We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 hotels in Larnaka
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Nice location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location between airport and town is excellent if you love a bit of walking and a lot of quiet. Rooms are very clean -- carpet, wall, ceiling, bathroom are all spotless, they employ an army of cleaners. Reception (esp Maria, the owner's daughter) was excellent. Breakfast is huge and good value. Free luggage storage was convenient for me. Service taxi pickup from the hotel was great. Because of its age, a litle difficult to get the shower at the right temperature. Overall great. I booked for one day and stayed 3. Internet is extra 2 euros -- but very stable.

Room Tip: There's no real seaview but rooms facing the sea incur a 3 euro surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    31
    18
    18
See reviews for
24
62
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good people,missed the breakfast a few times but gets yer on the way. Reet knobs who rubbish San Remo. Posh couples I spoke to loved the damn place. They came for drinks but are stopping at Remo next year.
Peace to Nik, top paisan.x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

overnighters and those staying a few days like me<along with a host of russians>cannot be surprised by this hotel.i slept extremely soundly in my comfy bed,i showered in a basic bathroom and watched tv for the relatively short periods of time i ever spend in any hotel room.everything worked and for me so did the price.i got what i expected.staff helpful and friendly,gave me some good tips.approx20mins stroll into the very centre.breakfast not to my taste but the russians/greeks probably dont expect 'full english' anyway and seemed to enjoy it.i had a pleasant time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

There isn't much to recommend this place other than the cheap price and proximity to airport. Every expense has been spared. I doubt if it has ever been renovated since it was built.

The rooms are dark and dingy, with not much lightning. The bed was fairly basic and quite hard. Bathroom had stains on the wall with some damp and peeling surfaces. Shower curtain was also quite stained. We didn't try the breakfast as we checked out early to catch a flight.

It's basic stuff. I'd recommend spending a little more for better comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I was disappointed with the hotel after reading reviews on here. On the plus hotel situated within easy reach of airport and Larnaca town. Staff are friendly. The breakfast is served between 7,30-9,30am. On coming down on our first morning at 9,15 there was nothing left to eat in the buffet. Then they started clearing everything away at 9,30. So a 2nd coffee was out of the question. The pool is in the shade for most of the day. Our sheets and towels were not changed for our entire stay. We paid extra for English breakfast but they never serve it! We were woken up one morning so they could clean the toilet. One day the beds were not made. Not what I expect from even a two star hotel. We will definitely be back to Larnaca town but will stay in apartments next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in 4 hotels in Cyprus over a 10 day period, and this was not one of the better, but the price is good.

Friendly reception staff at check in and helped with taxi booking. Room a decent size and clean. Breakfast fine. Location is ok, but not great, you can walk to the salt lake, Makenzie beach and town, but none are exactly close, so can feel like a bit of a task just to go for dinner. The buses in the area are not the best either.

Wifi is not free anywhere in this hotel which is inexcusable in this day and age. We often stay in hostels and they provide it! Internet and PCs are available but very expensive (every restaurant in town offers it free!)

Breakfast finishes at 9.30 am which doesn´t help you feel on holiday and was earlier by a whole hour compared to the other hotels we stayed in Cyprus.

The taxi reserved by hotel to take us to bus station was over 15 minutes late, so we nearly missed our bus. Not the hotels fault but something to bear in mind.

Larnaca is a reasonable place, and this hotel does for a couple of nights near the airport, but I would not want to spend a week´s holiday at this hotel nor in Larnaca for that matter! (Pafos overwhelmingly gets the holiday vote…)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First of all I want to appreciate staff in hotel, everybody is very professional and polite, they help you with whatever you need. Rooms are beverage, quite small nothing super modern, but into the room is everything you need. There is air conditioning,TV, small bathroom and nice balcony.

Rooms are cleaned every day, towels are changed approximately after 3 days. The location is very good, next to the hotel are the small kiosks and restaurants and it is about 5 minutes by walk to the sandy wide beach. The swimming pool is also ok and clean.

I recommend this hotel, because offers good value and is one of the cheapest. :)

Room Tip: I would recommend you to take the room with view the the pool, because rooms on the other side of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo
Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka 6531, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Remo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list