We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than Militzis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of To Varelli Village Tavern

To Varelli Village Tavern
Pile Pashia 123 | Mackenzie, Larnaka, Cyprus
99665132
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 208 Restaurants in Larnaka
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Lesmahagow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Even better than Militzis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Even better than Militzis and that's saying something ! a little further out of Larnaca towards McKenzie Beach but the food is to die for !!! The potatoes are cooked the traditional way in the outside ovens along with the meat (overnight) Their Kleftico is amazing it is not soaked in the gravy (unless you want it ) .Barry was our waiter he was half London and half Cypriot a very nice young guy , only works weekends though.So if traditional cooking is your thing get along here and give it a try you will love it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent food, good service, good atmosphere. Good choice of dishes. Staff recommended special offers and were very helpful and courteous. Well worth a visit and well worth the walk/taxi from Larnaca centre. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best trditional food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

ive been to this reasturan about a week ago and weve tried its incredible fish meze! anbelivable for a price of 14 euro it was worth it!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Meat Meze to die for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

OH MY GOD! Just left this wonderful restaurant with a big smile on my face and an even bigger belly. We ordered the traditional cypriot meat meze. Started with salads and dips. The garlic dip was excellent (homemade by the owners wife). Then came wild mountain mushrooms grilled and laced with olive oil and lemon juice. Then onto the 'special bread' a freshly baked half loaf of village bread smothered in olive oil, lemon juice, oregano and sea salt. Amazing. It kept coming, chicken fillets, a thick cut of grilled bacon, lamb chops, cypriot sausages, a vegetarian kebab, tomatoes covered with feta chese, a home baked cheese, feta and potatoe hot pot...the list goes on. Simply amazing. When finally we couldn;t eat another thing, the waiter (Paris, a very attentive and customer friendly english cypriot) brought us a homemade sweet bread drenched in honey! Superb.
I highly recommend this small family run restaurant. We went there 4 times during our 2 week holiday. The kleftico is the best I've ever eaten. The Ofton Teratias was unlike anything I've ever eaten in cyprus. It's a thick lamb shank, cooked on a bed of cedar tree leaves in an old fashioned clay over fired by pine wood. Served with roast potatoes and bulgar wheat. You must try it at least once before you die.
In conclusion, a fantastic restaurant. Great service from waiters that speak perfect english (the big guy Paris helped us through the menu and really helped in our search for great food). The owner is very personable and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stumbled across this place on route back to our hotel and needed a meal just before going to airport. We had no expectations going in, typical open café the type that Cyprus typifies. However food was brilliant and home cooked, with the owner making some very good menu suggestions. During our holiday I had eaten Kleftiko on 3 other occasions, this was by far and away the very best of those. This restaurant is well worth going to find as owners like this deserve to succeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Varelli Village Tavern also viewed

 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to To Varelli Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Varelli Village Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.