We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Conveniently located a few kms from Larnaca airport, near McKenzie Beach and about 20 minutes walk from Larnaca Centre and Finikoudes beach.

The hotel is in a Residential Area an very peaceful. Apart from a Rooster in the area you get very little disturbance despite the proximity to the airport.

Remain realistic and you won't be dissapointed. The hotel is certainly not top end. However, for the price you pay you will get a clean albeit dated room to sleep in and breakfast to set you up for the day.

We were travelling with a 5 month old and were very pleased that despite our regular requests for freshl boiled water and containers to sterlise bottles in the reception staff seemed only too pleased to assist at any time regardless of how busy they were.

Pros: Great location, plenty of parking, close to the Airport, Salt Lake and McKenzie beach. less than 5 minutes drive to Finikoudes or 20 minute walk.

Cons: No free WIFI which in this day and age I find unacceptable. WIFI is charged at 2 Euro for 30 Mins or 5 Euro for daily unlimited use. Breakfast is served 7:00 to 9:30 which I think could do with extending to 10 after all people are on holiday.

Tip: Head to Finikoudes (Larnaca centre) and you will get Free WIFI everywhere

Overall I would happily stay here again for price.

Room Tip: Third floor worked really well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    35
    17
    19
See reviews for
24
67
45
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have to admit, when I first saw the rooms in the hotel, I found them very basic. There were a few things I had to request like extra pillows, a hair dryer and an extra duvet to sleep on as the bed was very hard. However, everything I asked for was supplied with a warm smile and dealt with instantly. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was full throughout the two weeks of our stay there and there was a good selection at breakfast. At the end of our stay, we were quite sad to check out. It is situated in a quiet residential area but within walking distance of the hustle and bustle of the town centre. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, then this is not for you. If, however, you want somewhere pleasant to stay while on holiday, then give them a go. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a lift so access is not difficult. I would request the rooms furthest from the lift like nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had been sent to this hotel, because the other we had booked, was closed. this hotel also had the works in move. The room is sad and not so clean, it needs renovation, the hot water was not coming, the hair dryer was at receptionist. To arrive is difficult, because the main street near the sea is under construction and it will be finished in two-year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is loceted in the Larnaca's district located close to the airport and highway and that makes San Remo a good option for tourists travelling by car (you don't have to go through the city centre). Hotel is 200m from the sea but there is no beach closer than 15 min by foot.

We stayed there in the off-season and the price was increadibly low (similar to shared dormitory in some Western European countries). For that money the quality of our stay was excellent. The room was wide and clean enough for 2-star standard. Breakfast was OK, but only every second day they served hot sausages and beacon. There is no option to have dinner there but there are lots of great restaurants around.
I would have given this hotel the highest mark if it was a bit warmer in the room (in February it may be quite cold even in Cyprus) and we had to use air-con as a heater.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is difficult to find. I stayed in a no frills room which was clean & there was no surcharge for eating. However the room STANK with overpowering air freshner/febreeze. The San Marino's breakfast choice was reasonable, but the food offered lacked quality.

My friends & I chose the evening meal option. We were issued vouchers to go to eat in the Flamingo Hotel. A good 15 minute walk & may not be suitable for everyone. The food at the Flamingo hotel was disgusting & the food offered did not combine & was very mismatched. For the main course you could have anaemic mini frankfurter sausages, oiled/boiled potato wedges, hard rice & frozen vegetables. None of it served was hot in temperature. Dessert was clementine's past their prime,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good value for money - enjoyed the breakfast and room was tidy and clean. A pleasant walk into town from the hotel. Only negative is a lack of information/brochures on buses/cyprus at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location between airport and town is excellent if you love a bit of walking and a lot of quiet. Rooms are very clean -- carpet, wall, ceiling, bathroom are all spotless, they employ an army of cleaners. Reception (esp Maria, the owner's daughter) was excellent. Breakfast is huge and good value. Free luggage storage was convenient for me. Service taxi pickup from the hotel was great. Because of its age, a litle difficult to get the shower at the right temperature. Overall great. I booked for one day and stayed 3. Internet is extra 2 euros -- but very stable.

Room Tip: There's no real seaview but rooms facing the sea incur a 3 euro surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Remo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.