. However, everything I asked for was supplied with a warm smile and dealt with instantly. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was full throughout the two weeks of our stay there and there was a good selection at breakfast. At the end of our stay, we were quite sad to check out. It is situated in a quiet residential area but within walking distance of the hustle and bustle of the town centre. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, then this is not for you. If, however, you want somewhere pleasant to stay while on holiday, then give them a go. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a lift so access is not difficult. I would request the rooms furthest from the lift like nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Remo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.