We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart and Close to seafront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Opera
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Faneromenis Avenue, Larnaka 6023, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Lots of Different Places
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Smart and Close to seafront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night. The staff are friendly and helpful. The reception area has decent wifi, air-con and coffee, cakes, biscuits, fruit and water freely available 24 hours a day. There is no breakfast but there are plenty of little places nearby to get breakfast.

The rooms are clean and well decked out, again decent aircon, TV, ensuite. Balconies are small but functional but a bit of a lottery, if lucky you will overlook St Lazarus Square and this is a great place to chill and people watch. I booked a room facing the Square but on arrival was not given it but in the whole scheme of things we sat at a taverna/cafe opposite and enjoyed ourselves.

It has a limited number of parking spaces so try and request one and it's not the easiest place to drive to but with a little pre-planning it's not so difficult.

This hotel is in a great location. Step out of the hotel and you're St Lazarus square, take a right and straight on is the beach about 50 metres away, turn left before this and you have all the little side streets with local taverna's and little shops.

Room Tip: Room facing Lazarus Square for the view but expect some noise from the Taverna's - your choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!! We'll definitely try to look after your requests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
44
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent one night at beginning and end of travel in Israel and Jordan. This is a gem of a hotel, rooms are small but bright and airy with a small balcony. Well located beside Lazarus square, few minutes walk to beach. Only regret was not staying longer

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
What we can say..... just thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place is absolutely gorgeous, very clean, and exceptionally comfortable.

I loved the ambiance. The decorations are beachy and colorful without being overdone. My balcony overlooked the church and provided great views and people watching at all hours.

Air-conditioning and wifi work well, coffee and fruit is much appreciated, and location is perfect - off the main touristy beach strip with chains but close to a labyrinth of lively cafés. As a solo traveler, I spent little time alone because I met many friendly Cypriots every where I went.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your time end kind review, we'll be happy to accommodate you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here overnight after driving over from Paphos. Absolutely Excellent. As soon as we arrived we felt instantly welcomed. Fsntastic staff and owner. Gteat atmosphere. Tea,coffee, juice, water, cake, biscuits and fruit available all day long. Thank you so much for everything you did for us. Will definately be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your time end kind review, we'll be happy to accommodate you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Opera on our way into (1 night) and out of (2 nights) Cyprus for our 2 week holiday. This hotel is a little gem right in the area you want to be in in Larnaca, yet quiet and a 5 walk away from the night life and restaurants on the main waterfront.

The staff were super friendly and helpful at getting us to where we wanted to go, making great recommendations on where to eat and sight see as well as getting us on our way to Latchi with perfect directions.

We arrived very late at night after 22 hours of travel from Vancouver and were greatly surprised that we had been upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the church of Lazurus and it's courtyard. The breakfast was nice, hot coffee and lots of it, assorted local pastries and rolls, fresh fruit and yogurt

We would definitely stay at the Opera again and wholeheartedly would recommend it to anyone looking for and amazing, clean, friendly hotel in the Larnaca area.

Thanks again Opera, you're the best

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the church are excellent, with little balconies to enjoy you morning coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your time end kind review, we'll be happy to accommodate you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the 18th - 20th June.
It is in a great location, opposite Lazarus church, close to the beach, supermarket and restaurants.
Although there is no breakfast, there is complimentary tea, coffee, fruit juice, fruit, biscuits and cakes all day long and there are tab les and chairs to sit and enjoy. Staff are friendly.
Bus from the airport takes you practically to the front door. Cost is approximately 1.5 Euro.
Our room overlooked the back courtyard /lane but in my opinion overlooking Lazarus church would have been nicer. No fault of Hotel as this is what we booked. Very accessible to do day trips to Protaras and Ayi Napia

We hired a car from Stevens for 20Euro per day and drove to Paphos via Limassol and then on to Nicosia. Easy motorway all the way.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking Lazarus church
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your time end kind review, we'll be happy to accommodate you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

So glad we stayed here. Very clean and huge comfy bed. Only 13 rooms so no noise from other guests unlike the big hotels. Although there's no pool it's only a short walk to the sandy beach. The owners were so accommodating, even bought gluten free cake in for me and decaf coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your time end kind review, we'll be happy to accommodate you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Address: 11 Faneromenis Avenue, Larnaka 6023, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Opera 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel on historic St. Lazarus Square in Larnaca, with 13 en suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.