We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for low price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for low price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is loceted in the Larnaca's district located close to the airport and highway and that makes San Remo a good option for tourists travelling by car (you don't have to go through the city centre). Hotel is 200m from the sea but there is no beach closer than 15 min by foot.

We stayed there in the off-season and the price was increadibly low (similar to shared dormitory in some Western European countries). For that money the quality of our stay was excellent. The room was wide and clean enough for 2-star standard. Breakfast was OK, but only every second day they served hot sausages and beacon. There is no option to have dinner there but there are lots of great restaurants around.
I would have given this hotel the highest mark if it was a bit warmer in the room (in February it may be quite cold even in Cyprus) and we had to use air-con as a heater.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    35
    17
    19
See reviews for
24
67
45
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is difficult to find. I stayed in a no frills room which was clean & there was no surcharge for eating. However the room STANK with overpowering air freshner/febreeze. The San Marino's breakfast choice was reasonable, but the food offered lacked quality.

My friends & I chose the evening meal option. We were issued vouchers to go to eat in the Flamingo Hotel. A good 15 minute walk & may not be suitable for everyone. The food at the Flamingo hotel was disgusting & the food offered did not combine & was very mismatched. For the main course you could have anaemic mini frankfurter sausages, oiled/boiled potato wedges, hard rice & frozen vegetables. None of it served was hot in temperature. Dessert was clementine's past their prime,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good value for money - enjoyed the breakfast and room was tidy and clean. A pleasant walk into town from the hotel. Only negative is a lack of information/brochures on buses/cyprus at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location between airport and town is excellent if you love a bit of walking and a lot of quiet. Rooms are very clean -- carpet, wall, ceiling, bathroom are all spotless, they employ an army of cleaners. Reception (esp Maria, the owner's daughter) was excellent. Breakfast is huge and good value. Free luggage storage was convenient for me. Service taxi pickup from the hotel was great. Because of its age, a litle difficult to get the shower at the right temperature. Overall great. I booked for one day and stayed 3. Internet is extra 2 euros -- but very stable.

Room Tip: There's no real seaview but rooms facing the sea incur a 3 euro surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good people,missed the breakfast a few times but gets yer on the way. Reet knobs who rubbish San Remo. Posh couples I spoke to loved the damn place. They came for drinks but are stopping at Remo next year.
Peace to Nik, top paisan.x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

overnighters and those staying a few days like me<along with a host of russians>cannot be surprised by this hotel.i slept extremely soundly in my comfy bed,i showered in a basic bathroom and watched tv for the relatively short periods of time i ever spend in any hotel room.everything worked and for me so did the price.i got what i expected.staff helpful and friendly,gave me some good tips.approx20mins stroll into the very centre.breakfast not to my taste but the russians/greeks probably dont expect 'full english' anyway and seemed to enjoy it.i had a pleasant time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

There isn't much to recommend this place other than the cheap price and proximity to airport. Every expense has been spared. I doubt if it has ever been renovated since it was built.

The rooms are dark and dingy, with not much lightning. The bed was fairly basic and quite hard. Bathroom had stains on the wall with some damp and peeling surfaces. Shower curtain was also quite stained. We didn't try the breakfast as we checked out early to catch a flight.

It's basic stuff. I'd recommend spending a little more for better comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Remo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.